We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kona Tiki Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$197
$169
Sheraton.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Big Island Retreat(Kailua-Kona)
$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$149
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$246
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$174
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)
$202
$167
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$139
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$1,216
$1,049
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
228
142
39
9
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
142
39
9
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea wallconch shellscrashing waveslight sleeperno tv or phonenice continental breakfastcoffee and juiceceiling fanother guestsevery morningno elevatorsmall kitchenettethe big islandair conditioningold hawaiisalt water poolfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
221 - 226 of 441 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I love this hotel in Kona. It is marketed as "on the water" and it is! Only three floors of about 20 rooms, no elevator needed, clean with a lovely pool so close to the water that it is refreshed by the ocean from time to time. No TV or phone so even more perfect! A small property so going up to your room for a refreshment or snack is quick and easy. No need to walk blocks to your room as most large resorts. I want to live here and cannot wait for our next visit.

Room Tip: The ground floor gives you a lovely outdoor space with lawn chairs under a palm tree but the best views are from the upper floors.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rose in woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights and it was unimaginably wonderful. Older, but that was part of the charm. There are plenty places, If you desire a big, bustling, multi-story extravaganza with
a gym, spa, massage, etc.
We chose a ground floor room so we were right !! by the pounding surf in the little cove
next to the Hotel. It was romantic. There were many other romantic couples there,
so we chose well. Our friends went there right after we told them of our Adventure, so
if close, unique, and memorable is your desire, this place is it.
Great Breakfast and treats, wonderful family management, beautiful pool, and lots of
'Loaner' Gear for whatever you may wish to do.

Room Tip: If you wish for Surf Sounds, pick ground floor. If you wish for softer sounds, pick higher floors. Ask for what you wish for and need; the managers live right there and are eager for you to tell of your experience and spread the word.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank McTeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights, and were generally happy with our stay. The location can't be beat -- you're right on the water, and from our 3rd floor lanai, we could see a large school of bright yellow tangs in the water below. There's a family of eels that lives in the sea wall outside the rooms, and they happily respond to food (we bought smelt for $2.50 at the local grocery store and had great fun feeding the eels). The pool is nice and relaxing.

The room is spacious with a nice kitchenette -- 2 burner stovetop, fridge, sink, all the dishes, pots and pans that you'll need. Vanessa, on the housekeeping staff is wonderful at cleaning and friendly and fun to talk to -- a real asset to the hotel.

The beds in our room were a problem. The room had a queen and a twin bed. Both mattresses were soft/lumpy and left us with back aches. By the 2nd night, we were trading off sleeping on the twin (which was somewhat more comfortable).

The hotel is managed by a rotating series of managers throughout the year. The gentleman managing the place during our stay was somewhat intense and unfriendly -- we constantly got the feeling of being watched to be sure that we weren't breaking any rules. We saw a family with 2 young girls who wanted to get one last swim during the 45 minutes before their checkout time being told that they couldn't get in the pool for 15 minutes because he had to clean it -- even though he could have easily been cleaning while these girls were playing in the shallow end. We were scolded for wanting to burn a candle on our unlit lanai while we ate dinner. I'm told that the manager working during my companion's previous stays was more welcoming and did more to foster a sense of community among guests.

There is a grill provided, but guests need to purchase their own fuel canisters. It's not a huge thing, but on previous stays, the hotel management provided fuel (as would be expected in a hotel like this).

Vanessa did a great job keeping the room clean. On her day off, whoever cleaned the room did a really poor job -- the bedsheets were just pulled up haphazardly and not tucked in at all, towels were sloppily hung, and presumably any cleaning that day (sinks, shower, etc.) was done with an equal lack of care.

All in all, the reason to stay here is the location, and for that, I would probably stay again. I hope that the hotel invests in new beds, as the beds in our room were unacceptable for anyone with a good back, and a huge problem if you have a bad back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

A cool old place kept very clean by the managers and a nice lady named Vanessa. The managers/hosts go above the call and are super people. A place where you can sit by the pool, read a book (say some 50's type novel) and just drift off in time. The atmosphere gets people to chat at breakfast and soon you have dinner friends.
Not a place if you need a TV or have to have every amenity. I like the kitchenettes.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Catimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Kona Tiki is definitely one of the best deals in Kona, if you like an authentic slow-lane experience. Great location-right on the water! Delicious continental breakfast. Quiet, slow-paced. Helpful staff. Squeaky-clean----they even scrub the INSIDE of the BBQ grills daily! I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelDivaNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews