We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Royal Kona aka Hilton”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Royal Kona aka Hilton”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Royal Kona used to be the Kona Hilton. In Las Vegas, the Las Vegas Hilton also is no longer a Hilton and is now simply LVH. Hilton Corporation came in, raised the fee to be a Hilton by a large amount and required massive renovations for the priveledge of staying a Hilton.

The Royal is older but you can not beat the location for the price. Service is excellent. Dining is right there or across the street and so are the shops. Excellent ocean views as it is right outside your door. As the manager says not the newest hotel but if you like a bargain this is it. Try Huggos and across the street at Lulus for fun and good food.

As several reviewers have stated renovations are on going at a pace the owners can afford. A nice place to kick back and enjoy the Aloha feeling of Kailua Kona.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha Peter G, these guests pretty much nailed it, great to know our seasoned travelers and TA contributors help set the record straight. Our resort was built in 1968 as the Kona Hilton, since then we're gone through change, and continue to make improvements where necessary. We don't claim to be a "big box, name brand" you can get those up and down the coast. We're a little retro, a little traditional, but a lot of old school. Clean, well maintained, no resort fees, and lots of Aloha. I'm glad they stayed, had a great time, and took advantage of all we offer, including the great value. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    591
    1,130
    621
    281
    180
See reviews for
542
1,408
111
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (824)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed @ the r.k.r. for 13 nights early feb.,4th time to hawaii,Ist time to kona.We enjoyed this resort,we were put in the bay tower but received a semi refurbished room? which consisted of new carpet and recent tiles.They are currently redoing many of the rooms in this tower.We had emailed the r.k.r. and let them know we we celebrating a special occasion and they upgraded us from a oceanview to oceanfront room.(thank you r.k.r.).The view from our lanai was truly stunning with sunsets every night and whales and dolphins every morning!We found our room very adequate but certainly not luxurious.Overall the resort has the feel of a 4 star mexican all inclusive resort with it,s open lobby and rest/bar.(but without the bad food and crappy booze).
We spent alot of time down @ the lagoon,it was seldom busy and a couple of days we had high surf so the waves crashing over the lava wall was great to watch.The staff feed the eels early every morning!The location of this resort is perfect,within walking distance to shops and many choices for food,drink.Our only negative experience was dons m/t bar.We received 2 dishwater daiquiri,s and a side of surly for $21.00 (tip in).Come on,there are way to many choices feet away for that!!
I can,t understand the confusion over this resort,They make no bones about this being a three star resort,so i don,t understand the complaints people make about it,It is what it is,after doing our homework on this site and others,this place was exactly as described.We prefer going to this type of resort and taking the money we save over a 4+ resort to extend our stay.

Room Tip: let the staff know in advance if your having a special ocasion and they will go out of there way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunbuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Aloha TA family, this guest nailed it! We strive to provide a clean, well maintained resort for the BEST value in Kona. We're not a 4 star property, not claim to be one. We do have the best location in Kona for proximity to Alii Drive, the main strip in Kona for additional dining, drinking and shopping options, not to mention the farmers market, historical sites and proximity to Kailua Pier for water activities. Glad these guest felt they received a great value during their stay, except the daiquiris, which is odd, out bartenders usually make great drinks, and have "heavy pours" too, you normally get your money worth at Don's Mai Tai Bar, great food and beverage, and attractive happy hour prices daily from 4p-6p. Mahalo nui Loa!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We recently got married at the Royal Kona resort. The resort lays right by the ocean. Our hotel room had a very comfortable bed, a huge lanai (balcony) and lots of space. The staff was very friendly and accommodating to all our needs.

The staff at the Romance Center- Brian and Ashley, did an amazing job preparing our wedding. We had last minute add-ons and they were able to handle it immediately with no hesitation. We found out that Brian had many years of experience in catering which explained why the food was so amazing. Each and every one of our guests gave continuous compliments on how great the food was, especially the seafood curry and fried shrimp. Yum!!

The only thing I would say that could have been better was our slide show. Our pictures were off of the screen showing from the sides. All you have to do is align the projector and everything would be perfect. Other than that from beginning to end we were very pleased on the service provided. We would highly recommend having your special day at the Royal Kona resort. Thank you so much Royal Kona Resort for making our wedding dreams come true!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCNGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha TA family and potential Honeymooners! Our romance team does a fantastic job, they make the dreams come true. We have lovey grounds to host your wedding, reception, vow renewal, private dinner, you name it, we do it, and do it well. So nice to know we we're part of their live changing even.You too can enjoy your stay with us, we'd love to see you soon. Great staff, service and the best value in Kona!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Nice hotel central to entertainment and food. Hotel has all amenities and is clean. We stayed in the main building which has had recent upgrades and was quite confortable. Luau is on the pool side 3 nights a week. Gets a bit noisy but over early enough that its not a bother. Great location has its own cove off the side of one of the buildings bar is also a great place to relax after a long day with a great view. Get there early if you want a table for sun set.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loveit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, glad these seasoned travelers had such a nice stay. Looks like we met and exceeded their expectations. It's important to remember that we're not a luxury resort, and do not advertise or claim to be. We do claim to strive to provide clean, well maintained rooms, as well as a lovely property for all to enjoy/ We're also claim to be the best value for location, something I'll back up any day of the week. Glad they had a nice time, we'll look forward to seeing them back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Royal Kona Resort the last week of January. I forgot to use the advice I'd read in other reviews about avoiding the Bay Tower. Our first night was a Saturday and the music from the nearby nightclubs kept us awake until 1:45AM. Apparently the restaurants are converted into nightclubs only on weekend nights, but we weren't sticking around to confirm that. We were moved to the Lagoon Tower on the 6th floor for the rest of our stay. The rooms are big and quiet, except for the nights of the Luau, but that only goes until 8pm and we actually had a very good view of the entertainment. We loved the pool and pool bar, where we were treated to some very good whale watching during happy hour. The staff were very friendly and gave us new pool towels daily at the front desk. Our biggest complaint about this place was the older, thin bath towels. If they replace those, I would give this place 4 stars. The location was excellent, we loved being so close to Huggos on the Rocks, Bongo Ben's, Lava Java and the Acai Bar.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in the Bay Tower if you are there on a Fri. or Sat. night. The other towers have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBGal12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, sounds like once they got situated they really enjoyed their stay. Sometimes our neighboring restaurant does stay open late, but usually doesn't seem to disturb our guests. I'm glad they were able to enjoy all the wonderful things our resort has to offer. Great tips from these clients too, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

While the lobby area of The Royal Kona Resort has been refurbished and is quite nice, the rooms are VERY tired. We had our toilet totally overflow and it took rhem 4 tries before they got it working. They were kind enough to give us free parking for our entire stay as an apology for the trouble which was nice. The staff is nice, and the rooms are clean---just old and worn. Lots of restaurants nearby and an easy walk into town, so the location is nice. They do charge daily for wi-fi and also for parking which is annoying as they are pretty standard as free items in most spots. There is a kiddie pool and a few shady spots for sitting, but noy many when you consider the number of rooms. We never received a book detailing hotel amenities so never attempted any room service.

Room Tip: We had asked for ocean view and the hotel is desined like a long building that juts out so the views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca10020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, glad these guest too enjoyed the views, location and staff. Although we're not the newest kid on the block, we do strive to provide clean and well maintained rooms and resort. Please make sure you do you're homework, find the right fit for your budget. There are many choices, make sure we're the right one. We have a great following, and strive to provide great memories. Glad they enjoyed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

As stated by others, the rooms are outdated but reasonably priced. Our room had a great balcony view of the ocean. The room was large and clean. The resort is located in close proximity to the downtown area. We rarely needed to drive for nightly dining and entertainment. The sunset view from the bar area was gorgeous. Staff was pleasant and always attentive. Food at the restuarant was pricey but there were plenty of choices within walking distance.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the elevator and on the top floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NoStopSigns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Aloha TA family, great to hear these guest enjoyed their stay with us. Enjoyed the great location, views and staff. For the price, we truly are the best value in Kona. there are many options in Hawaii and on the Big Island, we certainly fit the need for the moderate traveler. Glad they had a nice time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing