We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kona Tiki Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$161
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$197
$169
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kona Seaside Hotel(Kailua-Kona)(Great Value!)
$149
$144
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Royal Kona Resort(Kailua-Kona)
$155
$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$179
$169
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$158
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kanaloa at Kona(Kailua-Kona)
$150
$125
CheapTickets
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $160/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ohi'a Park Estate(Kailua-Kona)
$395
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$1,139
$999
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (441)
Filter reviews
441 results
Traveler rating
228
142
39
9
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
228
142
39
9
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea wallconch shellscrashing waveslight sleeperno tv or phonenice continental breakfastcoffee and juiceceiling fanother guestsevery morningno elevatorsmall kitchenettethe big islandair conditioningold hawaiisalt water poolfresh fruit
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 441 reviews
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed in her early November 2012. The location is outstanding as is the value of this little gem. The room we stayed in did not have a phone or TV (not that we were looking for either) but one cannot beat the location if you like the ocean and the crashing of the waves. We only had planned to be here one night but wished we could have spent more time. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful re: restaurant selection, etc.

Room Tip: We had chosen the very basic room, but each room has great view.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Really mixed feelings about this place. Loved it when I first arrived, but my enthusiasm had faded by the time I left several days later.

Pros:
:: fantastic, wonderful, mesmerizing view of the ocean from the lanai -- so close I could watch the tropical fishies swimming around
:: friendly staff
:: nice, clean pool area next to the ocean, also with a great view
:: comfortable bed
:: morning breakfast of coffee, juice, island fruits, breads and spreads
:: reasonable price

Cons:
:: the crashing waves, lovely in the daytime, were horrendously loud at night, so loud they mostly blocked out the very loud traffic noises on the street in front of the hotel; I mean, these waves sounded like thunder claps and gale-force winds even with the room shut as tightly as possible; made it very difficult to sleep
:: only so-so on the cleanliness front; the upper surfaces were OK, but walking on the floors made the bottoms of my bare feet quite dirty, every single day
:: some kind of plumbing issue that occasionally caused water to bubble up from the kitchenette sink with a foul odor; one time a bunch of suds bubbled up! Kind of freaked me out. :)

I'm a big fan of quaint, charming, older hotels, so from the reviews I had expected to like it. I didn't mind the no TV or no AC or the dated bathroom or any of that, but the relentless pounding waves all night long made it a not-very-restful stay. The parking was also a bit funky. On the other hand, beach equipment and a barbeque are available for guests to use. All in all, a mixed bag. Loved, loved, loved the view, but not sure I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room as far from the street as possible and/or bring earplugs.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank jamseattle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

When you stay at the Konatiki you get a really nice breakfast of fruit, bagels, bread etc. which you get to eat overlooking the ocean. The rooms are 20 feet from the seawall and the sounds of waves crashing puts you to sleep. There is a salt water pool that is small but refreshing and the managers are very nice and helpful. Yes it is dated and if you want to stay in your room and watch TV you can't. But we had a room on the bottom floor where you can walk out to the pool or seawall at any time, there was a fridge to store food/drinks in and this was just a basic room. It is a two minute drive from downtown and central to everything.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the ocean.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank semisenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our 3rd stay at the Kona Tiki. With that said, it is NOT for everybody. The positives: a room with lanai that is practically over top of the ocean. Many rooms have kitchenettes and there are two grills available on the patio. We are lulled to sleep every night by the ocean. We have an ocean front view of the fish swimming in the rocks below. A breakfast of fruit, breads, juice, and coffee is held every morning on the patio. There is a small pool for swimming and internet access. Here are the negatives: no elevator, you have to lug your bags potentially up three flights of stairs, no television,radio,phone and no air conditioning.
Very reasonably priced. Again, it's our third stay! What's not to love?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sweetiedoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel is privately owned by family so don't expect to be a four seasons or any franchise hotels. However, just because it's not owned by big corporate company doesn't mean it is not a good hotel. This hotel is great for it's price, location is amazing, complimentary breakfast and parking. You cannot get better than this around the area. The parking lot may be a little tight but after few adjustments you are good to go. Wireless included as well which is nice.

I stayed in the single room for few nights and was in deluxe room for another 5 night. Of course the deluxe room was a little better with price a little higher which was ok with me. The only thing i would like to have in the room was maybe a microwave or even just outside the lobby. You will hear the sound of waves crashing onto sea wall which was not a problem with me I loved it. There is no air condition in the room but it does have a large ceiling fan which was good enough with the ocean breeze.

Overall it's a great hotel even if you are not on a tight budget. I would book with Tiki hotel again if I ever come back, everyone was very friendly. Close by the popular beaches, airport and tourist streets. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: I would suggest Deluxe room over single room even for a little more money if you are staying more than few days.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews