We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

I wasn't very impressed with this hotel. It was definitelyshowing it's age. The carpet in our room felt dirty under my fet, but I couldn't see any visible stains. The resturant and the bar are WAY overpriced in my opinion.

Room Tip: Save your money for the ocean view room over the resturant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cubs_girl27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, sorry to know this seasoned TA contributor didn't fully enjoy their stay. Usually our seasoned contributors know the drill, do their homework etc. We can't please everyone, as much as I truly would love to, I hope they were able to enjoy Hawaii, especially as cold and snowy as Wisconsin is this time of year. One tip, try our happy hour, great discounted food and beverage offered from 4p-6p nightly!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    1,115
    613
    275
    180
See reviews for
536
1,388
109
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Do not stay in Bay Tower. Rooms seemed like they hadn't been renovated for years and years. Beds were really old, duvet cover all matted, foyer for adjoining rooms dirty, toilet continually running, furniture and woodwork all chipped, bathtub rusted around taps. Rest of the hotel is very nice,restaurant very good. Insist on a newly renovated room.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Madeleine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, really sorry to hear these guests from Canada didn't enjoy their accommodations. All of our Bay Tower rooms we sell have been recently freshened. It's concerning to know they were unhappy, I have sent a personal message to determine which room they occupied, we'll get to the bottom of this and investigate and rectify any deficiencies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had a wonderful neck, shoulder and back massage from Brittany. 30 minutes for $55. Was well worth it. The spa was very comfortable and clean. It's convenient, right on the -Alii drive close to town. I,d go back again

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marychb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha Ta family, yes, the Lotus Center Spa has great staff and services, located on the ground floor of our Bay Tower. Clean, comfortable treatment rooms, and a long menu of treatments to be offered, even chiropractic care. Glad these guests enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This hotel has the perfect location but it's showing its age. The Lagoon building was always clean thanks to an excellent housekeeping staff but the carpets and fixtures were stained and corroded. Be aware there is a parking fee which is not usual but there is also a daily wifi fee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pearl k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha Ta family, nice to hear from more well traveled guests, true, we charge for parking and wifi, but we don't have a mandatory resort fee that claims to include all these things and more. If you don't have a car, you don't pay for parking, if you don't use wifi you don't pay, if you use our fitness room, it's always complimentary, etc. I know resorts here in Hawaii that charge a resort fee AND parking on top, go figure. We are an older moderate resort, but clean and well maintained, that helps us keep our rates low and affordable. Glad they shared, and hope they enjoyed their time in Hawaii! Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
69 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Royal Kona used to be the Kona Hilton. In Las Vegas, the Las Vegas Hilton also is no longer a Hilton and is now simply LVH. Hilton Corporation came in, raised the fee to be a Hilton by a large amount and required massive renovations for the priveledge of staying a Hilton.

The Royal is older but you can not beat the location for the price. Service is excellent. Dining is right there or across the street and so are the shops. Excellent ocean views as it is right outside your door. As the manager says not the newest hotel but if you like a bargain this is it. Try Huggos and across the street at Lulus for fun and good food.

As several reviewers have stated renovations are on going at a pace the owners can afford. A nice place to kick back and enjoy the Aloha feeling of Kailua Kona.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha Peter G, these guests pretty much nailed it, great to know our seasoned travelers and TA contributors help set the record straight. Our resort was built in 1968 as the Kona Hilton, since then we're gone through change, and continue to make improvements where necessary. We don't claim to be a "big box, name brand" you can get those up and down the coast. We're a little retro, a little traditional, but a lot of old school. Clean, well maintained, no resort fees, and lots of Aloha. I'm glad they stayed, had a great time, and took advantage of all we offer, including the great value. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed @ the r.k.r. for 13 nights early feb.,4th time to hawaii,Ist time to kona.We enjoyed this resort,we were put in the bay tower but received a semi refurbished room? which consisted of new carpet and recent tiles.They are currently redoing many of the rooms in this tower.We had emailed the r.k.r. and let them know we we celebrating a special occasion and they upgraded us from a oceanview to oceanfront room.(thank you r.k.r.).The view from our lanai was truly stunning with sunsets every night and whales and dolphins every morning!We found our room very adequate but certainly not luxurious.Overall the resort has the feel of a 4 star mexican all inclusive resort with it,s open lobby and rest/bar.(but without the bad food and crappy booze).
We spent alot of time down @ the lagoon,it was seldom busy and a couple of days we had high surf so the waves crashing over the lava wall was great to watch.The staff feed the eels early every morning!The location of this resort is perfect,within walking distance to shops and many choices for food,drink.Our only negative experience was dons m/t bar.We received 2 dishwater daiquiri,s and a side of surly for $21.00 (tip in).Come on,there are way to many choices feet away for that!!
I can,t understand the confusion over this resort,They make no bones about this being a three star resort,so i don,t understand the complaints people make about it,It is what it is,after doing our homework on this site and others,this place was exactly as described.We prefer going to this type of resort and taking the money we save over a 4+ resort to extend our stay.

Room Tip: let the staff know in advance if your having a special ocasion and they will go out of there way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Aloha TA family, this guest nailed it! We strive to provide a clean, well maintained resort for the BEST value in Kona. We're not a 4 star property, not claim to be one. We do have the best location in Kona for proximity to Alii Drive, the main strip in Kona for additional dining, drinking and shopping options, not to mention the farmers market, historical sites and proximity to Kailua Pier for water activities. Glad these guest felt they received a great value during their stay, except the daiquiris, which is odd, out bartenders usually make great drinks, and have "heavy pours" too, you normally get your money worth at Don's Mai Tai Bar, great food and beverage, and attractive happy hour prices daily from 4p-6p. Mahalo nui Loa!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently got married at the Royal Kona resort. The resort lays right by the ocean. Our hotel room had a very comfortable bed, a huge lanai (balcony) and lots of space. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to all our needs.

The staff at the Romance Center- Brian and Ashley, did an amazing job preparing our wedding. We had last minute add-ons and they were able to handle it immediately with no hesitation. We found out that Brian had many years of experience in catering which explained why the food was so amazing. Each and every one of our guests gave continuous compliments on how great the food was, especially the seafood curry and fried shrimp. Yum!!

The only thing I would say that could have been better was our slide show. Our pictures were off of the screen showing from the sides. All you have to do is align the projector and everything would be perfect. Other than that from beginning to end we were very pleased on the service provided. We would highly recommend having your special day at the Royal Kona resort. Thank you so much Royal Kona Resort for making our wedding dreams come true!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCNGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha TA family and potential Honeymooners! Our romance team does a fantastic job, they make the dreams come true. We have lovey grounds to host your wedding, reception, vow renewal, private dinner, you name it, we do it, and do it well. So nice to know we we're part of their live changing even.You too can enjoy your stay with us, we'd love to see you soon. Great staff, service and the best value in Kona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing