We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A great find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2006

We stayed here from March 25-April 1 2006. We had a wonderful experience here. We booked it through expedia and the only problem we encountered was that the oceanview condo we booked had been oversold. To compensate, they gave us three nights in a Fairway view condo and four nights in an oceanfront condo (an upgrade) and let us stay the last day until 6 pm and they waived the $50 late check out fee.

We stayed in #301 and # 3201. Both were nicely decorated. Because these units are owned by different owners, accessories varied. One unit had a VCR only while the other had a DVD player too. The oceanfront view was outstanding and we loved hanging out on the lanai.

There are three nice pools, one oceanfront, one in a central location and one for adults. All were large, comfortable water temperature with hottubs.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Having a security guard added confidence that my children (13 and 10) could wander safely.

The resort has tennis courts and provides racquets so you just need to bring balls or can purchase them for $4 per can. The courts were almost always open. Down the street is a pretty bay with kayak rentals of $25 for a day!

Shopping within a half mile including grocery store, drug store, coffee shop, donut shop, restaurants and cinema for added convenience. The resort is within five miles of the main tourist drag which we appreciated. It was less crowded and quieter.

We will definitely stay here again if we get back to the beautiful island of Hawaii!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank slhMinnesota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

802 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    431
    245
    58
    43
    25
See reviews for
318
249
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2006

We stayed 6 nights at the property in Unit 2902 from March 12th through 19th and enjoyed our stay immensely. We would not hesitate to stay here again, however instead of booking through a travel agency, we would try to book a specifc unit directly with the owner.

Thumbs up:
- The ocean view was fantastic.
- Breakfast/lunch meals on the lanai were spectacular.
- The location of the property is nearby a large shopping center which suited all of our grocery needs (not to mention the good restaurants).
- The property staff were always pleasant and helpful.
- Choice of 3 pools.
- Tennis courts were in good condition.
- The property is gated giving an extra sense of security.

Thumbs down:
- Extra charge for air conditioning ($15 per day).
- No VCR/DVD player in unit.
- No high speed internet connection in unit.
- Somewhat outdated kitchen appliances, interior decoraiton.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank slackerjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Prairie, WI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2006

If you read these reviews you will notice one common theme. Units rented directly from the private owners are far superior. We stayed in unit #3004 "Solitude" which we rented directly from the owner's personal website. The condo was huge (2 bedrooms and a sleeping loft) and furnished very nicely with newer furniture, appliances, new TVs, DVD player, stereo, high speed Internet connection and very importantly - air conditioning. The view from the lanai was beautiful. After we reserved the unit online the owner sent us a guidebook of the island and gave us many tips of what to see. There was a slight problem with the cleaning people when we arrived but a phone call to the owner and things were quickly corrected.
As for the condo project itself, it is gated which gives you a secure feeling. It has several pool areas (the ocean pool was our favorite). Be advised there is no beach but there are not many beaches in this area. It is close to the Keauhou Shopping Center which has a very nice gocery store, a Longs Drugs, and several nice restaurants.
The condo project is about 30 or so years old so depending on how well they have been taken care of the condition will very greatly. We did tour a few other units that were for sale. Prices ranged from $750,000 for the back units to $1.5 million for the oceanview units.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank rhirsig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2006

My mom and I decided to stay here in March 2006 after reading all the great reviews at Tripadvisor. MISTAKE! Firstly, we specifically requested an air conditioned unit, since I am pregnant. Before we got there, they made us believe it wouldn't be a problem, and once we were there they were not able to accomodate this request which made sleeping extremely uncomfortable- hot and sticky (in March!). The condo (#1602) was spacious, but very outdated and old- the stove took 20 minutes to boil water. The worst thing about this condo was the COCKROACH problem. One even crawled on my arm in the middle of the night. The front desk was not very responsive (they don't deal with this sort of thing on the weekend). And, it top it all off, our TV broke, and they did not replace it.

I highly recommend staying somewhere else. The Kanaloa is much too expensive for what you get. We've also been to the Outrigger Royal Sea Cliff- MUCH BETTER and CHEAPER. We only chose Kanaloa because the location was slightly better for us (closer to my brother's house).

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, VA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2006

My wife and I have been coming to Kanaloa for 20+ years, for a couple of months each winter to escape the cold, snowy winters in Western New York...
We always get an oceanfront unit, this year we had 2203 and as always, it was perfect. The unit was exceptionally clean, very well-appointed with Hawaiiana, which we just loved. Hearing the pounding surf at night is the reason we return to Kanaloa. It's location is ideal but we look forward to the new restaurant that will take place of Edwards which recently relocated to Kailua-Kona.We hate leaving but always look forward to our return. See you again next year!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kona2069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2006

We celebrated our Anniversary on the Big Island and completely enjoyed our 2 week stay in Kanaloa at Kona - unit 1603. It was all that we expected and so much more!! We whale-watched from our lanai while enjoying our morning coffee... the waves sang gentle lullabies as we fell asleep... the birds greeted us in the morning with their melodies... the golfers and kayakers entertained us... the sunsets amazed us!!

The condo is fully equipped with all the comforts of home, from laundry soap to oversize towels, from internet connection (if you must stay connected) to the largest walk-in shower we've ever seen. We never wanted to leave, and we're most defintely coming back!!

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2006

Date: Feb. 28, 2006
We spent 5 days in Unit 2106, which is billed as "ocean view". The condo exceeded our expectations. It was roomy, clean and well-equipped. Although it was a ground level unit, we had a nice view of the ocean, sea breezes and some spectacular sunsets. The condos are a short distance from the more "touristy" areas of Kona, so it was quiet, but still only a short drive from grocery stores, restaurants and entertainment. We'd go back in a heartbeat.

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,769 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#4 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#27 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Property: Kanaloa at Kona
Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing