We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ocean view rooms, great location”
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Cameron13
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ocean view rooms, great location”
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We watched humpback whales from our hotel room. How much more do you want?! Ok - that said - washrooms are small. The hotel is generally dated but well-kept. We liked the 60's style place. After all if it was modernized, then it would cost a lot more per night. Location, location, location. The view was great and the price was excellent for the area of the world your visiting. Note, however, that there is no TV or AC and the rooms can be loud. Noise was not from traffic but from the waves, which were crashing on the shoreline just feet from your room - this may sound romantic but it is actually quite loud when you are trying to sleep. Pick this place if you like friendly visitors, ocean view, can live with a ceiling fan, and don't mind the sounds of the ocean crashing at your door. We loved it. We'd stay again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    136
    37
    7
    22
See reviews for
45
238
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2010

We stayed for 4 nights, location right on the ocean. But, location also RIGHT on the main street, LOTS of traffic noise. Beds didn't hurt us, and the place was clean. A seawall right out front of all rooms means no privacy beginning in the very early morning with folks walking and sitting on the seawall just outside the bedroom window. We had no hot water every day, only slightly lukewarm no matter the time of day.
"Kitchenette" is a bit misleading; no coffeemaker, no toaster- only a cooktop, small fridge and small sink. If one wants coffee, one must dress and go down to the office, a big drawback. Parking is a joke, the lot has two fewer spots than there are rooms to rent. They do the best they can to look out for folks that need to leave early in the morning for whale watches and such so one is not blocked in. The winter managers are very nice and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nancydHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I stayed here with my partner after reading lonely planet and just taking a punt. We were stunned at what we got... located right on the beach we thought we had arrived in heaven. Each night we went to sleep to sounds of waves crashing just meters away, then awoke to a beautiful breakfast down stairs overlooking the ocean.
Plus its only a short drive into Kona for restaurants/bars/cafes.
The owners were really helpful with advice and directions, and for $95USDp/night this was definately the best place we stayed at in all of Hawaii.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank megsyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2010

We have stayed at the Kona Tiki on 3 occasions and found it a fantastic buy. If you were any closer to the ocean you would be in it. There is variability among the rotating staff, but most are friendly and helpful. We did request a refund when we had to change our travel plans and we were given a full refund as stated in their online literature. We did need to supply a copy of the memo we received that functioned as our receipt. There is no air conditioning, but we found the nightly breeze to be adequate for our comfortable sleeping. We plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2010

I read the many reviews of this place and can say that my expectations were met. I give it four stars for what the Kona Tiki is trying to be, not to be compared to other $$$ resorts. The reviewers that complain obviously didn't do their research or relied on only one guidebook's narrow description. Waves were loud, and did the perfect job of eliminating the road noise (unless you were in the bathroom which has a window to the road side). Perfect inexpensive option for those who aren't going to BI to sit around the hotel. The hotel "staff" is a rotating group that lives at the hotel for a shift of time, as far as I can tell. Breakfast was fine, a Hawaiian Continental. We were glad to have soft earplugs for our last two nights which helped us sleep better with crashing waves. Mainly booked with retirees while we were there, got a sense it was usually the case. I would recommend this place for the right person. Great stay.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
olympia, wa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We didn't expect this place to be right on the road with a real difficult in and out approach. The place is really run down and our very very small room had a bad odor. It was recommended in the Hawaii Big Island Revealed as Solid Gold Value. Two nights was all we could stand and when we asked for more towels they blanked. They Revealed people better go look back to reconsider their ratings. The Volcano House that they also recommended was stuffy and we could smell the kitchen in the corridor.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hulihulicharley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WA & HI
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2010

This place is so cool!!! Love the location and being able to hear the ocean/see the ocean/being oceanfront. We stayed on the ground floor near the office. Judy, was the manager when we stayed there and she is incredible. Very friendly & helpful!!! A wonderful continental breakfast every morning out by the office/pool area. This hotel has limited parking.......BUT if you follow their parking rules or system...........the system works!!!! We had no problem with parking at all. Beautiful sunsets right from the pool area waiting for you to photograph!!!! GREAT PLACE.......we will return again!!! Mahalo to all the staff that keeps this place so perfect.........:)))

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunandpalmtrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,182 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
483 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Property: Kona Tiki Hotel
Address: 75-5968 Alii Dr, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel only 20 feet from the ocean. The Kona Tiki Hotel is the only hotel in Kona where every room is oceanfront! Every room has a private lanai overlooking the ocean. Room rates include a continental breakfast every morning on the terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing