We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient location, could use some updating”
Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Convenient location, could use some updating”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I stayed at the Royal Kona on a trip in 2011 with a friend. The hotel was clean, comfortable, and very conveniently located for walking around the shops in Kona. The staff were very polite and accomodating, and their on-site restaurant, Huggos on the Rocks, had passable, if expensive, food. On the other hand, although this was a decent hotel, it shows its age. The rooms were alright, but they could use some upgrading and modernization. The only real negative I can speak of is that I had to fly out of Hawaii very very early in the morning, and they apparently did not have TV checkout. When I went downstairs to return my room key, there was no one at the guest counter. I waited for several minutes and called out to see if anyone was in the back, but in the end I had to leave my key on the desk and a note telling them I needed to leave to make my flight. After I landed in Oahu I called them and they were very polite and apologetic about not having a CSR there to help me.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kairynel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Aloha TA family, I'm glad they enjoyed their stay, it's been a year, and about time they return, we'll keep them on our radar so we can welcome them back. Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    596
    1,138
    626
    281
    181
See reviews for
547
1,418
111
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (828)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
150 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Royal Kona has an amazing location on the lava just at the end of the strip in Kona. The waves crashing on the lava rocks, the wonderful pool location and open air restaurant looking out on the Pacific and the coastline of Kona are amazing!! However, the hotel is in need of some updating. The check-in staff were competent, but not overly courteous. Our room was a partial ocean view which was right above the checkin area and overlooked the pool area and entrance circle. This was very nice as we could leave our door open at night and hear the waves crashing at night, but on several nights from 6 till about 9 the music from the evening lua was very loud and got to be annoying. (Tip - in the Ali'i tower - ask for a room away from the lua area).

The bathroom was acceptable and all the appliances worked well. It was clean but not lavish. The carpets were a bit dated. The king bed however was very comfortable! The balcony was spacious and provided a great view. The amenities are plus and minus. The pool area and small secluded lagoon for salt water swimming were very nice, but the hotel exercise room was very small with only a treadmill and bike for use. I had the breakfast bar on several mornings which was good, but without variation from day to day - again - tables by the water in open air were great though! I was here with my wife for a conference during Ironman week and the walkability to town, viewing opportunities for the race right on Ali'i were great!

The open air conference facility made it one of the best conferences I've ever attended....no indoor stuffy ac rooms here! They do charge extra for wifi and for parking (but one can also park free on Ali'i drive). My wife and I also used the tennis courts on numerous occasions. There are four nice courts and although not run by the hotel, Evan, the pro gave us a nice week rate for use of the courts. They are not locked though.

Overall, since the location was incredible and the outdoor amenities were great I gave this hotel a 4 star, however, just based on the room it would be a 3. I would definitely go back, but don't expect the Ritz-Carlton if you stay here. The location and convenience particularly during Ironman week were great though.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the noise of the lua.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irondoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Aloha TA family, great review and info. We strive to provide our guests a clean and well maintained facility, from rooms to grounds. Although we're not the newest kid on the block, we do stake our claim to the best location in Kona. Right on the ocean, when you stay with us, you see, touch, taste and smell the ocean. We also offer our guests the best value for the price paid, hands down. Great travel tips these guests shared, glad they had a great time enjoying IronMan from our resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Overall: this hotel has a great location, but has several negatives. First, rooms vary like crazy. (I was traveling with a group, so had access to see several different rooms.) My first room had a bad smell of mold, but they moved me quickly, and I was lucky enough to go to the main tower (indoor access, as a hotel). The rooms in the Lagoon and Bay towers aren't quite as nice or well-kept. Also, the almost-nightly luaus are very loud, and the way the hotel is designed, you'll feel like the drums are in your room. On the plus side, this gets you staying up to Hawaii hours quite quickly :-).

The hotel has a great pool/bar area, and a beautiful restaurant. The breakfasts are kind of weak, but the food later in the day is nice. There are many, many restaurants of almost every type within easy walking distance. And if you stay here, DON'T miss Basik Cafe, an awesome "acai bowl" joint just a few steps from the hotel - you'll thank me!

Room Tip: Definitely stay in the main tower. If you can get a full water view, definitely do that!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Aloha TA crew! It sounds like these guests had a nice time too! FYI, all of our rooms are pretty much cookie cutter in regards to shape, size, and amenities, locations to vary though, with your view. Yes we have a wonderful Luau, 4 nights a week, but the music stops at 8pm, and usually our guests love to hear the Polynesian music. Sorry if they didn't enjoy that aspect of it. We do have a wonderful ocean front setting, our pool, bar, restaurant, luau and majority of our rooms face the ocean. They did share some great local area tips too! Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Royal Kona hotel looks impressive and is in a great location. A short walk takes you to the many shops that line the adjacent street. But the hotel is in need of a makeover. At least two couples travelling in our tour group had plumbing problems in their bathrooms and had to change rooms. We had an ocean view - albeit overlooking the restaurant rooftop below. We enjoyed a great buffet dinner as part of our tour but the breakfast buffet was minimal compared to other hotels on our tour. There is a natural lagoon on one side of the hotel - be sure to wear swim shoes in there! The waves can really pound the shore in this area - might help put you to sleep. For those who need it, there is a laundry room in one of the hotel buildings.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ontothenext
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Aloha TA viewers! Not sure what more these happy travelers expected, they didn't mention it. They did receive a great view, enjoyed the wonderful location and value, had great meals. I hope they enjoyed watching the dolphins play in front of the hotel like they do daily too. I truly hope they had a wonderful time in Hawaii, and their time with us here. mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My fiancee and I visited Kona in May 2012. We were here three nights and found it an awesome place to stay. The whole outside feel of the place was really nice, especially since we were in Hawaii. Also they have a great bar right on the water. It is also a very short easy walk to the main strip in Kona with most the touristy restaurants and stores. We found this nice for a quick bite or a cheap souvenir. If we make it back to Kona I think we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We happened to get a corner room, which was a little bigger. Also if you can, request a ocean view r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oockiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Aloha TA family, it's great to see our return guests had another wonderful time here at the Royal Kona Resort. I'm glad we were able to meet and exceed their expectations again.They nailed it, great location, great food and beverage. Great room tip too, mahalo for staying with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

Fortunately I was only staying here for two nights as part of my Hawaiian Island holiday. The staff are friendly. But you don't get any real information, from staff or in your rooms automatically, about things as you do as standard at other hotels, restaurant times for example. The rooms themselves are at best described as Ramada airport hotel rooms. Even then i would suggest a renovation would only help matters. The rooms are functional but not comfortable. The hotel has no charm or ambience to it. I'm very glad this was a quick stop using this hotel. Unless you are really struggling budget wise I suggest you should look elsewhere!

Helpful?
1 Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Aloha TA family,
Interesting perspective, we respect all comments and reviews, I hope that coming all the way from the UK, they were able to enjoy all the wonderful things our resort and location had to offer. Mahalo!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers are raving about these Kailua-Kona hotels

Cookeville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

When we arrived, we asked for an upgrade from partial ocean view to ocean view (for age 50+) that one previous reviewer had mentioned. The front desk accommodated us with no question. Our rooom was Room 378 in the Bay Tower which had a fantastic view. The bathroom could have used some renovating and the ice machine was one floor down, but those are minor complaints. The view, the location which was close to shopping and eating, and the pool/lagoon more than compensated. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Aloha TA family, so nice to hear we exceeded our guests expectations again, we do try to accommodate every request, and do whenever possible. I'm jazzed to know they really enjoyed themselves, having traveled all the way from Tennessee! A Hui Hou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing