We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place To Stay”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed for only one night, on our way home. Although the hotel is older, it is very well maintained and the staff were great. We've stayed in many hotels over the years and this has to be one of the cleanest (if not the cleanest) that we have every stayed in. It is very short walk to the waterfront and the stores and restaurants. We head a complimentary breakfast at Splasher's Grill which was excellent and much more than your typical continental breakfast. We certainly will be coming back in the future!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 766Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

650 - 656 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here just for one night while in kona. It is very basic accommodation. For the price i expected more. I actually stayed here 11 years before and not much had changed at all!!
Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sparklysuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I only stayed here 1 night but will certainly consider coming back. This is a quaint little hotel, it's a little dated but serves it's purpose. It's within walking distance to the beach, shops and restaurants. If you don't drive this is the place for you.

The staff is friendly and helpful. The only negative things I can say about this place is the pool is small but you have the big huge ocean nearby and the parking spots are very tight and there aren't very many.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandybeaches56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Kona Seaside for ten days. The location is fabulous... just steps from the pier and the beach, we could see the ocean from our room.

Located at the end of Alii Drive, we were a few minutes walk from dozens of quality restaurants and shops.

The rooms are dated, and need some TLC but the housekeeping staff did a great job keeping things clean and tidy.

Free lobby internet and computer access was nice and room access was available for a fee.

My only complaint was that the front desk staff did not seem to be very knowledgeable about the area, the island, or any of the excursions. On the upside they directed is to the concierge at the King Kam across the road and Dana, the concierge there was fantastic.

I would absolutely stay at the Kona Seaside again and would recommend it to anyone who is willing to sacrifice frills and decor for location and price.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirstan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

we stayed here three nights. we booked two double rooms with breakfast, so when we checked in one of the girls from the "friendly" staff didn't want to give us the breakfast..so we had to discuss about that fact. At the end you have three choices for breakfast in the restaurant next door: 1. just fruit with yogurth 2. macadamia/banana pancake 3. toast, bacon, sausages... its huge and tasty, coffee and water is for free.

rooms are okay, a little bit old and its very loud if you get a room to the street side.
bathroom is fine, towels are very small...furniture need a replacement.
free (slow) wifi is only available in the lobby, for the rooms is 9 dollar and car parking is 5 dollar (if you ask about the car parking - if not..you don't have to pay anything ;-) )

its okay for a short stay.

PS: I hope the constructions site opposite the hotel won't be here at your stay;-)

Room Tip: not on the street side...then it would be kona street-side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Hotel gives you what you pay for on the Big Island. We asked for 1st floor, and got 3rd floor. Stayed for 8 nights, and had a view of the street, not the garden. As expensive as things are on this island, I guess it was ok for the decent price. The lobby was the most comfortable place to sit, not the room. Don't pay for parking unless you are there over the weekend. The free lot nearby was easy to get to, and only got full on Saturday. Will probably look at other options next time, but the location is convenient...so it will still be an option. It was nice to have a laundry room, but apparently the staff bring their laundry in the morning, so plan to wash at night if that is a service you are going to opt for.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2013

We thought this place was terrible. Out dated. Front staff not friendly.
Yes, it is by the ocean and walking distance to great bars and restaurants.
It was part of a great Expedia hotel, airfare, rental car deal. No we see why.
A/C outdated. Wi-if only in lobby, or $8.95 a day in your room, plus parking $5.00 a day.
Our deal said "breakfast every morning " as well and there is none. In fact, no restaurant at the hotel at all. Towels in the room were small, thin, rough. And the bed sheets felt like paper towels.
Hotel has obviously renovated or given any tlc in a long time...!!

Room Tip: Don't have a room on the street! Heavy traffic and construction noise. A bank is going up on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
246 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,939 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $149 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing