We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The Outrigger Kanaloa was built in 1980; however, you'll think it was built in 1970. It has not been renovated ever. Each condo is individually owned by old people or investors, and they have little incentive to update the properties with new furniture, carpeting or the like. For the most part, this is fine. Although the bathrooms and kitchens are like a flashback to the 1970s and not very pleasant.

One key piece of advice: If you stay here do not book activities via the activities desk / concierge. The prices are 20-25% higher than booking directly with the vendors such as boating or luau companies. You can get the prices back to normal if you agree to a 2-3 hour time share sales pitch. But skip the sales pitch and purchase activities directly from the vendor.

Overall, I would stay here again because it's very inexpensive. We booked a 2-bedroom + loft unit with a fairway view for $160 / night. That gave us much larger accommodations than a similarly-priced room at the Sheraton next door. So I would stay here because the value for the money is decent. But if you do come here, do not expect luxury accommodations by any means.

Room Tip: Because this is a condo / time share property, each unit is individually owned by the elderly who ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CyberJEV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you for your comments. Yes, the property is an older one, but we take great pride in the upkeep of the 38 buildings, 3 swimming pools, 2 tennis courts, 5 BBQ grills and 17 acres of award winning grounds and landscape. You are correct that each unit is individually owned, and a lot of owners have completely upgraded their units throughout the property. Regarding the rate that you received, it is not one that I can identify. We do a unit grading in our rental program, but other units may not. You can always check with the front office if the decor is not to your liking, and possibly make a move to one that does (if you are renting through the Outrigger rental program). Mahalo and hope to see you on a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (829)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 829 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

The Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona is impressively beautiful, and the unit we had was right on the ocean allowing us to dine on the Lanai with the sun setting behind us and the waves crashing below us. The condo was well appointed though the kitchen gear wasn't in the best condition. We had some difficulty checking in late in the afternoon when the office was closed, but there was a phone to call security who was able to let us in into our unit and do a basic check-in. AC is an additional daily charge, and while we didn't originally plan to use it we did find it necessary during the day.

If you plan on grilling, keep in mind that the BBQ grills are shared and scattered throughout the property. We were able to find one with plenty of propane, but according to the security guard that is often not the case. You need to have a backup plan if you are going to grill, or at least check the propane level before you set your plans.

Finally, keep in mind that the Big Island is, in fact, big. Its over 2 hours to Volcanoes National Park, and about an hour and a half to Hilo. If you have a short time on the island and are hoping to do it all you may be better served staying closer to Hilo. There isn't much surrounding the outrigger in terms of shops, restaurants, or attractions but the view is really amazing.

Room Tip: Go for an upper level Oceanfront unit with a Lanai for a dinner you will never forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2014

Thank you for your comments, they are appreciated and I really like your last statement. Regarding the BBQ grills, they are all fitted with 2 thirty gallon propane tanks, and when one is empty, we switch to the full tank, and an order is placed to fill the empty. I am sorry to hear that the propane was a concern, I can assure you that it shouldn't be.
There is also a complete shopping center less than 5 minutes drive. At this center you have a variety of food outlets like Subway and L&L BBQ, Mexican, Italian, Japanese, Thai, Pacific Rim, and several Deli type quick eats, and all are very good. There are movie theaters (I am sure you could do a lot more than go to a movie while in Hawaii), drug store, grocery store, and several gift shops. Yes, Hilo is closer to the volcano national park. Hopefully we can meet on a return visit, thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We got a two bedroom oceanfront condo and were very happy to have plenty of space and 2 bathrooms. It was clean and convenient and right near the ocean. We enjoyed the grounds and gardens and the pools. The one near reception was open until 10 pm which was great after the manta night snorkel (which was fabulous). We found the spas a bit hot though. The location was good for food (shopping centre nearby) and the activities we wanted to do (snorkelling). I would stay there again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
5  Thank AussieAdventurer50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you for your comments, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here at Kanaloa at Kona. We look forward to a return visit someday soon. Aloha and Mahalo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We stayed three nights, these are individually owned condo's so the standard of furnishing could vary depending on the unit, but the one we had was huge, very clean and had views over a golf course and the ocean. The pools and hot tubs were clean as was the rooms and other facilities. Very happy with the stay and the value, there is a small shopping centre close by for supplies and the Thai restaurant there was really good too. Went on some great walks and the sunset is beautiful.

Room Tip: These are condo's so may vary, only some have ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cjae_act
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Mahaloa for your comments, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here at Kanaloa at Kona. Yes, the rooms here are large and has a lot to offer. We have a range of room types, view, and can accommodate a couple as well as a full family. Hope to see you on a return visit one day in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The owner of the unit made sure that we had everything that we needed. All you need to bring is your own groceries and the cheapest store in town is Sack and Save on Palani Road. Ocean front view and golf course view was amazing. Make sure that you book oceanfront at this resort. Nothing compares to hearing the waves crashing while you are having breakfast or lunch at the lanai. Resort staff was friendly and helpful. We checked in after hours and it was a breeze. Will definitely come back again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank rocelp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2014

Mahalo for your comments, we are happy to hear that you had a great time on the Big Island. We hope to see you on a return visit in the near future. Thank you once again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

These are apartments / condos on the south side of Big Island. About 2 miles from the centre of Kailua a pleasant but touristy resort. The complex has 2 pools one for kids and ample car parking close to rooms. I had an ocean view room which was very spacious. Living room, bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and two private balconies with distant Ocean views and afternoon sunshine. It was disappointing that service was not available, ( towel change, bedding change etc ) although there was a washer and dryer in the room. There is no restaurant on site and you need to drive 2 miles for food. There is no beach as it is volcanic rock but there are beaches close by. With the balconies and pools that was not a problem. Well organised complex with events arranged. Good value and great for families

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are nice for afternoon sun but trees etc mean little ocean view from the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Mahalo for your comments, we are happy to hear the you had a good time during your vacation here at Kanaloa at Kona. There are actually 3 swimming pools with hot tub or spa, it is a fairly large property (17 acres). There are several herb gardens, citrus trees (limes, lemons, orange, and grapefruit). Hopefully you will be able to visit again and enjoy the property and island. Thank you again for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This property was just lovely. Situated on the coast, with dramatic waves crashing against the lava. Like most of the places on the Big Island there is no beach. The property, although not a "luxury" resort, had three swimming pools, each with its own hot tub. Our favorite was the one overlooking the ocean, watching the sunset from the hot tub was a dream. The property was beautifully maintained, with landscapers working on it daily. There were two built in outdoor gas grills for community use and our family enjoyed playing ping pong. We discovered two interesting local markets. One is at the top of the hill called Keauhou Farmers Market every Saturday morning from 8am to 12noon - Keauhou Shopping Center, 78-6831 Alii Dr., Kailua-Kona, Hawaii. We were told there was another held in the parking lot of the Sheraton resort nearby but didn't make it there. We walked to the nearby cove at the base of Kamehameha III street, Nice little beach, good snorkeling in the cove and really enjoyed the stand up paddle boarding first thing in the a.m.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank desingerinDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 14, 2014

Aloha and Mahalo for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here at Kanaloa at Kona. We look forward to a return visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.6 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,958 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
3.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $180 - $398 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing