We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great walking location, decent room, nice views” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
california
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great walking location, decent room, nice views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

This hotel was a pleasant surprise for us. Located at the edge of town, it was a very short walk to the area shops and restaurants. The rooms are definitely dated, and could use a little redecorating, but as a crash pad, and for the beautiful view of the Kona harbor from our lanai, it can't be beat. The lanais are not as private as we would like, but were private enough to sit and enjoy a cocktail and the sunset. We had a coffee maker and small refrigerator, so were able to make small meals for breakfast. The price was modest compared to most other area resorts, and for the amount we paid, it was a downright bargain. The 'Don, The Beachcomber' restaurant is a bit upscale for the hotel premises, but the food is good, if a little pricey. There were plenty of other restaurants to choose from within very easy walking distance- from coffee houses, to thai and seafood or burger joints and sandwich shops. . I would definitely go back again, and would not hesitate to recommend this resort-hotel to anyone who wants to visit Kona on a budget.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room overlooking the harbor- the view was gorgeous!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bookwoman54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA family, this well traveled guest has shown us how to plan, and receive a great vacation. They did their leg work, found what fits their needs, and we met and exceeded their expectations. I'm glad they enjoyed everything we strive to provide in a great stay. One note, Don The Beachcomber restaurant is truly not upscale, very casual at that. There is great ambiance in the evening when the sun is setting over the water, tiki torches lit, and palm trees swaying in the breeze! Come check us out like they did, and have a wonderful vacation too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,635 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    567
    1,074
    568
    257
    169
See reviews for
497
1,329
105
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (770)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

Don't get too excited...it's a very average hotel with no special amenities. The property is very dated and the room was down right depressing. The linens-towels, sheets were just as bad.
No extra towels were provided and we had to call twice to get a blanket delivered. The location is in downtown Kona - which itself is a bit data and somewhat seedy in my opinion. The upside, the hotel is close to shops and restaurants.
The positives: the bar had a lovely view, great servers and nice hefty pour.
If we didn't have an ocean view and were there for a full week of vacation - I would have switched hotels. But we had the ocean view and were there only 3 nights...trying to spend every moment possible away from the hotel.
If you are traveling on a tight budget and not looking for a romantic get-away, then the value is there. If not, I'd skip it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carolyn m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA family, I'd like to share that if you're not satisfied with your room (wherever you stay in the world) try talking with the front desk staff. I'm not sure about this guest, but many times, guest go on line (or with their travel agent) and look for the best deal they can find. But that't not always the case, many times the front desk has managers specials, where you can purchase an upgrade for a fraction it would cost, based on inventory availability. I'm only speaking for my resort, but I guarantee other resorts like us want our guests happy, so they can take home wonderful memories of their vacation. If your not fully satisfied, talk to the staff, and make a change. Much mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham NC
Level Contributor
112 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel was built in 1968 when there was no airport on the west side of the island. It's classic like the Ilikai in Oahu. The place is a little worn, but you can't beat the price and the location and the facilities. Walk down the street to Huggo's for good breakfasts. And the best prices on mac nuts and kona coffee, and I mean the best prices, are from an 83 year old woman in a van right in front of Huggo's. We'd certainly stay at the Royal Kona again!

Room Tip: ask for the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeSmart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA crew, this well traveled guest nailed it short and sweet, we're definitely the best value for the best location in Kona, hands down. Do your homework, ask, check around, call. We're a moderate resort, with great views,staff, food and beverage. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

We decided to splurge and get the corner king ocean view room. It was a great view and we could see the ocean and the lagoon but this was the best part of the stay.
Once we arrived the TV remote wouldn't work. We'd just had a long drive from Volcano and I just wanted to watch TV then have a shower. Maintenance came and replaced it. After I'd relaxed with the TV a bit I went to have a shower and the shower head broke when the water was turned on. Back down to reception asking to be moved as the room was clearly in need of repair and who knew what was going to break next. They advised they had no other corner kings available and would send maintenance again, they then offered to refund our parking cost for the inconvenience which was appreciated, (was $20.) From reading other reviews we were clearly in the "crappy" tower but paid the same rate as the others.
The luau is very, very loud if you aren't attending or trying to get an early night sleep. It was on both nights we stayed and I was grateful I hadn't booked an early flight out when we were leaving.
The bar area was really nice looking out over the ocean crashing over the rocks. Would have to get there early to secure an ocean front seat. The food at the bar was tasty and drinks strong (stronger out of happy hour) - was also well priced.
We stayed some amazing places in Hawaii, and this was the highest cost per night of all of them. In comparison to all the other resorts/hotels/B&B it offered the least value for money and I feel we overpaid for what we got.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KTee180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA family! Best comment to share with this review is make sure you do your homework, check around, call, ask questions before you travel. Our goal is to provide a clean and well maintained resort for the best value for the best location in Kona. I'm glad they enjoyed the views, and the great food and libation we offer, and am working with them to rectify the discrepancies they encountered in their room. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

For what you pay it is a great hotel. The bar does great mai tais and they are awesome value during happy hour. The bar staff are all really friendly.

The hotel has everything you need and although the staff (excl bar staff) aren't that friendly or helpful, it is still a great place and central to everything in Kona. It has a great view and the sunsets are great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattSmith1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA viewers, this guest from Down Under appears to have had a great holiday. We met and in some cases met their expectations. I'm glad they were able to enjoy the resort, the food and beverages at Don's Mai Tai Bar, the best bar in Kona for food libation, dolphin and sunset watching hands down. Much Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
353 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had an ocean-facing junior suite and a package deal. Right on the ocean and walkable to the main shopping area, both great points. However, our room badly needed new furniture and a facelift. Bath towels were thin and strictly one-to-a-person. Soap and shampoo were provided, no lotion. And the luau at the hotel is very loud until 10 pm, 4 nights a week. Small pool and sunning area seemed to be sufficient; there's also a salt water lagoon to splash in but we didn't try it; drove to a beach instead. They charge extra for parking and wifi, and the wifi charge is per device, not per room, so buyer beware. All in all, there are better places to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room away from the luau noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lsc_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA family, guest make a great point regarding our location and the views from our room, sorry they felt there are better places to stay, and I'm sure you can find them if you are willing to pay for them. We advertise ourselves as a moderately priced resort, that strives to provide the best value for the best location in Kona, hands down. Also, to clarify, our authentic, traditional luau operates M/T/W and Friday, from 5p-8p. Warmest Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

the resort is nice and professional. grounds are well kept.nice open lobby and bar area.pools looked ok. restaurant was large but ok.
no real beach but does have its own lagoon which was a plus, waves would crash in but the rocks blocked and calmed them down.nice small sandy area and nice for minor snorkeling.
they have there own luau but we didn't do that one.good location to all the shops and restaurants. no beaches close by,you had to drive.
but i was dissatisfied with rooms they are some what old, the worn carpet on the floors was raggedy looking and kinda yucky.bathroom was ok. extra sink and a fridge in room was good,bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: ocean views are pricer
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank townshipplumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Aloha TA family, I'm glad these guests enjoyed all we have to offer here at the Royal Kona. Our location, great staff, grounds, and our private lagoon. Just remember our lagoon is just that, a safe, protected lagoon, that has a wonderful variety of fish, eels, crabs and even green sea turtles at high tide. it's not for "Diver Dan" who wants to explore the depths and wrecks, it's 5 feet deep at high tide, and 4 feet at low (give or take) I'm also in conversation with this guest to gather info on their room, so we can rectify the discrepancies they mentioned. Remember, we strive to offer the best value for the best location in Kona! Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.7 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.4 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.6 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing