We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last night of travel”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Newstle
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Last night of travel”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Booked the hotel and went into the cleanest, almost the most friendly place I've been in my recent 3 months of traveling. The front desk and security people are absolutely amazing. We lost our car keys and the hotel security officer went above and beyond helping us find them. The only down side is that they close the pool to early at night, 8 pm and open it up too late in the morning, 10 am. We like to swim in the late evenings in the pools and early in the morning. Aside from that - go and stay here it is really a nice place to visit!

Room Tip: The air conditioners are wall mounted so they are a bit noisy, but I am use to that type of noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeanmarie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    535
    262
    57
    57
See reviews for
245
506
121
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mandurah, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

Pretty basic hotel but quite nice
Location is great
We had a room with a balcony and could see entertainment from hotels close by, we could also get ocean views
Parking was ok, small cost compared to others
Room was clean
Reception was nice
Also has laundry facilities
Great coffee shops just a minute or 2 away
Kona Brewing Company across the road
Everything within walking distance
Value for money
Would highly recommend

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CzO62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

To noisy to sleep. There is a lot of street noise, cars, trucks, motorcycles just outside the window. I wish I could post a sound clip so you could hear how bad the noise is here. The refriderator buzzed all night as well. We were using it. The ac system was loud, but not loud enough to soften the other noise. It was Terrible. The pool closes at 7:30 pm. That is just unfortunate and bad business for families traving with children. The room seemed clean and had wi fi. It is located walking distance from shops and resturants. A bad experience given I wanted to sleep. The street light outside comes in through the thin curtain. It was just an awful room. The front desk staff is courtious.... The pillows are thin and hard.

Room Tip: Do not stay on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim_AJ_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

This place is really good for the price.The location is great and you can just step out into the "downtown" area. I loved it that there are really nice places to eat, shop, rest, hang out all just outside the hotel. There is a very nice beach area just outside, it might be a part of the hotel across the street but it is open to public. The parking is paid and there are no water fountains in the common area but we were okay with that. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff was very nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The staff was very courteous and helpful! Very clean rooms, and good location comfortably just outside the main downtown strip so you still get a quiet sleep. The parking spaces are quite narrow, but otherwise, no complaints - parking was only $5 per night. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

1) Parking is awful, but manageable. The spaces seem to be a foot narrower than every other place. The $5 parking fee is too low in my opinion. If I was guaranteed a normal spot, I'd pay $10 per night.

2) Perfect location. My favorite restaurant, the Kona Brewery, is kiddie corner to the hotel, and so are many other restaurants. It's nice to be able to walk around the area from this location.

3) The value can't be matched. Even though my room had ants, the price was great for the value I received. Just remember that you're paying for the cheapest hotel on the island, but you're getting a very reasonable deal.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank pvtmulholland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Very Cheap, and great location. definitely book this hotel if you don't want to spend a lot on a hotel so you can spend that money for restaurants and lots more in kona. I stayed in the standard room on the second floor garden wing. Has cold A/C. Also good to book if you aren't spending a lot of time in the hotel room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kgabuat92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,847 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing