We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kona Seaside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kona Seaside Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was a good homebase for my daughter and I. We spent 3 days here, then went to Hilo, and spent 3 days here again. Beautiful Hawaiian lobby as pictured--nice to sit and cool off after shopping. Room 208 w/garden court has morning sun and can get warm if you don't pull the drapes. The garden view, quiet, and birds singing endeared us to this room. Room 3023 is nice too, cooler in the afternoon, on the street side, has a view of the front pool and parking lot across the street. We needed ear plugs to sleep. There is a Harley Davidson rental one block away, and some riders love to rev up. Each room had lanai with patio door. Good to sit and relax morning or evening. Everything nicely painted, wallpapered in neutral color, and clean. Lovely Hawaiian pattern square quilt frames on the walls. New looking carpets. Easy walking distance to everything. Tante's breakfast with ocean view started each day. The lovely musician who sings and plays the ukulele welcomes everybody. The wait staff are efficient. Maria is extra efficient but not always has a warm smile. She is busy and hurried. The receptionists and cleaning staff are great. We love Quin's fish and chips next door and the Kona brew pub. Will go again!

Room Tip: I think if you pay more, your rooms are more to the back, where it is quiet. There are two swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RetiredSecretary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    511
    260
    56
    56
See reviews for
234
492
114
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

Yes, as some of the reviewers have pointed out the hotel has a "worn" look and feel to it. However, I would be hard-pressed to find a hotel room as clean as the one we had. It was simple, decently appointed and close to everything. The pool area was nice to spend some time at. For the price of the hotel (including a very good breakfast) I'd say that this is a fantastic value. Just don't be expecting a 5 star hotel. Our friends stayed at the Mariott close by and saw our place. They paid significantly more for their room but if they had to do it over again, they'd stay here and save their money!

The only concern I have is that in today's age, the hotel room doors should have better security. My door was unstable when closed (you could give it a couple shakes and the door would pop open). There's also no secondary door stop security like a latch on the door. If I had one recommendation it would be to enhance room security.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face main road - extremely noisy due to traffic and obnoxious karaoke bar nearby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanuckChick13_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

For me, it's a nice little place, but honestly, we weren't at the hotel much. It was clean and cheap for us than hostels, so it worked out for us. Clean rooms, friendly enough staff, enough restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pahoa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2012

Long hallways, in this double level older motel, close to the heart of commerce, but lacking the real Hawaiian feel, could be anywhere USA once you are in the room. clean and easy to bad they don't have more parking

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
268 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

It's all right, but things seem a little run down. I feel like I've entered a set of a 50s TV show.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Excellent location, close to bay and restaurants. Two nice pools, deck with view of harbor.
Included breakfast very substantial. Free internet computers in lobby. Supermarkets, P. O. nearby. Kona Brewery, our favorite place to eat, a short walk.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hakalau, Hawaii
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

Old decor but not ratty or stained. Clean room. Most of desk staff friendly, but one not so much. Worth the money, but way less parking spaces than rooms! If it's full up, expect to park in the free municipal lot just south. If not, it's an additional $5 to park in the hotel's lot! After you already paid $100 or so for the room! If you book the kamaaina resident rate they seem to stick you in the low-rent section. Maybe it was coincidence. At least it seemed a little seedy, but I can't put my finger on what was different.

Room Tip: Be prepared for some road noise if your room faces them due to the older type of windows that "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
0.1 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.3 mi away
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
Uncle Billy's Kona Bay Hotel
#13 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
Wyndham Mauna Loa Village
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.8 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
6.1 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kona Seaside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kona Seaside Hotel

Property: Kona Seaside Hotel
Address: 75-5646 Palani Rd, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-1699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Kona Seaside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kona Seaside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kona Seaside Kailua
Hotel Kona Seaside
Kona Seaside Hotel Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing