We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Aloha Here”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
VA
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“No Aloha Here”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

SO it could be a decent budget hotel but it's not. The location is ok one block too far away on a busy traffic intersection. The pool is minimal and shady (cold water). The worst is the front desk service and the fact that noting works,*(i.e. apple computer for the quests, ice maker etc.)
The ladies at the front desk will not let you check in before three p.m. even if your room is clean and ready. To say they were unpleasant is an understatement. They are not friendly like other posters said. They assume you are a tourist from the mainland and treat you accordingly- poorly
you pay to park- they don't tell you that
refrigerator is off when you enter the room and never gets cold enough to make ice
the coffee machine is on a very short cord

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank surferboyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    273
    535
    262
    57
    57
See reviews for
245
506
122
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Having stayed at the Maui Seaside Hotel just before this, I can't pretend I didn't have my reservations (not great...) but this hotel was much better. Nice to have a balcony (I think all rooms do) and the decor and room quality was higher than at the sister hotel in Maui.

I loved the location too, right around the corner from restaurants, shops and the sea. It felt like a little seaside town.

Only issue I had was the front desk said they hadn't had payment and were certain of this, only to later find the payment. Same with check out - I'd requested a late check out in the morning I was leaving, which was approved, only to have a call just after the original check out time a couple of hours later to let me know check out time had passed... Staff-staff communication clearly wasn't the best (the left hand didn't really know what the right hand was doing) but they got there in the end.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank On_Ze_Move
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, MN
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

This is not a particularly fancy hotel. It is, however, a very nice choice in many ways. You can purchase breakfast along with your stay, which is very good (I had macadamia nut pancakes) and served with a view of the ocean. The location is a very short half block from the hub of Kailua-Kona (the pier). There is an ABC store nearby for all your travel needs. The hotel is somewhat old, but well maintained, and the staff was very friendly. Also, I never saw anyone use the pool, so if you want to swim in a pool, it may be all yours.

It's really more of a 4/5 facility, but the value for the money and a lot of nice little perks make it a 5 in my mind.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luke D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenison, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2014

Started using Seaside when Mom lived in Hilo and we wanted to come to Kona for the weekend. Over the years I have brought my children, my mainland friends, and recently my husband. We like the ease of this location. This time around we had a second floor room ; two queen beds I in room. Very clean, and adequate for our needs. We are gone all day exploring and just need a place to shower and sleep. Good value here and grounds are so neatly kept up. We do not mind using the public parking less than a block away. We walk most places along Alii Drive anyhow. Big Island Grill was within walking distance and was a pleasant surprise for great teri yaki...the kind Mom makes! Our family has used all three locations of Seaside in the last few years...Hilo and Maui. I like to support a tradition of Hawaiiana and staying at the Seaside does that for me. We found the breakfasts included to be a good value also.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 50underwatertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

No need to pay more for a hotel in the thick of the action. Staff are wonderful! They are helpful and more than willing to spend time with you describing how to get to a good snorkeling place before checkout time. It is not fancy, but a good lower cost option for a brief stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

We had a room on the 2nd floor, balcony to the garden. Beds were quite short, even we're not that tall but the toes were outside of the bed.
Minus thing, ants in the bathroom.

Had breakfast included, which could have had more variety of choices.

People in the reception were lovely and always willing to help.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,848 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing