We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect Kona location”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“perfect Kona location”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

perfect location, could walk to most things including water, breakfast, brew pub and open market. Good value, very accommopddating staff [actually over the top] and include the breakfast option ofr $5 great value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carol r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    532
    262
    57
    56
See reviews for
243
505
120
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We decided to stay here because of the location in the Kona town and near the beach. Can't beat the price for sure, but after we stayed the first night (we booked four nights) decided to checkout and look for some place else. We arrived late at night and the gals at the desk were were complaining about the previous folks that checked in. When we asked if there was a restaurant nearby to get food, the gal Iwa said that we should have gotten something to eat before we got to the hotel because everything was already closed???? I asked if they had any suggestions and Iwa and the other gal only laughed and said to wait until tomorrow (and gave us some coupons to eat a restaurant). We were exhausted so went to our room, hungry. The rooms are very old and smelled old too. My wife couldn't sleep, the noise from the A/C was terrible and there was a party going on in the room near to ours. The next morning, we went to the Front Desk to ask where we could use the coupons and ask for a different room because of the smell and the noises. A gal Noni said that she was the manager, and nothing could be done about the noises and she would send the housekeeping people to change the sheets and spread. I asked if there was another room and she said that we'd have to pay more for a nicer room. I said I don't want nice, just clean and not noisy. She said that's the best she could do and pointed to the restaurant we could use the coupons. The breakfast was really good, or maybe we was hungry, but we were satisfied. When we asked our waitress about the Seaside she said we were better off staying at the hotel across the street. She said too many complaints from other people that stay there, but she also asked that we not mention her name???? So we went back to the hotel and there was another girl, who said that we could checkout if we wanted to and she would just refund our money to us to stay at another hotel. She said she was very sorry that nothing could be done because the manager was very adamant that she had already made a decision. When we asked to speak to Noni again, she said that the policy is to say that the manager was busy and to leave our phone number and we'd get a call back. I said to her, don't bother we are checking out anyway. I'm not sure if this is the regular way business is done there, but we've travelled to other parts of the country and was never treated like that before. There's a sign that says Aloha spoken here, not sure if the folks at the hotel really do but we didn't get any of that when we were there.

Room Tip: Don't stay there....
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Rockies
Level Contributor
145 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We decided to stay on Kona side for one night, last minute, and booked a room here. It was spotlessly clean, comfortable, good sized room with fridge and coffeemaker in the room and sliding door to outside area.

I was a bit put off by the sound of the AC unit next door going all night, when we didn't think it was hot - but I'm used to very quiet places - except Puna side of Hawaii since the coqui frogs are so loud there at night. Would definitely stay again. Staff was great. Also enjoyed a HUGE burger at Splashers just around the corner - next time I think I'll share it.

Room Tip: This IS right in the heart of Kona, so walk to the water, many places to eat or shop right nearby. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DineRight4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

I found this hotel for super cheap on Hotwire.com. I was a little worried we might not be 100% comfortable here but as soon as we arrived we were greeted with very friendly and helpful front desk staff. The hotel is a bit dated and isn't exactly luxurious but our room was very comfortable and for the price we paid, it really can't be beat in terms of value.

If I was going back to Hawaii I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: You're a block away from the Courtyard Marriott which has a beachfront. Hawaii law states you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank megagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

This is a nice budget hotel, rooms are clean & decently sized.
However, there is limited parking available & there are additional charges for parking.
Our stay was nice & comfortable except that next doors there were some really noisy & loud people partying all through the night, which was a big disturbing factor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaVoyageurMonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elgin, Texas
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

Nice, quiet, comfortable and clean room. The king size bed was better than home! We slept through the night after a long flight and had a free breakfast at a restaurant on Alii Drive the next morning. We have stayed at this hotel four or five times in the last four years and have always been pleased.

Room Tip: We've stayed on every floor and the rooms are always quiet and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Michigan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2013

The positives:
-close to shops and restaurants
-Rooms aren't fancy but clean
-beds are comfortable
-budget priced

Negatives
-limited parking in the hotel lot and you pay for parking. Free parking is a couple of blocks away
-unfriendly staff at checkin and checkout
-no views

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avislou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,823 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing