We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Best in Kona "On the Water"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Brightwood, Oregon
Level Contributor
76 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Best in Kona "On the Water"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2010

We have stayed here many times and each time always the same, wonderful. This is not a 5* as no TV or phone,but pool on the water edge,free continental breakfast,clean rooms and friendly staff. Very small three floors about 15 rooms in all. We like #301 with a King and Twin bed for size and extra windows as it is on the top floor end. Some people complain about the traffic noise as it is on Ailli drive for mail road in Kona town but the sound of the ocean drowns this out for us. Very simple rooms but very clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rose in woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    131
    35
    6
    21
See reviews for
42
225
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Billings, Montana
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed there October 2009 and are heading back for next week. Great location. Sound of the surf is enchanting, breakfast is great. A great place to watch the sunset by the ocean. Every room is 30 feet from the surf. Not for people who don't like to hear surf.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthBoulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Roomy, friendly staff, tasty continental, gorgeous view from room, handily located, nice quality towels and sheets (for a budget hotel), free internet, bbq grills (with charcoal), a pool, loaner coolers and beach toys, plentiful fluffy beach towels...what more can one ask for for about $100 bucks? The sea is admittedly a little noisy, but earplugs did the trick. I would stay here again in a minute.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobina5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2010

This place has a lot going for it. The waterfront location is great. The free breakfast is nice. The Manager Judy is really sweet, and the place has a genuine old-Hawaii charm. The only problem we had was that we left completely exhausted. The hotel sits on a seawall, so every crashing wave resonates loudly, and I mean Loudly. This all seems pretty cool when you first show up, but not so much when you can't get to sleep. There is no AC, so closing the windows is not an option. There are also no window coverings, so the room is completely bright by 6AM. I'm not sure I could stay here again, but if I did, I would have to sleep with earplugs and an eye mask.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank jbrentpoer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burbank, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2010

We stayed there in 2000. While at first it was way too hot and sticky for me, to this day I have a sound machine with crashing waves and I think about this place every night. Coffee and guava buns, haupia in the morning was good enough for us! We especially loved the trilling of the birds outside, unlike the icky and annoying crows, doves and nightingales in my neighborhood.

We've stayed in cinder block buildings in México and believe me, this place is located in what we on the mainland think as paradise... understated sure. But we were in transition between Kona, Volcano Village, and Hilo not to mention other stops on Oahu, Maui and Kauai. So bottom line is, this is great for a couple of nights. The night sounds are great and the pool by the sea wall is nothing you'd find at a resort. We even saw eel feeding outside our window in the rocks below our third floor. No elevator!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hulashack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2010

Stayed for one night and it was wonderful. A beautiful setting, we had a ground floor floor room and it was wonderful sitting on the balcony and listening to the ocean as we lay in bed. It doesn't look great from the outside and we were a bit worried it was going to be a bit budget, based on the price. Sure, it is budget, but it makes up for it with bags of character (it feels very intimate and quite romantic - you wouldn't know it was just off the main road and 5mins walk into centre of Kona).

Great breakfast,and friendly staff. We had no problems parking, and it's easy to walk into the bars and restaurants of Kona. If you are on a budget, I'd recommend you stay here. We paid twice the price at some other hotels and don't have half as good memories as we do of the Kona Tika. An absolute gem.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2010

We stayed at Kona Tiki for 6 nights as part of a 2-week vacation. Great location just a mile from central Kailua and also near Keauhou (you will need a car to get pretty much anywhere). Rooms are simple and a little tired, but clean and all have a view of the ocean, just a few feet away. This is not a quiet place to stay, between the constant and loud waves and being right on Ali'i (and near a stop sign) there is constant noise. If you are looking for silence, look elsewhere. Salt-water pool (water splashes over the seawall) sounds neat and unusual, but as adults, we found that we missed having a freshwater one. Breakfast was accompanied by Kona coffee and standard tea, and consisted of pretty much exactly the same thing every day: bagels, pineapple, bananas, papaya, danish, bread, jam, peanut butter, butter and cream cheese. Great value for the price.

What we didn't like (and this will clearly vary season to season) is that the managers during our stay were not efficient, gave us unclear and essentially false information about the cost of booking activities through them (promised discounts that did not materialize, tried to steer us away from vendors we asked for, etc.). To us, it seemed that the manager was letting her visiting son do the job, and while he was trying hard, he did not know the ropes and the result was a little frustrating for us. I know that they will not be the managers going into fall of 2010, but this does indicate a lack of proper oversight from the property owners.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kozmoboxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Property: Kona Tiki Hotel
Address: 75-5968 Alii Dr, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing