We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,396)
Filter reviews
1,396 results
Traveler rating
343
628
298
59
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
343
628
298
59
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviews basic hotel rooms are clean the big island within walking distance front desk staff small fridge ceiling fan shops and restaurants stayed one night older hotel air conditioner per night close to the airport convenient location alii drive nice pool bit dated
Filter
Updating list...
753 - 758 of 1,396 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2013

There are alot of good things about this hotel. I hate to pay a bunch of money just for a bed to sleep in. This place shows its age but is clean enough. It is located close enough so that you can walk to the shops on Ali'i and the pier is just down the street. We got up early for our free breakfast at the cafe and were treated to a show by the local pod of dolphins out in the bay. The pool was okay, although not heated

Room tip: Ask for a room on the third floor away from the elevator
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here because ratings were decent and price was OK for a slightly late booking. High, hidden fees for parking took away much of the price advantage. It was a very small room, which was OK, but the window box air conditioner was placed to blow directly on our heads. It was not pleasant at all! Toast or freeze..... The location was handy for visiting Kona and for traveling the entire island. The pool was rarely occupied (very cold!) but pretty. If I were returning soon, I would stay elsewhere.

Room tip: Maybe rooms booked earlier in relation to stay-date would be nicer......
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginakLongmont_CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed here three nights in late April and was pleased with the cost, the room, and the amenities. The downtown location made it possible to walk to a lot of shops and restaurants around the bay.
The downside of this was the related traffic noise, which was loud if your window was open but barely audible if your window was closed and the air conditioner on. The room was nice, especially considering the age of the property. The front desk staff was friendly. If you plan on spending most of your days sightseeing, then this would be a great choice among. I would gladly stay here again.

Room tip: Rooms on upper floors that are not facing the road are to be preferred.
Date of stay: April 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveinIssaquah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very kind and helpful, good free wifi in the lobby with computer available, guest laundry (wash and dry), silent and wide room. Good breakfast nearby. you can walk to reach downtown. A free parking is very close to the hotel. The pool is small and not in a good position.

Date of stay: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FranciModena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were very happy with the Kona Seaside Hotel. The location is fantastic for easy access to beach, restaurants, shops and airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Elevators were fast. We purchased a breakfast plan with the room, and it was very convenient, tasty and filing. The only negatives were limited pool hours; could use darker curtains in the room - morning sun came way too early; a little bit noisy on street side rooms. I would stay here again.

Date of stay: April 2013
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews