We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favourite hotel”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Kelowna, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our favourite hotel”
Reviewed December 4, 2012

My sister and I visited the Royal Kona Resort for 10 days from Nov 22 to Dec 2. We have been to over 10 different hotels in various tropical locations and this is our favourite so far. If you are looking for a fancy hotel you will want to look somewhere else. If you are looking for a nice hotel with a great atmosphere, nice surroundings, friendly staff and no faults in our opinion than this is your place. We are already planning our return.

The location can’t be beat as it is on Ali'i drive and walking distance to everything. The hotel is very clean and has a wonderful Hawaiian atmosphere. Our room was perfect, clean and had a fantastic view of the ocean.

Rooms are very sound proof and we couldn't hear any noises from other rooms. We could only hear the ocean and listening to the waves crash against the rocks at nice is a lovely way to fall asleep.

Staff is very friendly and always willing to help you out. The people at the activity desk were exceptionally helpful in answering any questions. She even goggled something for us to make sure she gave us the right answer. She is a very sweet lady and we benefited from her help.

Parking is $10 a day but definitely worth it. There were always lots of spaces to park in and it was handy having the vehicle so close. Wireless is also $10 a day which we did not purchase. Instead we bought ourselves a coffee from Java on the Rocks a few steps away and used their wireless a few times to save money.

I would definately reccomend this hotel and am planning to visit again! We stayed in the Ali'i tower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank addicted2thesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Aloha TA family, sounds like we've got ourselves another set of return guest on our hands. They pretty much nailed it, great location, friendly staff, clean and well maintained rooms on the best location in Kona. Yes, there are many options on island, please do your homework, research what's right for you, and you too will have a wonderful stay, mucho aloha!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,860 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    1,148
    642
    283
    184
See reviews for
559
1,441
111
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (837)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2012

We travel quite a bit since the kids have left the nest and so we have stayed in many hotels, resorts, and dive boats. This hotel makes every effort to make sure you are happy. The first night we were here, the bar noise floated into our room until about 2am. The hotel moved us the next day and they were very gracious and understanding. They also sent us a bottle of cider to our room to celebrate our 39th anniversary!

Although some say the age of the hotel bothers them, the age doesn't take away from the location and the great service. As long as a building is kept in good repair, the age shouldn't be an issue.

We also like how close the hotel is from the airport. After flying for 7 hours, it's nice to unpack and start having fun right away!

Room Tip: If you want to spend time in the pool, ask for the building nearest the pool. However, the building...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Aloha TA family, nice to see another happy guest. At times, our neighbors music does drift onto our property on the weekends, but usually not a problem, sorry it was an inconvenience, but the guest was smart, talked to the front desk, and was happily relocated, and was able to enjoy their stay on Kona.. Do your homework, and you'll have a wonderful vacation too, much Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for 6 nights in September and could not really fault this hotel. The location was great, with an amazing sea view from our room, free parking is available on a first come first served basis but we always found a spot no problem, there is also extra paid parking at only $10 per day. The rooms are fairly basic but clean and spacious with everything you need for a comfortable stay, the staff were helpful and courteous.
It may lack some of the amenities of the big 5 star resorts, but at the fraction of the cost and in a much better location on the edge of the lovely Kona town itself (the Hilton would have cost us over 4x as much and is stuck out in the middle of nowhere) it really is fantastic value for money and there is so much to see and do on big island the hotel has anything you need.
I cannot comment on the eateries at the resort as the location meant that there were so many options we never had chance.
If I return to big island in the future it would take a pretty special deal to make me pick a different hotel. We had a great stay at the royal Kona and would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BigJon-78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Aloha TA crew, it's reassuring to read from a well traveled guest that they enjoyed their stay. All expectations met, and they truly had a great time. It's too bad they didn't have time to enjoy our nightly Happy Hour Don's Mai Tai Bar, watching the spinner dolphins play in the bay at sunset. Another complimentary amenity many guest take advantage of, our "complimentary dolphin show" LOL a hui hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed in the Lagoon tower at the Royal Kona Resort for 6 nights and were upgraded to an ocean front room (from ocean view) by sheer kindness of the check in staff. Like most of the reviews note, the hotel rooms are in need of some TLC - furniture and bathroom were a little worn/dated. However, the view was wonderful! We saw dolphins and whales from our balcony and listened to waves crashing below (which is very calming).

The towels and bedding were all clean (and white). The carpet has seen better days. The shower pressure wasn't great (but this is a common complaint I have in many hotels). The room had a safe, flat screen tv, and a mini fridge. All in all, the room was average but most people don't go to Hawaii for the hotel rooms.

Yes, there is a luau 4 nights a week and it can be heard everywhere, but I found it more festive/in the spirit of Hawaii. It ends somewhere between 9 and 10pm. Depending on your room location you might be able to watch the entertainment for free from your balcony.

The main draw of the hotel is the location. It's an easy walk to any number of restaurants and shops. It's also a short drive to the main Hwy to visit any number of beaches. Parking is $10/night, however we were able to find free parking 4/6 nights without effort and just as close as the parking lot. The 2 nights we weren't able to find parking we paid for individually. We did not pay the $16 ea for breakfast and opted to eat at Bongo Ben's just down the street.

The hotel has a laundry room ($1.50 for washer, $1.25 for dryer) which is very handy if you are packing lightly.

Is this a 5 star luxury resort? Nope. Was it in line for what you pay for with a good location? You bet. Would we stay there again? Yup.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Aloha TA Family, it's great to see that we met and even exceeded these happy travelers expectations. We sincerely strive to provide a clean well maintained resort, offering the best value for the best location in Kona. Come to Hawaii Island, enjoy the splendor and spectacular place we call home. Look forward to seeing you, Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise for us. Located at the edge of town, it was a very short walk to the area shops and restaurants. The rooms are definitely dated, and could use a little redecorating, but as a crash pad, and for the beautiful view of the Kona harbor from our lanai, it can't be beat. The lanais are not as private as we would like, but were private enough to sit and enjoy a cocktail and the sunset. We had a coffee maker and small refrigerator, so were able to make small meals for breakfast. The price was modest compared to most other area resorts, and for the amount we paid, it was a downright bargain. The 'Don, The Beachcomber' restaurant is a bit upscale for the hotel premises, but the food is good, if a little pricey. There were plenty of other restaurants to choose from within very easy walking distance- from coffee houses, to thai and seafood or burger joints and sandwich shops. . I would definitely go back again, and would not hesitate to recommend this resort-hotel to anyone who wants to visit Kona on a budget.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room overlooking the harbor- the view was gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookwoman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA family, this well traveled guest has shown us how to plan, and receive a great vacation. They did their leg work, found what fits their needs, and we met and exceeded their expectations. I'm glad they enjoyed everything we strive to provide in a great stay. One note, Don The Beachcomber restaurant is truly not upscale, very casual at that. There is great ambiance in the evening when the sun is setting over the water, tiki torches lit, and palm trees swaying in the breeze! Come check us out like they did, and have a wonderful vacation too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Don't get too excited...it's a very average hotel with no special amenities. The property is very dated and the room was down right depressing. The linens-towels, sheets were just as bad.
No extra towels were provided and we had to call twice to get a blanket delivered. The location is in downtown Kona - which itself is a bit data and somewhat seedy in my opinion. The upside, the hotel is close to shops and restaurants.
The positives: the bar had a lovely view, great servers and nice hefty pour.
If we didn't have an ocean view and were there for a full week of vacation - I would have switched hotels. But we had the ocean view and were there only 3 nights...trying to spend every moment possible away from the hotel.
If you are traveling on a tight budget and not looking for a romantic get-away, then the value is there. If not, I'd skip it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA family, I'd like to share that if you're not satisfied with your room (wherever you stay in the world) try talking with the front desk staff. I'm not sure about this guest, but many times, guest go on line (or with their travel agent) and look for the best deal they can find. But that't not always the case, many times the front desk has managers specials, where you can purchase an upgrade for a fraction it would cost, based on inventory availability. I'm only speaking for my resort, but I guarantee other resorts like us want our guests happy, so they can take home wonderful memories of their vacation. If your not fully satisfied, talk to the staff, and make a change. Much mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NC
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was built in 1968 when there was no airport on the west side of the island. It's classic like the Ilikai in Oahu. The place is a little worn, but you can't beat the price and the location and the facilities. Walk down the street to Huggo's for good breakfasts. And the best prices on mac nuts and kona coffee, and I mean the best prices, are from an 83 year old woman in a van right in front of Huggo's. We'd certainly stay at the Royal Kona again!

Room Tip: ask for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA crew, this well traveled guest nailed it short and sweet, we're definitely the best value for the best location in Kona, hands down. Do your homework, ask, check around, call. We're a moderate resort, with great views,staff, food and beverage. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
23.7 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing