We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great price, wonderful hotel and staff”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Hilo, Hawaii
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Great price, wonderful hotel and staff”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

I read the reviews ahead of time. I needed a room for one night that was not expensive, just a clean, safe, good location to sleep. I was so glad that I picked this hotel. Everyone was so friendly and kind. From the person who initially reserved my room to the wonderful lady at the front desk, Pua Maile, we felt welcome and at home. I did end up paying the $5 to park, it was for the security guard that is making sure everyone is safe, happy, and my car was secure. We liked it so much, we stayed one more night. Our room was in the back building facing the gardens. Pua Maile was able to give us the same room. We left to enjoy the day. Came back to an extremely clean room. Here is the good and the bad.

Good- great price, VERY clean room, great location, window air conditioning, wonderful staff, fridge/coffee maker/iron/blow drier, nice pool

Bad- No microwave, no free WIFI, the room was dated (which don’t mind since SO clean) but they do need new beds. The mattresses are old and small (more like short). I am small, but could feel the springs. My husband is tall, his feet were hanging off the end. The "bad" is the only reason why I gave it 4 stars.

We would recommend this hotel and will stay at Kona Seaside Hotel again.

Room Tip: There are rooms that face the pool and street that are active and fun. There are rooms facing the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlenefg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    538
    262
    57
    58
See reviews for
246
509
123
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Friday Harbor, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here one night after landing at the airport late in the afternoon. It's centerally located, very clean, easy to fine and easy to park and get into hotel. We were able to walk to a restaurant easily and catch some sleep before heading out the next morning for a destiation across the island. This was a fine value, and breakfast came with the stay at a great restaurant right next door!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanSimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

After overcharging us, ticketing our van numerous times because of their ridiculous rules we could not wait to get out if this spot. Horrible rooms, no toiletries to speak of and all the towels and bedding is stained.
We arrived late for check in and they had no idea how to find our reservation, it took them an hour with a dim witted security guard to get us our room 'code'. Apparently they don't keep staff there past 8pm. Parking was a nightmare, as they do not have near enough spots for all the guests/tenants. This place is NOT a hotel, motel, or lodge. It's a ramshackle enterprise of overpriced slums strewn together.
I visit this island 3-4 times a year to see family and have stayed in dozens of establishments around town. By far this was the worst I had found.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
12 Thank raymakesmerch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

If you arrive at night you might be a bit shocked about all the cockroaches in the common area....they even take a ride with you in the elevator. The rooms are clean though (and we couldn't find any cockroaches there).
The rooms are ok. The hotel itself doesn't provide breakfast....but they hand out vouchers for a cafe next door, which is actually very nice. Still, there might be better places for the same price in Kona.....or just stay in a different town if you prefer it more Hawaiian.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gelegentlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here our first night in Hawaii after arriving very late in the evening at the airport. The lady at reception was very friendly and professional. The room was basic but comfy and the view from the balcony was nice and overlooked the pool. Breakfast was included with our room fee (a choice of 3 options) and I enjoyed my macadamia nut pancakes in the open air restaurant a short walk from the hotel. I wished we had chosen to stay here one more night as there really was a lot to see down at the beach and cute little shops up and down the street. They were training people to use outriggers on the water and it was very interesting; apparently the beach is also the starting/stopping point for the Ironman! The hotel was very reasonably priced and in a convenient spot.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
Helpful?
2 Thank alittletlp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The hotel is near the centre of Kona and a great area for the beach and shops. Reception staff was helpful, the room was a good size as I request a high room and the balcony had a great view of the sea (got an even number) sorry can’t remember the number.
The pool area was clean and relaxing after being out all day. Room was clean and tidy and the bathroom was an ok size.
As a guest of the hotel I received a coupon for free breakfast at the Splasher’s Grill with a choice of 3 different choices. This was a great breakfast and could not fault it, this was a great bonus for the price of the hotel.
2 things that I found issues with was in the room a chain from the ceiling fan to the bed is fix with a wire and could be a safety issues for children. The other is the parking, I got a space and when I checked in and asked for a permit for the car, I was told all the spaces were taken and it was on a 1st come basis, Luckily for me the lady on reception was leaving to go home and gave me a permit for her spot which I found very kind of her (great customer service). Otherwise I would have had to park away from the hotel.
A good value hotel and location at a great price would stay again and would go for a high room with sea view. Would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seacat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaneohe
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

stayed here for weekend, front desk staff not that friendly, they seem to not enjoy their job. we checked in found the room with cheap amenities, plastic hanger, coffee maker that was totally rusted at the warmer plate area, cheap towels, however, good water pressure in shower and toilet. hundreds of small tiny ants all over our bathroom counter and desk. mentioned this to the front desk, and was told, "we have ant spray, and its the season". oh well, we got what we paid $247 for 2 nights. but we won't stay here again.

Room Tip: not the greatest view on all sides.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,864 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
20.8 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing