We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We will stay here again”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Modena
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We will stay here again”
Reviewed May 3, 2013 via mobile

The staff is very kind and helpful, good free wifi in the lobby with computer available, guest laundry (wash and dry), silent and wide room. Good breakfast nearby. you can walk to reach downtown. A free parking is very close to the hotel. The pool is small and not in a good position.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FranciModena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    522
    261
    57
    56
See reviews for
239
499
116
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were very happy with the Kona Seaside Hotel. The location is fantastic for easy access to beach, restaurants, shops and airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Elevators were fast. We purchased a breakfast plan with the room, and it was very convenient, tasty and filing. The only negatives were limited pool hours; could use darker curtains in the room - morning sun came way too early; a little bit noisy on street side rooms. I would stay here again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in March. The hotel has an excellent value, central location with easy access to the beach, restaurants, shops, two hotel pools etc. We had a nice and quiet room on the top 5th floor facing the garden and the ocean, great views in all directions. However, be aware that the rooms on the street side can be more noisy. The rooms are not luxurious but basic, spacious, clean and comfortable rooms with balconies, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, small fridge and coffee machine. There were also 2 Macs in the reception for free internet use. Parking was $5.00 a day but we used the free parking area just around the corner.

The staff were genuinely friendly. Breakfast was served at Splashers restaurant adjoining the hotel with good choices and a great view of the ocean. The restaurant is also a nice place to have supper in the evening. As a summary, this hotel is a safe, clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay at an excellent price, we enjoyed and would go again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean / garden side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frogman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of a top to bottom renovation. The hotel was kept very clean and the staff was friendly, but this place is begging to be brought out of the 70's and into the new millenium. We paid $95.00 a night for a single queen room and the Marriott Hotel which was a stones throw away was charging $215.00. Seems to me that the owner's are trying to get every last dime out of the property before spending any on it. This place is ok, but basically you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

If you like to be with the locals and want something clean, safe, & cozy. This is your spot! The staff as well as the locals in general were very kind! Very attentive. Very helpful in other adventures you may want to discover. The breakfast choices are nothing like continental! More filling, more choices, & just a minute walk to the restaurant, "Splashers." The foliage on the grounds were absolutely beautiful! There is a nice walkway to the shops and pretty much downtown Kona! A perfect location! We plan to stay here our next visit!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Javonna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, New York, United States
Level Contributor
145 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a small hotel in a great location near the harbor, historic sights, and shops. It has true ALOHA spirit. Five star service! There were always two or three friendly and very helpful people at the front desk. The whole hotel is very clean and comfortable. It was a perfect as our home base to visit the many beaches and parks on the east coast. We stayed twice and the rooms facing the gardens had lovely balconies with partial views of the harbor. They were generous with upgrades and good, thoughtful advice. The breakfast included deal is well worth the money because food is expensive one the island. To sum it up, it has "basic Hawaiian" facilities as you can read but a FIVE STAR heart.

Room Tip: Garden rooms nice and quieter. reserve parking permit right away. They don't always have enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balfour, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed here many times. It's central location allows for easy access to the Kona Strip. The rooms are "basic Hawaiian" but do have air conditioning, a ceiling fan, small fridge and interesting blue shag carpet. There is also a drip coffee machine that allows you to try out the local coffee if you have your own filters. The staff is genuinely friendly in that laid back Hawaiian style. For a great meal check out Quinn's, directly below the front pool.

Room Tip: The tower has a great view from the back side, noisier on the front side. The garden view rooms offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itineranttravelers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,797 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing