We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but dated”
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Reviewed January 5, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at the outrigger in December 2013. The grounds are very nicely maintained with three pools, the ocean pool seemed the most popular. It is very close to Keauhou shopping center which contains a few nicer restaurants (Sam Choy's, Kenichi pacific) and some take out places. In addition there is a grocery store to get food to bring back to the condo and eat. You can walk to the grocery store, but be prepared to walk uphill the entire way. It is in a quiet area as others have noted. We took the fairwind cruise and walked there, which was also convenient. Finally, I also enjoyed the path along the lava which leads to Keauhou bay if you walk south. Other nice amenities include a washer-dryer, full kitchen and 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms with a lanai that overlooked the pool and ocean.

The major drawback for me is that the condos looked like they were built in the 1980s and minimally updated since. Our unit at least had new carpet, but the kitchen and bathrooms were grossly outdated. Even some new caulk in the bathroom would be nice, or get rid of the nasty bidet.

Overall, for the type of trip we went on (family trip with 8 people), I would go back for the convenience of the kitchen, washer/dryer and spaciousness of the unit. I thought the grounds were very nicely maintained as well and the kids loved the pools when we were not in the ocean. However, the insides of our unit need some major renovations.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ERK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments, it is appreciated. It is good to hear that you enjoyed your time hear during your vacation. We will do our best to use your comments to make improvements. We hope to see you on a return trip one day soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (828)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 828 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

The condos are old with signs of abuse, carelessness and negligence. With the expensive rates that are charged, the condos are not maintained. Early 7 AM maintenance staff fixing doors and lawn maintenance makes it hard to sleep in, disregarding noisy neighbors and loud cars. There is no air-conditioning in most units so gets hot and muggy from 5 to 9 PM. Not worth the value so reserve at your own risk. Midnight thunderstorm leaked water all over in kitchen

Room Tip: None and good luck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikeusaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments, I am sorry to hear of your encounters here on property.
Our employees do not start until 8 a.m. (with the exception to Security). All employees are not allowed to use any power tools until after 9 a.m. With regard to noisy neighbors, we have security on duty 24 hours a day. Our quiet hours are from 10:00 pm to 7:00 a.m. daily.
Our property is one of the few that is not located along the main roads, and we have no through traffic. Air conditioning is not installed in every unit, it is the unit owner's choice to have it or not. Once again, I am sorry to hear of your bad experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

Our family had a 2 bedroom ocean front apartment on the ground floor for our stay at Kanaloa. Staff at reception and the information desk were friendly and knowledgeable and the grounds are beautifully maintained. We were happy with our unit - 1902. We stayed in December and found that we did not need the airconditioning (available at an extra cost). A shopping centre was a 15-20 minute walk or 2 minute drive from the complex and was very convenient for restocking supplies. Our family did not use the pools (though they looked great) - instead went to a "beach" (really volcanic rocks) adjacent to Pu'uhonua o Honaunau National Historic Park and went snorkelling. On one of our visits a pod of about 20 dolphins visited the bay and swam near us - magic!

Room Tip: Select ocean front for a fantastic view and meal venue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aquablue21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your excellent comments. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here at Kanaloa. We will look forward to your return someday soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed from dec 18th to the 29th in condo 2503...It was absolutly perfect..The resort itself is at the end of the road in a residential area , so the location is perfect...THe resort was well maintained , the pools were always clean, the gardens and foliage beautiful..We have travelled extensively and this is one of our favourite accomadaitons to date.. The condo we rented was privately owned, it had an amazing ocean view of sunsets,the surf etc..Ate all our meals out on the lanai ..The air conditiong was the quietest we have ever experienced!!
The owner Al, was very kind and allowed us a late check out the day of departure , which was very much appreciated...Overall I would definitely recommend this resort to a family, or couples...

Room Tip: Be sure to get accomadation with the ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank molson2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed the property druing your vacation. We hope to see you on a return trip someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

After we found out that the Outrigger Hotel down the road was shuttered and slated for demolition, we had to look for alternative accommodations. We stayed in a two bedroom/two bath condo and it was gorgeous. The condos were probably built in the 80s but they are beautifully maintained and everything was in good running order. We paid extra for a unit with AC, which is useful if you want/need to spend time indoors during the day. There is free wifi in every unit. There are three pools including an ocean pool and a pool for adults only. There are also tennis courts. A small beach is within easy walking distance. The personnel are exceptionally nice and helpful. We spent 10 gorgeous, relaxing days there and will definitely be back!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank kmunger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for you comments, it is nice to hear that you had an enjoyable vacation during your stay with us. We will look forward to a return visit in the near future. Mahalo again for taking the time to comment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We had a ocean view and the place was well kept and quiet except for a few birds in early morning. Nice little walk up to the local grocery store. Very chill place. Great for families! I didn't really see many beaches at condo place,was mostly rocky at the condo location but if you drive a short distance you can find some nice white sand beaches.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Jlforce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you had a good time during your stay with us. We hope to see you again in the near future for a return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed in unit 2601 available through Flipkey or VRBO and not part of Outrigger. We noticed a wide variety of finishing as is common when properties are privately owned. We were happy that our unit had neutral tile through out compared to the high pile carpet in bright colors that other units had.

The location of this complex is great... at the end of a dead end residential road. This was really quiet. We had an ocean front view and could see whales and dolphins in the ocean as we ate breakfast.

There are many recreational opportunities within the complex and nearby. Many snorkelling tours leave from keahou bay which is just around the corner.

We would definitely stay in this complex again.

Room Tip: Look for an ocean view with central AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed the property during your vacation. Hope to see you on a return trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.6 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
1,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,937 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.7 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#11 of 36 in Kailua-Kona
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $179 - $377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing