We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good value!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Wakefield, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very good value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We stayed here for one night before going on to our rental house. It was perfect for what we needed. Centrally located, very clean and comfortable. It's in a very busy area but quiet enough. There is an ABC store right across the street. The breakfast at nearby Splashers was excellent! Don't hesitate to stay here, it's worth it!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpea1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    504
    256
    56
    55
See reviews for
225
489
111
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oahu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Kona Seaside isn’t a fancy resort hotel, nor does it pretend to be. After all, it’s where the locals stay… Nonetheless, I was surprised to run into an entertainer who is a household name in Hawaii who was staying there at the same time. I have stayed at a couple other properties in Kailua-Kona and really preferred this location. It’s easy to get in and out of town, and within walking distance to many shops, restaurants, not to mention the local farmers’ market where we bought fresh fruit and other goodies for breakfast on our lanai. (Our unit was equipped with a kitchenette and fridge which we made full use of.)

Our traveling companions raved about their early morning snorkeling adventures off of Kailua Pier which is just a few minutes walk away. And if you’re game to try stand-up paddle boarding, HYPR Hawaii Paddle Surf, is nearby for renting a board. The owner was fairly insistent on including a lesson, and even though it was on dry land, we all benefited greatly once we got our boards in the water. As a base for our daily adventures, the Kona Seaside was just fine. If you plan on spending most of your time in your room, better to stay in an upscale resort on the Kohala Coast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegaMaverick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

While nothing spectacular, it's a great deal, very clean, every room has a balcony, and it has a fridge and coffee maker. The place is run by nice locals, though not flashingly friendly, they know their stuff and take care of you. Great value

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdlandthelastshow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This hotel is just marginally better than a motel. I gave it four stars not for its facilities, but for its value.

We paid a little bit more than $100 per night for 2 people and got free breakfast. 2hours free wifi was not generous, but enough for us to check emails or book other activities when we were in Hawaii. also, it is 2hours per device!

The room was large and simple. Nothing to comment or complain. At least it was clean!! The bed sheets and bath towels were of standard quality (check my review on Royal Kona Resort).

They did have a poor and other facilities, but we certainly did not use. Two reasons: we only stay one NIGHT; and who go to Hawaii for a poor or spa or a tiny gym of a hotel?

Reception was friendly as we expected.

If you are on a budget or you dont want to spend big money just for a bed, go for it. Dont expect too much and you wont be dissapointed,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenviile
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Great hotel and location for the price. A little outdated but very clean. Parking is $ 5.00 on site or you can park up the road for free.
Didnt use the small ac unit as there was always a breeze. You can prop your door open for a few minutes and really feel the breeze.
They are building a bank across the street which is fairly loud in the morning so you want the back side on the near future

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaburgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, ND
Level Contributor
271 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I stayed at this location for just one night but it was relaxing and comfortable. My room's decor was rather outdated but it was clean and tidy. The balcony had a screen door so I was able to enjoy the sounds of the outdoors without having to worry about birds joining me in my room (I've had that happen at other hawaiian hotels). I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suzb_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Oh I liked this place, well located, close to the beach, parking, it was a large hotel. Rooms were quite nice, clean, the staff were helpful. It was the good place to stay overnight in the west coast, more than to stay for longer period.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maiklcz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,739 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing