We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for one or several nights, great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Santa BArbara
Level Contributor
94 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Great value for one or several nights, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had to stay here overnight to catch our flight out. I wished we had stayed here a few days. It is nothing over the top great, but the hotel is across from water and some rooms have ocean views, it is clean and tidy with no weird smells like some budget hotels have, no mildew in tub, nice balconies, the front desk staff are warm and friendly, the pool is clean and nice patio furniture. The lobby and common areas and rooms are well kept. Not hotel chain style decor, but decent and clean. The a/cs are loud but no louder than any other window unit in a hotel and they do have fans. We arrived early, a few hours before check-in and they scrambled to get us a room calling all the cleaning staff to find out where they could put us and did not seem bothered to do so. A lot of other hotels would have just told us to wait or come back. We had breakfast included which was really nice and worth it. Big breakfast portions and restaurant looks onto the water. We saw spinner dolphins jumping in the bay across the street while we ate and service was v. good. This bay, by the pier which is a 2 minute walk is a great place for kids to frolic in safe waves and great snorkeling too. We saw a sea turtle and there were tons of fish. I just can't see why you would pay a lot more for another hotel unless you were staying for a week or more. But for a few days, this is just right for the price. My only complaint is that the beds in the standard double rooms are doubles, not queens so a bit small for two adults. Wi-fi in big comfortable lobby is just fine too, no need to pay for room access. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room 4th floor or above and at end of hallway to get an ocean view. We were in 4025 and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank finbarsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    504
    256
    56
    55
See reviews for
225
489
111
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

This hotel is a bit dated in appearance, but was clean and the staff were very friendly. For the price we paid for a room I cannot complain. It is in a good location, a short walk down to the water and many restaurants. I did find it annoying that we had to get a new wifi password each time we needed to use the internet, but at least they have wifi (free in the lobby area).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RalphyandHuey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great place to stay central, clean and comfortable. Would definitely stay again, if I just wanted a place to crash. Great internet access in the lobby, local restaurants and close to the pier.
Only negative is local attraction knowledge from the staff. It is minor but we had difficulty finding tour information and went to another hotel tour desk which was across the road but not much better.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbsalert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Great value if you want to be in the heart of Kona. Pool was nice to jump in after being in the ocean, my room had a ocean view but I think that is just luck!!
Staff were really friendly and location great. If you want a flashy hotel, go across the road to the Courtyard, otherwise, this is a great value property for anyone who doesn't spend heaps of time at the hotel!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keiran m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

If you are looking for a basic bedroom, this is it. Clean, limited view, an excellent breakfast. However, parking is limited to non-existant. Arrived after a 10 hour flight to be told "no more parking"--found out a concert was nearby, so suggestion was to park in the public lot--which was full. Desk clerk was no help, even tho there were empty parking places, we were told we could not park there because they were 'reserved'. Finally, a local security guard let us park next to his car and he called us when the concert was over and parking places became available in a public lot. (I think I had been awake for 24 hours by then!)
For us, the hotel's staff handled this situation with a very negative attitude ("I don't know where you can park"). We would not return nor recommend based on this attitude.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mspeed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

What is really great about the hotel is its location. It is very close to the oceanfront and centre of the village. There are many restaurants and shops very close to it, within couple of minutes of walking. One side of the hotel looks towards the pool and the street, the other side looks towards private gardens, shops and ocean. The balconies have nice size with a table and chairs, nice place to have breakfast and enjoy the mornings.
The room we stayed in had a fridge, TV, bathroom, balcony and view of the ocean. The room seemed to be clean with room service every day.
There were 2 PCs for internet in the lobby free of charge, wireless internet was for a fee.
A/C was quite noisy and right at the bed but it didn't bother us that much although when I switched it off, I realised how noisy it was.
Reception personnel was nice and helpful.
Free parking was also very close but there were parking spots right at the hotel for a fee.

I would say, that the location of the hotel is its main selling point.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank omehes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

OK, this is not a 5 star hotel, but what it lacks in amenities it makes up for in service and location. I stayed here on business for 5 days. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff is excellent. I found it convenient to everyplace I had to go. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers or those on a budget.

The hotel is family owned and they go out of their way to accommodate guests. I am giving it a high overall rating because of service.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool area are noisy. Ask for rooms away from the pool and the streets. Housekee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John-W010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing