We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“clean, well-maintained, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“clean, well-maintained, great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2006

We stayed at the Kanaloa at Kona for ten days. We had payed for ocean view, but when we arrived, our unit, though it definitely had an ocean view, was set pretty far back from the water. When we asked for a different unit, the staff was very helpful and courteous, and gave us a better condo without complaint. One thing to note is that apparently the two bedroom units are the closest to the water; the one bedrooms are recessed further back. Also, the "beach" is black volcanic rock, unsuitable for swimming, but if that's a problem, then perhaps you should reconsider the Big Island, because that's what an awful lot of the island is. Anyway, the staff and service were great, our condo was kept very clean, and the location was great, a little off the tourist track on Alii Drive but very close by. I highly recommend the Farmer's Market on Saturdays at the Keahou shopping center. We arrived on a Friday night and stocked up for a week with incredible, fresh tropical fruit, kona coffee and other produce (3 papayas for $1)! And the fish and chips at the Kona Inn...da kine! A great place to stay and I wish we were there now.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    245
    58
    43
    25
See reviews for
318
249
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2006

We stayed in unit 203 for 4 nights in March with our son and daughter-in-law and hope to return with other friends and family. The best condo experience we have had. Rented through Aloha Condos. Jim Dornfield, a condo owner, was very helpful, speedy in replies to inquiries and efficient in handling all details we needed to make this a wonderful vacation.

Condo was very well supplied and appointed includiing entertainment and beach equipment. Jim's personal reference guides to attractions and restaurants were up-to-date and thorough.

Wonderful site. 5 minute drive to fine snorkelling and sea turtles. Convenient to all services, yet away from the crush of the busier parts of Kona. We recommend having the AC activated for a March stay. We did and enjoyed it.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2006

We just returned from Kanaloa at Kona. It was exactly what I expected from the reviews. We rented from ---, Unit 3702. The condo was nice and big. The pictures on the website are very representative of what you get. The lanai was great, with a beautiful view of the bay. The only minor imperfection was you cannot see the sunset directly. They just put new carpet in the living room. There is a washer/dryer and a full kitchen. They keep beach towels, beach toys, beach chairs and even beach umbrellas in the unit for your use which was very helpful. There are 3 pools on property, 1 adults only, 1 family pool, and the ocean pool. They are not huge pools, but the ocean pool is very nice with the location on the ocean.

It is a quick ride to the Keauhou Shopping Center, which has everything you could want, from a reasonable grocery store, to a good pizza place, to an outstanding Japanese restaurant (on the pricier side but worth it). There is also Daylight Donuts, which has great donuts (they make them there), the best coffee (they get it from one of the great hotels), and great ice cream. If you want more shopping and restaurants, it is 15-20 minutes up to Kona. We found a great beach for the kids next to the King Kamemeha Hotel in Kona, very shallow, calm water. Not a huge beach, but great for younger kids. We had a great time and I highly recommend Kanaloa at Kona unless you want to be right in the middle of all the action or want a swanky hotel with room service.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2006

We stayed at the Kanoloa on Kona, Unit 2002 from April 13 - 18th. This was the best spot we've ever stayed at on vacation! Condo Unit #2002 is right on the ocean. Absolutely beautiful, full view of the ocean! It doesn't get any better than this condo on Kona. The condo was extremely clean and well stocked with pans, plates, etc. They have great new, clean BBQ grills at this complex. There were lots of beach & pool toys, towels, etc. for the kids. Our kids want to move to this condo on a permanent basis. The complex was very quiet and well maintained. The deck was very large and WONDERFUL! The sunsets were unforgetable. The pools were great! We went to the Hilton at Waikoloa after staying at this condo and found that we were much happier with the condo. Even our 9 and 12 year olds were happier with the condo. I am very hard to please when it comes to hotels and condos, but this one exceeded our expectations by far and I was more than thrilled by the condo. This is a GREAT place to stay!

Helpful?
16 Thank dotSaltLakeCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

We stayed here from March 25-April 1 2006. We had a wonderful experience here. We booked it through expedia and the only problem we encountered was that the oceanview condo we booked had been oversold. To compensate, they gave us three nights in a Fairway view condo and four nights in an oceanfront condo (an upgrade) and let us stay the last day until 6 pm and they waived the $50 late check out fee.

We stayed in #301 and # 3201. Both were nicely decorated. Because these units are owned by different owners, accessories varied. One unit had a VCR only while the other had a DVD player too. The oceanfront view was outstanding and we loved hanging out on the lanai.

There are three nice pools, one oceanfront, one in a central location and one for adults. All were large, comfortable water temperature with hottubs.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Having a security guard added confidence that my children (13 and 10) could wander safely.

The resort has tennis courts and provides racquets so you just need to bring balls or can purchase them for $4 per can. The courts were almost always open. Down the street is a pretty bay with kayak rentals of $25 for a day!

Shopping within a half mile including grocery store, drug store, coffee shop, donut shop, restaurants and cinema for added convenience. The resort is within five miles of the main tourist drag which we appreciated. It was less crowded and quieter.

We will definitely stay here again if we get back to the beautiful island of Hawaii!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank slhMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2006

We stayed 6 nights at the property in Unit 2902 from March 12th through 19th and enjoyed our stay immensely. We would not hesitate to stay here again, however instead of booking through a travel agency, we would try to book a specifc unit directly with the owner.

Thumbs up:
- The ocean view was fantastic.
- Breakfast/lunch meals on the lanai were spectacular.
- The location of the property is nearby a large shopping center which suited all of our grocery needs (not to mention the good restaurants).
- The property staff were always pleasant and helpful.
- Choice of 3 pools.
- Tennis courts were in good condition.
- The property is gated giving an extra sense of security.

Thumbs down:
- Extra charge for air conditioning ($15 per day).
- No VCR/DVD player in unit.
- No high speed internet connection in unit.
- Somewhat outdated kitchen appliances, interior decoraiton.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank slackerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2006

If you read these reviews you will notice one common theme. Units rented directly from the private owners are far superior. We stayed in unit #3004 "Solitude" which we rented directly from the owner's personal website. The condo was huge (2 bedrooms and a sleeping loft) and furnished very nicely with newer furniture, appliances, new TVs, DVD player, stereo, high speed Internet connection and very importantly - air conditioning. The view from the lanai was beautiful. After we reserved the unit online the owner sent us a guidebook of the island and gave us many tips of what to see. There was a slight problem with the cleaning people when we arrived but a phone call to the owner and things were quickly corrected.
As for the condo project itself, it is gated which gives you a secure feeling. It has several pool areas (the ocean pool was our favorite). Be advised there is no beach but there are not many beaches in this area. It is close to the Keauhou Shopping Center which has a very nice gocery store, a Longs Drugs, and several nice restaurants.
The condo project is about 30 or so years old so depending on how well they have been taken care of the condition will very greatly. We did tour a few other units that were for sale. Prices ranged from $750,000 for the back units to $1.5 million for the oceanview units.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rhirsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,766 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#27 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Property: Kanaloa at Kona
Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing