We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We don't give many 5Star ratings but the Tiki gets ours.”
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Fayetteville, AR
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We don't give many 5Star ratings but the Tiki gets ours.”
Reviewed October 30, 2009

First of all, I'm not sure what the guy below is talking about. Mike, the current manager, could not have been more helpful both at the hotel and assisting us around the island. He was engaging with the other residents as well.
This hotel won't appeal to everyone. It was inexpensive. It had a kitchenette so we rcould save some cash and eat healthy during the day before going out at night and splurging.. IT was small and we were able to meet many of the other travelors. It is older. No phone and no tv - which we rather enjoy. Internet was spotty but functional. Rooms were clean. Breakfast was healthy.
Down sides: no AC which can be an issue from mid afternoon to a couple of hours after sunset (we purchased a $17 fan when we went for groceries). We were so close to the beach that the waves breaking at high tide were loud (my wife used ear plugs that she uses for flying). Parking was an annoyance but manageable.

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CriticalThinker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    135
    37
    7
    22
See reviews for
45
237
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Midwest America
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2009

Minutes after checking into the Kona Tiki, Mike, accused me and my other two travel partners of attempting to sneak too many people into our room. We had not even left the parking lot with our luggage! He yelled at us in the parking lot in front of other guests- how unprofessional and embarrassing for his establishment! We had arrived to Kona with another couple who were staying at a different hotel and I guess he assumed we were all planning on staying in the tiny rooms at the Kona Tiki together?
Don't go to the Kona Tiki unless you want to spend your entire vacation hassling with rude Mike. He will find some ridiculous reason to try and evict you from the property just so he can keep your money and have new guests take over your room and get a double return on the room!
Kona is a beautiful place- don't ruin your vacation by staying at the Kona Tiki.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank travel242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA, US
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2009

What else is there? Can't beat ocean waves on the balcony with your take-out dinner from Kailua town, a leisurely 20 minute walk.
The deal-braker: weak ceiling fan and no a/c. Can't feel the breeze from the fan. I never thought 86F/30C would be oppressive but in Hawaii it is. Don't take a midday nap.
Property is aging but still clean. One of us thought this was important, the other said it wasn't.
Parking isn't as bad as even the hotel advertises.
But both of us are glad we stayed. One of us would stay again, one wouldn't.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loveviaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2009

All rooms are on the water. You sleep with the waves crashing against the rocks. So nice! If you are worried about the heat and the fact they dont have AC like I did.. worry not! The rooms have a lovely ocean breeze and were just right.
Free breakfast is served downstairs on the water and is a lovely start to the day.
The staff are super nice and very helpful.

Would highly reccomeded and will stay here next year!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welltravelledcouple7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2009

I cancelled my reservation with the Kona Tiki within the 30 day notice required. According to their written policy, I was entitled to a complete refund of my deposit. It is now going on 3 months and I have still not received my refund of $550.00. After making numerous calls to the hotel, I decided to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau because of their complete disregard and lack of follow through.

Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank Lauraloohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2009

Centrally located, clean, friendly staff. No AC, or television, but not missed. We were there for 9 nights and had a great time. Kitchenette and the availability of a grill on the patio allowed us to save all kinds of money on eating out. Can't get any closer to the water without getting wet. Surf noise may bother some, but it put us to sleep every night. Salt water swimming pool was great. Surf sometimes crashes over the seawall! Free use of boogie boards, coolers. Only 15 units, but this makes it a very personal experience. You're not just a number.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott5489
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
1 review
Reviewed August 8, 2009

We have stayed at Kona Tiki twice and we just love the view from the lanai and the pool into which the ocean splashes. The sound of the ocean crashing against the rocks is loud but magnificent. You may want earplugs if you are a light sleeper.
We found that the lanai made a wonderful setting for large parts of these two music videos we recorded. The wave that you can see in the "Teacup Tango" is crashing against the retaining wall, just a few feet from our room.
"Teacup Tango" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HOmoshHoQU0
"The Scale of Tea" - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=T4VFblIDgNI

Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheHoustonHill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,177 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
479 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,821 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Property: Kona Tiki Hotel
Address: 75-5968 Alii Dr, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel on the water. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing