We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic accomdations for a great value”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed August 16, 2007

First, don't expect a resort when you come here. If you want gift shops, restaurants, room service, et al., head down to the Royal Kona or up to the Hilton Waikoloa. What you'll find at the Kona Seaside is a basic, clean, affordable hotel in the heart of Kona. The rates are low and its perfectly situated at the northern end of Alii Drive, so the entire town is basically within walking distance.

You do have to pay $6 a day for parking, but I HIGHLY recommend it. The overflow parking lot is actually public parking behind many of the restaurants and shops in Kona, and can be a tad creepy after dark (unlike the rest of Kona, where you can stroll around carefree well after sunset). If you're travelling to Hawaii, you're already spending a lot of $$$ and this hotel will save you some of that, so might as well pay the extra $6/day for parking.

The lobby is open-air, the staff is very friendly and accommodating, and the rooms are crisp and clean. The pool is nice, but does close at 6pm, so be advised. Literally next to the parking lot is a local-favorite restaurant called "Quinn's Almost By The Sea", which is a nice alternative to the tourist-targeting gougers further up Alii Drive.

Overall, if you need all the frills that come with a resort hotel, look elsewhere. But if you're going to Hawaii on a budget, this place can't be beaten.

(ADDENDUM: We stayed in the main tower, and that's the only part of the hotel I can vouch for. I don't know what the garden annex is like)

Stayed: May 2007
3  Thank AirPirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Kona Seaside Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2007

Their website says the hotel includes fitness room/gym -- In reality, NO fitness room. You will be directed to the Fitness Club 3 blocks away.

Friendly staff but we found cockroaches during the last night stay --- whew! Terrible!

Close to Ali'i Drive and good restaurants.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ubhel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2007

If you don't expect it to live up to expensive-hotel standards, this is a great place. All staff members were very gracious and helpful, the room was spotlessly clean, it had a very nice ocean view, and the A/C and everything else worked (except the pay-if-you use-it wifi; it varies with location in the hotel). I couldn't have been more pleased with the whole experience for $89 per night (except for that wifi).

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank mwrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2007

Old, run down, though affordable for Kona. Good downtown location. Staff was rude and unfriendly.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank SyanColorado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2007

My family and I stayed at this hotel for one night in January 2007, using it as a place to crash after a late night flight before moving on to nicer digs.

Nonetheless, this hotel served our purpose well. We stayed in the Tower Wing and found our room to be very clean, quiet, and the front desk staff friendly. The price was right too, if I remember correctly, we paid less than $100 per room.

What the hotel isn't is fancy. The carpet was teal and the dresser looked to be of '80s Ikea-vintage. The bathroom was basic and we could've used more towels, but again, clean, which is very important to me. If you want a resort, anyhing approaching luxury, or to be near a beach, this is not the hotel for you.

If you want a cheap, no-frills clean room that's centrally located in Kona, give this place a try. It's like a well-run Motel 6 and I mean that in the best possible way.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PleasantlyLost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2007

This is the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The front desk is incredibly unprofessional and the parking lot is unsafe. The first night it was pouring rain and they asked that we part in a secondary lot. In that secondary lot, we were greeted by a homeless man who was bleeding and looked like a junkie. He was there in the morning as well. The next night, we were greeted by an unsavory guy who asked me on a date. I then was called by the front desk at close to 1 a.m to move my car AFTER I was told by the security guard that it was ok to leave my car straddling the line over two parking spaces. They did not apologize for waking me up at 1 a.m nor did they apologize that their OWN staff had told me to park in two spaces. What a terrible experience! Do not stay here and pay the extra to stay in a name brand hotel.

Stayed: July 2007
Thank Cal222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

We spent two delightful nights at the Kona Seaside Hotel. The warm accommodating staff added to the enjoyment of our stay! Our room was sparkling clean and spacious. It was a quick walk to downtown and the beach. It's easy to recommend Kona Seaside, and it would be our first choice for a return visit to Hawaii!

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelingDuoBostonMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,888 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $148 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing