We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best bang for the buck”
Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Pearl City, Hawaii
Level Contributor
50 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best bang for the buck”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Big room. Clean. Friendly staff. Real close to everything, in the heart of kailua-kona Everything is in walking distance. Good restraunts next to property. Splashers, Tantes and Quinns. Kona harbor (most ocean cruises) across street behind property. Shopping malls across street up road. ABC across street. Palace and church down road. Good price. Best value. Will stay here again on next trip to kona.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Troy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    532
    262
    57
    56
See reviews for
243
505
120
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
Level Contributor
149 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We were lucky we stayed in the garden side so it was quiet. Room is good size, clean and organized. The bathroom door wasn't working but it's not a big deal for us. AC was loud but tolerable since we got back and were dead tired to care about the noise. Location of the hotel was great since it's in the center so pretty much everything is walking distance. Their hotel towels are really small, so bring your own when you stay here. Parking is a little problem, since the lot was small. Wifi isn't free for the rooms so that's a downer. Pool is small too but the beach is about a block away so don't worry that much. Staff was very helpful. If you're looking for a luxury hotel this is not the place. But if you're looking for a basic hotel with a touch of aloha this is the place to be :)

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Kewihiku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Room was clean, but nothing special. Small lanai with no privacy. Nice lobby, fairly indifferent staff. Good location for walking into town, but at an intersection that was amazingly loud, even at night -- lots of trucks and Harleys to keep you awake. Got a good price for the room (which did not include the $5/night parking fee), and I'm glad I didn't pay more for it. You could do better, you could do worse.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the street as possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jamseattle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here frequently over the past ten years. It's a great locally-owned property in a prime location just across the street from the ocean. Shopping, restaurants, fast food all within easy walking distance.

Rooms in the Tower are spacious and some offer ocean views.The rooms in the older section are somewhat dated and small but very clean and comfortable. All have mini-refrigerators.

Great view from the deck next to the back pool. Friendly and accommodating staff with "aloha". Would suggest buying the optional parking pass to avoid the public lot a block away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ozone88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We opted for the breakfast included stay and it was not bad at all. There was a limited menu but nicely done and worth the extra price as breakfasts can be pricy in Kona. Hotel was good we had a room in the tower and it was clean and spacious. Again for the price quite acceptable.

Room Tip: looks like a room in the tower is the best bet for the money if you can get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank loveit45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton,ct
Level Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights,,,,The rooms were clean and friendly staffed,,,,,, Our room was right by the only ice machine,,,so every morning around 5 am we woke up to people getting ice to go off for the day.... so make sure your room is away from the ice machine,,,,They were nice enough to wave the parking fee for the Ice machine noise,,,House keeping was good!!!!,Mahalo,,,,,

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank saylesernest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed at the Kona Seaside Hotel for four nights in August, the location cannot be better for the price. Situated right near Kona Pier and a short walk from all the bars, restaurants and shops. My toilet cistern was leaking and it was repaired immediately. Tante's restaurant was great for breakfast looking out on to the water. The only matter of note were the pool towels, they were rather tiny!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Damien H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,823 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
13.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing