We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Royal Kona Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Kona Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed here for 2 days and was so happy with our choice! We booked a garden room but got upgraded for free because we were on our honeymoon which was so nice of them! Room was very clean and the staff was fantastic! Great location! Would stay here again hands down!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFOdmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Aloha TA Readers, these happy honeymooners had a great time, and we're blessed with an upgrade. We try to take care of our guests with special events for sure. It makes my day to know that people’s expectations were met or exceeded. It's what we strive to provide on a daily basis. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,770 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    584
    1,117
    614
    275
    180
See reviews for
536
1,392
109
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (811)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2011

We just stayed here one night on our trip to the big island. The rooms were a good value, and service was great. We had a great time at the happy hour- drinks were actually cheap, unlike other resort happy hours- and they had great entertainment. There was a guy who played the xylophone that was awesome! Great place to see the sunset, good location, close to everything.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Aloha, this review says it all, in other words, best value in town. Great drinks, views, and Shawn was ripping on his Vibaphone! Come check him out, he plays Tuesdays and Sundays, watch the sunset at happy hour and enjoy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

My friend and I booked this hotel via PRICELINE (3 stars, for about $91 Canadian) per night.
We stayed here Oct 20-24th.
The hotel is awesome for the following things:
-Luau is held here. Hotel guests can get a 50% coupon upon check-in, so its $68 per person, and so if you buy one at full price, the second person is 50% off ($34 USD)
-Front staff are super friendly. We really liked Jolene.. she gave us some good recommendations of stuff to do around the hotel
-Rooms have a fridge and a great big balcony
-Walking distance to the "downtown" of Kona
-Great Mai-Tais !!! Try the 4 mini mai-tais for $16... they are yummy!!!

Cons for the hotel
-Parking is $10 if you have a rental car per day
-The hotel itself doesnt' have a beach - so if you want beach you have to drive north (best beaches) or south!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lifebrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Aloha Gang, they had a great time, found great value for the best location in Kona. another Pro they didn't mention was we do not have a mandatory resort fee like many of the competition does, ranging from $15-$30 per day, regardless. They claim "value added" in the resort fee, free local calls, (use your cell) free wifi (use your smart phone) free use of fitness center (we don't charge) free parking, If you don't have a car, you don't pay for parking. We've gone the ala carte route. Great tips, great time! Much Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2011

My husband and I stayed here Oct. 15-21, 2011.

Upon arrival were were welcomed warmly.
Got checked in immediately.
We were upgraded from ocean view to ocean front Room (room 173)
The room was clean and big. We had a king size bed and there was lots of room to move in the room.
The view was awesome. Seemed like we had the bay tower to ourselves until Wednesday when a couple checked in next to us.
Royal Kona is close to shopping and dining.
Every staff member we met were friendly.
On the 19, we were celebrating our 27th wedding anniversary. We were given a bottle of champagne
The private lagoon is great for beginning snorkelers. We saw a lot of fish.
We liked everything about Royal Kona.
We would definitely return.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have great ocean views too. Bed was a little hard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oahuo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Aloha, How nice to hear their anniversary was spent with us, and they had a wonderful time. They nailed all of the key aspects of the resort, great views, location, staff, food, everything was perfect. We try to do a little something for our guests celebrating a honeymoon or anniversary, just make sure to tell your agent when booking so we know! The views from the Bay Tower Ocean Front rooms are the best in Kona, hands down, Much Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2011

I liked my stay there don't even need to go anywhere else walking distance to town everybody very nice I would go back there in a second the Mai Tai Bar good drinks food people I'll be returning for sure old place but well kept I loved it

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kbarber7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
TA readers, a short, sweet and to the point review, what can I say? He had a great time, and will be back. Loved everything about the resort, we are the best value for the best location in Kona. Do your homework, it really shows and makes a difference. Make sure all of your expectations are met. Warmest Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2011

We stayed a week and were upgraded to an ocean view on the 7th floor. This is a real nice resort/hotel right in the middle of everything on the Kona side of the Island. It is only about 7 mi. from the airport. All the restraunts and shops are walking distance from the hotel so you only have to use a rental car if you are planning a day trip to the volcano or Hilo about 6 hrs. away. The hotel has a beautiful bar and restaraunt on property and the prices aren't too bad, especially at "Happy Hour". You can take your drink to the pool in a plastic cup and enjoy the ocean view. They have a lagoon on property so you can snorkel without having a bunch of people in your way. There are some pretty fish, but don't expect SeaHunt, it's a small lagoon after all. The only complaint I had was allowing kids and young adults in the pool after 10:oo pm. as they were yelling and screaming so loudly I had to call down to the desk 2 nights in a row. The pool was supposed to be closed at 8 pm so I don't know why they weren't kicked out immediatly.
The price can't be beat for a really amazing property, and I plan to stay there again the next time I vacation in Hawaii.

Room Tip: My brother had an ocean front room and all he could hear was the waves crashing at night. He also ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex9078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Aloha TA gang, great review, lots of helpful tips about the resort and the location, all true, everything is so close, walk to everything, even to the Kailua pier for a dinner cruise, jet ski ride, parasail or even the submarine ride. True, the lagoon isn't for Diver Dan, wanting scuba tanks to explore the depths for sunken treasure, but it's safe, full of fish, turtles at high tide, and private for our hotel guests only. As for the pool, it should be closed after 8pm, we've already had this discussion with our Director of Security, we'll toss the next violators! Glad they really enjoyed the resort and Big Island, by the way, the volcano from Kona is a three hour one way, plan to spend the whole day though exploring and eating your way to and from. Mahalo nui loa!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

Wow all I can say is after 2 weeks and a bit of touring around the islands we were so happy to wind up here and the tail end of our trip, this was our best hotel the entire trip! the lady who checked us in was soooo nice... I wish I got her name, we had an excellent room and slept so well....after 2 nights we went to visit the Volcano and stayed in Hilo over night and then spent out last night back here.....we used the pool the last couple hours of our trip...even though this is an older hotel, you can tell they take great care of it, and it is very clean...I recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Kona, plus you can walk to town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LACToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DofSales, Director of Sales at Royal Kona Resort, responded to this review, November 2, 2011
Aloha TA fans, these Canadians found their second home here at the Royal Kona. Sounds like they had a wonderful time in Hawaii from beginning to end, and I'm so happy they enjoyed staying with us as their final destination. They enjoyed all the greatness of the resort and the island, and I know we'll be seeing them again soon, since old man winter is quickly coming upon us!
Much Mahalo,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.8 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
5.3 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
21.3 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Kona Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Kona Resort

Property: Royal Kona Resort
Address: 75-5852 Alii Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1310
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Kona Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 436
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Kona Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Royal Kona Kailua
Royal Kona Resort Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing