We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great view”
Review of Kona Tiki Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kailua-Kona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kona Tiki Hotel
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2012

When you stay at the Konatiki you get a really nice breakfast of fruit, bagels, bread etc. which you get to eat overlooking the ocean. The rooms are 20 feet from the seawall and the sounds of waves crashing puts you to sleep. There is a salt water pool that is small but refreshing and the managers are very nice and helpful. Yes it is dated and if you want to stay in your room and watch TV you can't. But we had a room on the bottom floor where you can walk out to the pool or seawall at any time, there was a fridge to store food/drinks in and this was just a basic room. It is a two minute drive from downtown and central to everything.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank semisenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (417)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 417 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is our 3rd stay at the Kona Tiki. With that said, it is NOT for everybody. The positives: a room with lanai that is practically over top of the ocean. Many rooms have kitchenettes and there are two grills available on the patio. We are lulled to sleep every night by the ocean. We have an ocean front view of the fish swimming in the rocks below. A breakfast of fruit, breads, juice, and coffee is held every morning on the patio. There is a small pool for swimming and internet access. Here are the negatives: no elevator, you have to lug your bags potentially up three flights of stairs, no television,radio,phone and no air conditioning.
Very reasonably priced. Again, it's our third stay! What's not to love?

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sweetiedoris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hotel is privately owned by family so don't expect to be a four seasons or any franchise hotels. However, just because it's not owned by big corporate company doesn't mean it is not a good hotel. This hotel is great for it's price, location is amazing, complimentary breakfast and parking. You cannot get better than this around the area. The parking lot may be a little tight but after few adjustments you are good to go. Wireless included as well which is nice.

I stayed in the single room for few nights and was in deluxe room for another 5 night. Of course the deluxe room was a little better with price a little higher which was ok with me. The only thing i would like to have in the room was maybe a microwave or even just outside the lobby. You will hear the sound of waves crashing onto sea wall which was not a problem with me I loved it. There is no air condition in the room but it does have a large ceiling fan which was good enough with the ocean breeze.

Overall it's a great hotel even if you are not on a tight budget. I would book with Tiki hotel again if I ever come back, everyone was very friendly. Close by the popular beaches, airport and tourist streets. Highly Recommended!

Room Tip: I would suggest Deluxe room over single room even for a little more money if you are staying more th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

i was a little leary of my first stay at this place. no tv and no phone so what did that portend. well its probably one of the best places in all of hawaii that sits right on the water. the seawall is probably 20 feet or less from your room. the waves crashing on the beach and seawell became a hypnotic visual as well as sound expereince. in some ways sitting on my lanai became addictive. i didnt want to leave but only to watch the swimmers and surfers and listen to the sound of the waves. it is addiction for the soul.

and depression when you have to leave.

btw -- cell phone service is dynamite and so is wifi so you can just stream stuff if you so desire.

also each room has a frig and some rooms have kitchens so in theory you could feed your addiction and never leave your room.

Room Tip: there are no elevators so if you are staying for a long time or have lots of stuff to carry, i would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l1jjc0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

If you are looking for a state of the art hotel, read no further.
If you want to fall asleep to the sounds of the pacific craching against the rocks, this is the place! No tv, no phones, just the ocean and a good book

The kona tiki now has wireless for your laptop-tablets so, you can still keep yourself wired in

Comp Breakfast is placed out around 7 am, fresh fruits, danish, and bagels with juice and coffee.
A small salt water pool is a great place to watch the sunsets. I have been staying here for over a decade, and thankfully, nothing has changed!

Room Tip: rooms with a kitchenette are a little bit more, but are worth it if you plan to cook or economize
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brucejkirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

Great location if you had a car, or it's about 15 min walk in hot sun to nearest shops and restaurants.
Managers were friendly but didn't know much about the area regarding transport which would of been helpful. They didn't offer to assist with local tours etc, plenty of brochures at reception.
Take a $2 trolley to major shops and not a taxi which costs $15.
Good value for what you pay

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I second all the praise you hear here. We were greeted warmly when we arrived. The room (205, I think) was perched right on the ocean, attractive, clean and super comfortable. We enjoyed the abundant perks: beach/pool towels to borrow; a take-something, leave-something box; piping hot coffee; tasty free breakfast with fresh local fruit, hearty breads and cream cheese and peanut butter to help sustain you 'til lunch. Overall the Kona Tiki has a great family vibe.

Slept with the balcony doors open and never missed A/C. Ocean is shockingly loud -- not a bad thing! For me, it meant deep sleep and the occasional weird dream. It also meant I never heard a peep from any neighbor, so it felt like we had the hotel to ourselves.

Parking is tight but they have a good system to deal with it. Recommend!

Room Tip: Our room (205) was furthest from road and had zero road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tory H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
1.3 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
1.3 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
492 reviews
4.9 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
243 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Tiki Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Tiki Hotel

Address: 75-5968 Alii Dr, About a mile from downtown Kailua-Kona, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1324
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#5 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $56 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel only 20 feet from the ocean. The Kona Tiki Hotel is the only hotel in Kona where every room is oceanfront! Every room has a private lanai overlooking the ocean. Room rates include a continental breakfast every morning on the terrace. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kona Tiki Kailua
Hotel Kona Tiki
Kona Tiki Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing