We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,322)
Filter reviews
3,322 results
Traveler rating
720
1,324
743
324
211
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
720
1,324
743
324
211
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate lagoonalii towermai tai bardon the beachcombercorner kingocean frontmain towerthe big islandsalt water lagoonan ocean view roomshops and restaurantson the rocksan older hotelopen airwaves crashingparking feeour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,943 - 2,948 of 3,322 reviews
Reviewed December 15, 2003

This was a relatively inexpensive hotel that served us well as a home base to explore Kona. I agree that the rooms were small, had older furniture, and that the views were incredible. It is NOT a five star luxury hotel, but it doesn't claim to be. The food was okay, the birds were a problem at breakfast, but overall, it was a GREAT value and was an extremely affordable way to see Hawaii. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice place to stay with a smaller budget. If you are looking for luxury, spend the $$ and stay at the Four Seasons instead. Otherwise, this was a great place to stay for not a lot of $$.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Relax36677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2003

We stayed at the Royal Kona Resort this past weekend and found it to be a very nice place to stay. I did have some concerns prior to visiting due to some of the reviews that were posted here, but found it to be a wonderful experience. We were able to check in early as our room was available. The room had a beautiful view of the bay and pier in the middle of Kona town. The room was very clean and we were able to get an ironing board right away to ready our clothes for the evening. The bathroom was clean with two sinks. TV only had a few channels to watch, but you can watch the in room movies. The staff was very friendly, especially at the restaurants. One thing to watch for, if you are on the north side of the hotel, you can here the music from the nearby restaurants very clearly into the night up to about 11:00pm. Other than that we thoroughly enjoyed our visit and would definitely stay there again.

2  Thank dan2pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2003

We spent 3 nights in this hotel and were very pleased. This is a great value hotel in a very good location. It's just a short drive from the airport, located in an ideal part of town - close to plenty of shops, restaurants & bars.We stayed in the beach building - even though there was no beach, the ocean view was stunning. We were lucky to get a large twin room and the beds were massive (could have fit 3 people in them!).
The staff were helpful and the atmosphere was laid-back and relaxed, which was typical of the Big Island. To our surprise, we came across some lively night life! I think this is a very good 3* hotel -it's not luxurious and probably wouldn't recommend it for honeymooners - but it is comfortable, good value and well located.

3  Thank nimnag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2003

We stayed there for 3 nights - November 7-9, 2003. I absolutely agree with the person who wrote on 11/9.....for the view and how much you are trully in your room this is the place. The rooms are worn down, beds are sort of springy and they could use an upgrade but we paid $89/night for an ocean view. The next 2 nights we stayed at the Hilton Waikola for $170/night and we wished we were closer to town for eating, etc.
The coffe place is called Java On The Rocks....definately a must!!! The coffee, food, and view can't be beat. Have fun!!

Thank Experience29988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2003

Just got home from staying 7 nights at the Royal Kona in October 2003.
We booked it based on internet research; we wanted a nice ocean front hotel that wouldn't break our bank, and that is what we got. The best thing about this hotel is LOCATION. It is right on the water, the views are breathtaking and it is within walking distance of restaurants, shops and more beautiful views. Hard Rock Cafe is right across the street, and we found a wonderful little coffee shop next to the hotel that is right on the water. It was an easy drive North or South to more activities like snorkeling, numerous beaches, and sightseeing. The pool area was gorgeous and very clean, again overlooking the ocean. The grounds are very well kept and the lobby very nice. We ate in the restaurant only once, service was good and food was OK but I have found this in "hotel food" across the board. We like to try lots of new restaurants anyway, and there were plenty nearby to choose from. I will admit I was a little disappointed in our room, it was musty and there is no ventilation for the bathroom so mildew was a bit of a problem.
Housekeeping could do a better job with details like cleaning the mirrors and providing enough towels. Air conditioning seemed to work intermittently. However, our ocean front view was STUNNING and we used the room to sleep, and shower in the mornings or after swimming all day. The sound of the ocean waves lulled us to sleep every night.
Overall, it was a great experience and I would recommend the hotel as a perfect location. If you are looking for the Four Seasons (Also known as Four Figures) style hotel rooms, this is not the place.

  • Stayed: October 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Takemeaway041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews