We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Listen to the Waves at Night”
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Listen to the Waves at Night”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Kona Tiki hotel. It's right on the ocean in Kona, near enough to walk to restaurants, shops, and a sand beach. Each room has an ocean-front patio and plenty of space for two. No AC, instead there's a gentle breeze blowing into the louvered windows. The temperature was good even in August. The sound of the waves will be ever-present in your room. I liked this, but it might be a little much for some folks. No TV, but there's WiFi for checking your email. The rooms are large enough and clean, and have a large mini-fridge for your leftovers.

The hotel breakfast is simple (bagels, toast, fruit, coffee, juice) but good. The hotel staff are relaxed and point you at all the useful features, like the pool (small, but open 24 hours), the pool and beach towels, boogie boards, and picnic gear that are all available for you.

This place is perfect for a relaxed vacation. It's not a deluxe place, but you will be comfortable and feel welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StudentInBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    136
    37
    7
    22
See reviews for
45
238
25
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This cozy little hotel has great style. I love that it is only 15 rooms, that there is no television or air conditioning and that the ocean sounds like it is breaking outside your lanai. The staff are friendly, laid back and super helpful. Each morning they go all out with a sensational spread of tropical fruits, orange juice and coffee. The rooms have character and are very comfortable. With so few guests it is a warm and social atmosphere and the location on Alii Drive is superb. This is definitely I place I hope to stay at again- will go for longer- it is very very excellent value!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed there for 7 nights this August. Yep - no AC or TV, but good WiFi (which was all we needed). We had room 301 - which I would recommend to anyone. It was a corner unit on the top floor, overlooking the south shore. The higher up you are the more breeze you get going through the room, and with two walls opened up, it was always cool enough for us. Plus, you get to hear the ocean crash against the rocks all night long - nothing quite like that sound!
The staff - well, mostly just Judy - was pleasant and wonderful. She seemed busy all the time, but not rushed. I know there was other help there, we just saw Judy most of the time.
The breakfast was simple, and laid out at 7am. The parking was tight, but we never had a problem. And, if the lot was packed, Judy had the keys for the double-parked cars and would just move them for you. Advice: always choose the parking space nearest the street, almost like the back of your tiny rental car is in the bike lane - this way you will always be able to get out when you want early in the morning.
The rooms were clean and simple, but just a little old. Not a problem for us - considering the price, the location, and the walking proximity to town (about 10 Minutes). We would stay here again - no questions!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hartimage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for 8 nights for our honeymoon, and it was beautiful. The rooms opened right up onto the sea, it was fantastic.
The rooms were clean and tidy, where they didn't have TV's (but we didn't need one with that view) they did have free Wi-Fi which was great.
The staff were such lovely people, full of advice for a great stay.
The hotel had a pool, with the sea splashing into it, which was a great experience.
I don't want to spoil the surprise, but make sure you are sat on the patio for sunset, and its not just the view!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dandeireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Kona Tiki. Seriously, right on the water, no beach but great wave watching and the water really does come over the seawall into the pool. Very friendly atmosphere, my daughter lit the tiki torches the nights we were there. They could not have been nicer, letting us leave our bags. Room was very comfortable and the hotel is well situated for exploring Kona. Great value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jsullivan60745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We had two rooms. Both were clean & comfortable. We loved the breakfast - fresh fruit, bagels, toast, muffins, juice & coffee. This was the beginning of our stay in Hawaii, and it was perfect. The location was ideal for us to get south or into town. Nice view of the beach, but it's a lava rock beach not sand. We also stayed at more "plush" (and expensive) hotels this trip, and I think it was better for us to begin our stay here. We don't vacation in our room anyway, so simple is fine. The staff was very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rijnsaterwoude
Level 6 Contributor
209 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel is just outside of Kailua Kona, providing for a very relaxed and private setting, where you are still in the hustle & bustle of Kailua-Kona within 2 mins driving. The views from the rooms are stunning over the ocean with surfers and waves just outside, with a palm tree in view. Rooms are spacious, clean, have a refrigerator and double bed plus additional bed. The sound of the waves is always present - for us really relaxing, whereas other may find it disturbing when trying to sleep. Parking next to the hotel, reasonable breakfast included (some fruit, frozen bread and bagels to toast with butter/jam/cream cheese/peanut butter; coffee and tea - not great). Lends beach stuff to guests (cooler, boogie boards, towels). Distance to Kailua-Kona fine with a car, too far to walk/

Room Tip: All rooms have a view to the sea and are equally big. Rooms on the higher floors have a nicer view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joeri E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
485 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
239 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Property: Kona Tiki Hotel
Address: 75-5968 Alii Dr, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel only 20 feet from the ocean. The Kona Tiki Hotel is the only hotel in Kona where every room is oceanfront! Every room has a private lanai overlooking the ocean. Room rates include a continental breakfast every morning on the terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing