We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dated but Nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dated but Nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

OK, this is not a 5 star hotel, but what it lacks in amenities it makes up for in service and location. I stayed here on business for 5 days. The hotel is clean and comfortable and the staff is excellent. I found it convenient to everyplace I had to go. I would recommend this hotel for business travelers or those on a budget.

The hotel is family owned and they go out of their way to accommodate guests. I am giving it a high overall rating because of service.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool area are noisy. Ask for rooms away from the pool and the streets. Housekee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John-W010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    504
    256
    56
    55
See reviews for
225
489
111
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pinehurst, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013

There are alot of good things about this hotel. I hate to pay a bunch of money just for a bed to sleep in. This place shows its age but is clean enough. It is located close enough so that you can walk to the shops on Ali'i and the pier is just down the street. We got up early for our free breakfast at the cafe and were treated to a show by the local pod of dolphins out in the bay. The pool was okay, although not heated

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor away from the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, CO
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here because ratings were decent and price was OK for a slightly late booking. High, hidden fees for parking took away much of the price advantage. It was a very small room, which was OK, but the window box air conditioner was placed to blow directly on our heads. It was not pleasant at all! Toast or freeze..... The location was handy for visiting Kona and for traveling the entire island. The pool was rarely occupied (very cold!) but pretty. If I were returning soon, I would stay elsewhere.

Room Tip: Maybe rooms booked earlier in relation to stay-date would be nicer......
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ginakLongmont_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here three nights in late April and was pleased with the cost, the room, and the amenities. The downtown location made it possible to walk to a lot of shops and restaurants around the bay.
The downside of this was the related traffic noise, which was loud if your window was open but barely audible if your window was closed and the air conditioner on. The room was nice, especially considering the age of the property. The front desk staff was friendly. If you plan on spending most of your days sightseeing, then this would be a great choice among. I would gladly stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on upper floors that are not facing the road are to be preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveinIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modena
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very kind and helpful, good free wifi in the lobby with computer available, guest laundry (wash and dry), silent and wide room. Good breakfast nearby. you can walk to reach downtown. A free parking is very close to the hotel. The pool is small and not in a good position.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciModena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were very happy with the Kona Seaside Hotel. The location is fantastic for easy access to beach, restaurants, shops and airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Elevators were fast. We purchased a breakfast plan with the room, and it was very convenient, tasty and filing. The only negatives were limited pool hours; could use darker curtains in the room - morning sun came way too early; a little bit noisy on street side rooms. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in March. The hotel has an excellent value, central location with easy access to the beach, restaurants, shops, two hotel pools etc. We had a nice and quiet room on the top 5th floor facing the garden and the ocean, great views in all directions. However, be aware that the rooms on the street side can be more noisy. The rooms are not luxurious but basic, spacious, clean and comfortable rooms with balconies, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, small fridge and coffee machine. There were also 2 Macs in the reception for free internet use. Parking was $5.00 a day but we used the free parking area just around the corner.

The staff were genuinely friendly. Breakfast was served at Splashers restaurant adjoining the hotel with good choices and a great view of the ocean. The restaurant is also a nice place to have supper in the evening. As a summary, this hotel is a safe, clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay at an excellent price, we enjoyed and would go again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean / garden side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,740 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing