We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$105
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$188
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$194
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$114
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $153/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$291
$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$966
$839
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $946/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,272)
Filter reviews
3,272 results
Traveler rating
702
1,304
736
322
208
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
702
1,304
736
322
208
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate lagoonalii towermai tai bardon the beachcombercorner kingocean frontmain towerthe big islandsalt water lagoonan ocean view roomshops and restaurantson the rocksan older hotelopen airwaves crashingour honeymoonwatch the sunset
Filter
Updating list...
2,069 - 2,074 of 3,272 reviews
Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is my third year returning for business/vacation to the Big Island, staying at the Royal Kona. This optimally located resort has maintained prominence by constant, well prioritized renovations, a catering operation with extreme attention to detail, and a friendly, low key staff with a "can-do" attitude.
The sandy beach area by the private grotto is raked daily; the pool is always sparkling clean.
Luaus are run like clockwork thrice weekly with no impact on guest activities. From the parking attendants, maids, bartenders, desk/bellhops, to "Auntie" Winnie, the matriarch of morning brunch, a spirit of huge ALOHA pervades.
I was pleased to visit with other business folk who I met in past year's travel; they share my love for this well run facility. I can't wait to return again, and again.

Room Tip: Ali tower for sure; bay view for peace and sunset view, other side for free Luau viewing thrice weekly.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HarryBGurnee_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Aloha TA viewers, here is another example of a truly satisfied, RETURN guest. We pride ourselves on being clean and well maintained, but also providing the great customer service with aloha, ono food and beverage, and resort amenities like a crystal clear fresh water swimming pool tucked right at the ocean’s edge, hear the waves, feel the ocean breeze, as well as our safe, protected private swimming lagoon with sandy sunning area. Full of fish, eels, crabs, and the occasional endangered Green Sea turtle, remember don’t touch or harass them, they come into the lagoon to chill, eat, sleep and do whatever it is turtles so. NOTE: we don’t put the turtles in the lagoon, so can’t predict when they’ll visit. Also, he’s got it almost right, our luau runs 4 times per week, M/T/W and T, if you don’t want to enjoy Hawaiian music and dance, he offers a great tip when asking for room selection. Much Mahalo for viewing and sharing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at The Royal Kona Resort 6/4/12 to 6/10/12. We had a nice ocean front room. The hotel is in a great location, walking distance to Kona shops and restaurants. The breakfast buffet is good, only wish they could add more selection and change it up from day to day. The restaurant has greatt ocean views, all open. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: get ocean front
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rshep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Aloha all, another really satisfied customer, all expectations met. Nailed it on being the best location, so close to everything, but where you’re on property, it’s like you stepped back into time, staff with Aloha, Hawaiian style resort, casual, open air, fish ponds, flora and fauna all ocean front. Can you feel yourself here now? Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

if you are going to do any sightseeing on the Big Island, or anywhere in Hawaii, Kathy Boyd, the onsite Expedia Local Expertm should be your go-to person. We had a party of 5. She booked us the most amazing trip to the volcanos as a group. We had our own van and driver, for not much more than a big bus tour, with a driver who knew as much about volcanoes as a geologist and customized our trip to include The Black Sand Beach and an orchid farm, becasue those were particular additional interests of ours. Then she booked individual trips for members of our party who were headed to other islands. She is charming, knowledgeable and helpful beyond belief. The hotel is wonderful and reasonable, but all-by-herself, Kathy is a reason to stay there.

Room Tip: Book through Expedia. Look for deals and don't spend extra for a full ocean view. The partial view is perfect.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Joyce T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Aloha! It’s great to hear our guests return from vacation with awesome memories. It’s apparent these guests travelled all the way from Brooklyn got to experience the true Hawaiian “aloha” we all speak of and live. To mention someone by name shows that person made a huge impact on their vacation, and a warm lasting impression. I’ll say it again, do your homework, choose the “right” hotel for your style and budget. Talk to the front desk and locals for where we like to visit, eat, and where we’d go, it’s priceless, valuable intel. Then seek an expert who can put it all together for you in one nice custom package. Glad they had an amazing stay with us at the Royal Kona Resort.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful hotel for 7 days at the end of April/beginning of May 2012. Kona is a lovely sleepy seaside town & the best area to stay on the Big Island. The hotel could more accurately be described as a resort. There is a pool, mai tai bar, gift shop, restaurants, small sandy area to lay out & a freshwater pool set in from the ocean. The hotel has 3 towers- we were in the 2nd. The only odd thing I have to say about this tower is that the ground floor is used for commercial purposes. There are some radio stations here. Although I didn’t expect this, it didn’t bother us in the least bit. We were on the 5th floor, right next to the elevator. The hotel concierge tried to upgrade us at a cost to a room away from the elevator with a view incase the noise bothered us. We stuck with this room & it was fine. I never heard any noise from the elevator. But if you’re an extremely light sleeper, maybe opt for the upgrade. We had a spacious room with a king bed, small kitchenette area with sink & fridge, lanai & generous size bathroom. The air conditioning worked great. For the price, this hotel is a truly great value. The décor is tasteful & clean. We took advantage of their Expedia Concierge service & booked 2 excursions through them right at the hotel. I highly suggest Waimea on Horseback- a 2 hour+ leisurely, breathtaking horseback ride in the lush valley. We also booked a helicopter ride to see active lava! We are very adventurous so didn’t spend much time at the hotel (only for sleeping) but we were extremely happy with our stay. The location is perfect in Kona- on the ocean, right along the main street full of great restaurants & shops. Some great little restaurants include Huggo’s & Lava Java- which had delicious homemade macadamia nut ice cream. We also stopped at the local farmers market every morning & got a bushel of apple-bananas & 5 papayas for just $3! If you want a relaxing vacation, there is enough to do right at the hotel & in short walking distance everywhere in Kona. However, we rented a car & drove all over the island. Gas is not cheap in HI! It was close to $5/gallon during our stay. Hawaii Volcanoes National Park is about 95 miles from Kona but well worth the trip! We preferred the beaches further out from Kona. Hapuna Beach was gorgeous & about a 40 minute drive away. Parking at the hotel lot is extra, but if you find nearby street parking, you don’t have to pay. We were lucky enough to find street parking every day. We dream of returning to the Big Island & will definitely stay in Kona at the Royal Kona Resort again!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julia620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Aloha TA readers, here’s a review from some very satisfied guests, all expectations met or exceeded. Looks like they definitely did (do) their homework when travelling. Talked with all of the right people, took advantage of the knowledge of our amazing partners at one of our activity desk, and really, really had a great vacation. Not sure about these folks, but for some, their trip to Hawaii is a once in a lifetime, and I would have loved to see the looks on their faces as they flew over Kilauea and saw her lava flows and volcanic activity, priceless. There is a resort for everyone’s taste and price point on the Big Island, do your homework, and come stay with us, you won’t regret it. A Hui Hou! (until we meet again)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Location: feet from shops and restaurants.... feet from the ocean. Can't beat it!
Rooms: A little dated, not fancy, but great for those who aren't spending much time in it. New TV, but didn't turn it on. They gave us free upgrade from ocean view to ocean front... AMAZING. Sunsets and dolphins from the patio is a huge plus.
Service: Friendly and helpful. Need to ask for lotion if you want it!
Restaurant: Good happy hour ($5.25 Mai Tai)... a little pricey otherwise.
Spa: pricey! much better prices across the street!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justinboone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 2, 2012

Aloha, great tips from our friends from Lexington, looks like we definitely met and exceeded in some cases all of their expectations. They said it well, not fancy, bit perfect for them, and nor do we advertise ourselves as anything but. We try to remain affordable, yet have all the amenities of a 5 star resort, without the high prices, as you can definitely find that type of accommodation on island too. Please make sure you do your homework, map our your budget and go from there. He nailed it, best location in Kona, great staff, service and food and beverage. Mahalo for sharing!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews