We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,361)
Filter reviews
3,361 results
Traveler rating
736
1,336
753
325
211
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
736
1,336
753
325
211
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private lagoon alii tower mai tai bar don the beachcomber corner king ocean front main tower the big island salt water lagoon an ocean view room shops and restaurants on the rocks an older hotel open air waves crashing parking fee our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,719 - 2,724 of 3,361 reviews
Reviewed March 2, 2008

We spent eight nights is a wonderful beach home in Pahoa and needed to come to Kona for one night only in preparation for our departure. We found the Royal Kona Resort online and booked the one night (a Saturday) based on the website and the information provided there.

First impression of the fifth floor Bay Tower room was that it came straight out of the 70s, smelled of stale smoke and wasn't worth the $200 we paid. It only got better from there...the toilet screeched every time it was flushed, the bed was incredibly uncomfortable, the TV remote didn't work, the shade doors didn't close all the way....but the best part was that the loud live music next door droned on until 2a. When the music started at 9p, we were ready to go to sleep, called the front desk and were told the music would end at 11p. Given that, we decided to put up with it till then. Unfortunately, the front desk clerk was wrong and we were forced to be awake till 2a. You wouldn't think the music could be so invasive for a fifth floor room with the doors and windows closed, but it was loud and clear as a bell. At 730a that morning, we attempted to get a late check out so we could get some sleep. We were advised that there would be an additional charge of $75 plus tax for a late check out after 1p (usual check out time is 12p). We explained our inability to sleep due to music and explained we weren't told about the disco atmosphere we would experience on a Saturday night till 2a. We didn't receive even the smallest amount of understanding or sympathy. We asked for a manager and got her voicemail, surprise! In the end, we decided to enjoy the few hours we had left in Hawai'i and forget we were ever at the Royal Kona Resort.

The really sad part is we had a very, very nice time in Pahoa at a beautiful house on the ocean. The one night in Kona was fabulous up until the point we finished dinner at the Four Seasons and got to the Royal Kona Resort (RKR). The RKR is not royal in any sense of the word. We will never stay here again and suggest you think twice before doing so.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dy_Denver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

My husband and I stayed here last year for two weeks and everything was fine so we decided to suggest people stay here for our wedding a few weeks ago to save money. We COULDNT HAVE BEEN MORE DISSAPPOINTED!!! We had 15 rooms reserved for our guests and EVERY SINGLE reservation was messed up. We spent hours trying to clear everything up each morning before guests arrived but by 3 pm the hotel had given their rooms away or lost the reservation completely. After a week of this we were finally told that their computer system allows more rooms to be booked than they actually have available so when everyone checks in they inevitably dont have enough rooms. If the service wasnt bad enough, when we checked into our "deluxe king ocean front room" there was mold growing out of the air conditioner unit, stains (of a truly questionable origin) on the carpet, mold in the bathroom, bathroom drains that don't drain, insects, a missing TV remote (twice!) and other items. When we went down to complain about the mold and request a different room they told us they couldnt move us for several days and then when they could it was a very much downgraded room that they wouldnt refund us the difference for. We ended up staying in the room and by our third week there had both come down with a terrible chest cold that our doctor indicated may have resulted from the mold in our room. The week we were leaving they had brought in air blowers to try to "air out" the hotel as there was so much mold throughout that it was visably growing in the hallways along the floorboards and doorsills.

Unless you want to go on vacation to be treated rudely, receive horrendous service and to get sick from toxic mold DO NOT STAY HERE. I am embarrassed to have recommended that friends and family stay here. The only good to come out of this is that we now have a new saying "you been Royal Kona'd" meaning you have been royally screwed!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Meg2926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2008

This place is fast becoming one of the worst hotels in Kona.

I've stayed at this a number of times since '94 and it seems that each time I've visited it's gotten worse.

My last visit was in 4/04, and the room smelled bad. The A/C vent had grime and the system NEEDED cleaning. The room smelled of mildew, and staff was indifferent to our complaints. They moved us to a room down the hall which was no better because it had all the same problems.

I later learned from staff that the owners were looking to sell the hotel and I suspect the owners wanted to keep expenses down to make the balance sheet look more attractive to potential buyers.

I don't expect that they ever got around to fixing the A/C system, and new carpet and drapery are probably still a pipe-dream.

I recommend you spend a little more and try a better hotel. The Kona King Kamehameha Hotel is much the same so don't bother going there, either.

Even if this place was given thorough renovation, I would have to read consistently positive reviews before I would even consider booking there, again.

Stayed: April 2004, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Furniture_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2008

We stayed in the Lagoon Tower, room 556, overlooking the lagoon, and ocean. The room is large, good size lanai, queen bed, table and two chairs, ample storage space, iron and board, small fridge, bath/shower, toilet and sink, plus another sink with coffee maker outside of bathroom. One elevator was being serviced but it wasn't a problem with only six floors and a welcoming atrium open to the sky, with stairs which many people used daily just for exercise and to view the lovely fish pond. The desk staff were very helpful, always, and the daily maid service was a treat from the usual twice a week variety. They supply beach towels and the lagoon is a wonderful spot to swim and to see fish and the occasional turtle, and the nearby anchored cruise liners. The ocean roar and the wave actions were impressive. The hotel has a two level pool and a wonderful open air, but covered bar and restaurant. We enjoyed breakfast nearly daily at the hotel and two great dinners, with the hostesses and waiters and waitresses always cheery and willing to please. The walk to nearby town facilities is short and there are many activities nearby. All in all this facility made up for the din and clamor of our week before in the overcrowded and overpriced Waikiki. The only complaint we had was the small size of the tv and the lack of a small miocrowave, but everything else was superior.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank skip28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2008

We spent 5 nights on the Big Island of Hawaii in January this year and stayed the 1st and 5th night at the Royal Kona resort.
The 1st night we were upgraded ( or so they said) to the best type of room in the Hotel, in one of the newly upgraded rooms. It was a large room however that was the only positive thing I could say about it. The bathroom certainly had not been upgraded, the bath was laking a plug and was decidedly grubby and well worn. The television was in a position that you could only view it from a chair, no watching tele in bed ! Although we had paid for an ocean view we could only really see the ocean by going out on to the balcony and streaching out and sideways over the balcony!

On the second occasion we were given a room in the Bay tower, On entering the room we were hit with an awful smell of what appeared to be cigarette smoke, even though we had requested a non smoking room ! We were later informed that that was all that was available and requests are not guaranteed, it would have been polite to let us know that we couldnt have a non smoking room!! On the positive side we did have a bath plug this time and a very nice ocean view. On retiring to bed later that evening when I turned back the bed clothes I found an old band aid plaster stuck on to the top sheet! this was duly reported and the sheets were immediately changed. The carpet was frying and very dirty.

We had breakfast on both mornings which I can only describe as adequate, nothing special.

I would not stay at this hotel again , and would certainly not recommend it to anyone

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank westmorland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews