We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Helpful Front Desk”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We were very happy with the Kona Seaside Hotel. The location is fantastic for easy access to beach, restaurants, shops and airport. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Elevators were fast. We purchased a breakfast plan with the room, and it was very convenient, tasty and filing. The only negatives were limited pool hours; could use darker curtains in the room - morning sun came way too early; a little bit noisy on street side rooms. I would stay here again.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

619 - 625 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in March. The hotel has an excellent value, central location with easy access to the beach, restaurants, shops, two hotel pools etc. We had a nice and quiet room on the top 5th floor facing the garden and the ocean, great views in all directions. However, be aware that the rooms on the street side can be more noisy. The rooms are not luxurious but basic, spacious, clean and comfortable rooms with balconies, air conditioning, a ceiling fan, small fridge and coffee machine. There were also 2 Macs in the reception for free internet use. Parking was $5.00 a day but we used the free parking area just around the corner.

The staff were genuinely friendly. Breakfast was served at Splashers restaurant adjoining the hotel with good choices and a great view of the ocean. The restaurant is also a nice place to have supper in the evening. As a summary, this hotel is a safe, clean, comfortable and friendly place to stay at an excellent price, we enjoyed and would go again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ocean / garden side are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frogman66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

This hotel is in desperate need of a top to bottom renovation. The hotel was kept very clean and the staff was friendly, but this place is begging to be brought out of the 70's and into the new millenium. We paid $95.00 a night for a single queen room and the Marriott Hotel which was a stones throw away was charging $215.00. Seems to me that the owner's are trying to get every last dime out of the property before spending any on it. This place is ok, but basically you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

If you like to be with the locals and want something clean, safe, & cozy. This is your spot! The staff as well as the locals in general were very kind! Very attentive. Very helpful in other adventures you may want to discover. The breakfast choices are nothing like continental! More filling, more choices, & just a minute walk to the restaurant, "Splashers." The foliage on the grounds were absolutely beautiful! There is a nice walkway to the shops and pretty much downtown Kona! A perfect location! We plan to stay here our next visit!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Javonna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

This is a small hotel in a great location near the harbor, historic sights, and shops. It has true ALOHA spirit. Five star service! There were always two or three friendly and very helpful people at the front desk. The whole hotel is very clean and comfortable. It was a perfect as our home base to visit the many beaches and parks on the east coast. We stayed twice and the rooms facing the gardens had lovely balconies with partial views of the harbor. They were generous with upgrades and good, thoughtful advice. The breakfast included deal is well worth the money because food is expensive one the island. To sum it up, it has "basic Hawaiian" facilities as you can read but a FIVE STAR heart.

Room Tip: Garden rooms nice and quieter. reserve parking permit right away. They don't always have enough...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We have stayed here many times. It's central location allows for easy access to the Kona Strip. The rooms are "basic Hawaiian" but do have air conditioning, a ceiling fan, small fridge and interesting blue shag carpet. There is also a drip coffee machine that allows you to try out the local coffee if you have your own filters. The staff is genuinely friendly in that laid back Hawaiian style. For a great meal check out Quinn's, directly below the front pool.

Room Tip: The tower has a great view from the back side, noisier on the front side. The garden view rooms offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Itineranttravelers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Central location with parking available outside for $5 per car (or you can park at the free public parking for free - short walk from hotel). Breakfast served at Splashers restaurant adjoining the hotel - good choices with lovely outlook.

No kettle provided. Wi-fi is free but only available in the lobby. Location can be noisy with busy roads next to the property however very close to airport (15 mins drive). Double beds were small.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MP_and_HG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $150 - $210 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing