We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Spot”
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Taupo, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stunning Spot”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom ocean front lanai which was perfectly situated with the waves crashing against the rugged coastline outside out balcony. Had all the comforts of home, kitchen, laundry, ensuite bathroom and family bathroom. 3 swimming pools to choose from, BBQ across the lawn from our condo. Condo was not air conditioned but could be requested. Would definitely go back to this resort again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eclairtaupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha and thank You for your comments, we will look forward to see you on your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

814 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    253
    58
    44
    25
See reviews for
325
252
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Soldiers Grove, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Once you figure out that you are, in fact, in the right place (our GPS said "you've arrived," but there were no signs) you'll feel right at home here. Our ocean view condo (#2106) was clean and had everything we could ask for including a full kitchen with dishwasher, washer/dryer, lofted master bedroom with master bath, open living room and dining area, 2nd bedroom, main bathroom, and 3 lanais (balconies, for those of us not from Hawaii). The lanai off the living room had a full size patio table and chairs and a wet bar. There is a grocery store right at the top of the hill, so we took advantage of the kitchen utensils and bought some items to make our own breakfasts and snacks. The family who owns the condo even left a welcome letter on the wall, telling us about the books and things (like board games, snorkel gear, tennis equipment, etc.) that they keep around the place and which we were welcome to use. The property had a couple pools including one oceanside and one "adults only." We visited the "adults only" one a couple nights to relax a bit before bed, but there isn't anyone around to enforce this unless you leave the pool and trudge to the security gate, I suppose. So there were a couple instances of kids being in there, even with their adults. Another thing I would have changed is that this adults pool is right next to the tennis courts, so it's not all that peaceful. We did NOT opt for the air conditioning (which is an extra charge), but we had the patio doors open for the breeze and the ceiling fans on at night and we were all very comfortable, even with it being 80-something outside. The sounds of the waves were heavenly and truly relaxing to fall asleep and wake up to! The ocean is literally steps away, but don't think you will be sitting on the beach or swimming here...it's all hard, pointy lava rock. HOWEVER, this property is about a mile away from Kahalu'u Beach Park, which I would recommend if you want to sit in the tide pool with some beautiful sea turtles and snorkel with a LOT of brightly-colored and very friendly fish. The Kona shopping area is not too far and the coffee plantations are just up the road. Overall, this was a great location and a great choice for lodging in Kona. We would definitely stay here again if given the opportunity.

Room Tip: The ocean view is worth it, especially for the breeze and the sound of the waves all night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2Dnc247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments. We have recently installed a phone at each of the 3 swimming pools that calls directly to the security for emergencies. We do not have a lifeguard at any of the pools but we do routine secuity checks through out the day/night. Security is reachable 24 hours a day.
Kahalu'u beach park is probably one of the best snorkel spots in the State, and you will see almost every reef fish that is common in Hawaii.
Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to see you on a possible return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensburg, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

My family and I checked into a 2 bedroom oceanfront room with air conditioning. Our lanai was only about 30 feet from the ocean with a spectacular view. The room was well appointed, with every thing we needed. I should note that you must request air conditioning if this is an necessity. I believe that most of the condos are individually owned, so if you receive on that is not up to standard, just go to the front desk and request a new one. This happened to my in-laws, the moved du to an noisy air conditioner. We did not have a lot of interaction with the staff, but they were very friendly and helpful. Each unit has it's own covered parking spot, which makes getting into the car cooler. We will stay here again when we return.

Room Tip: Get the oceanfront...you're in Hawaii.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us, and we look forward to a return visit in the near future. Your comments will be used to better our services. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ozark, Missouri, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Traveling far away from home is always stressful...where do you stay? Which reveiws do you believe? I am here to tell you that I would stay here again in a heartbeat! Our condo was right next to the Ocean Pool. Our view was amazing. The accomodations were outstanding. We selected this place from a list an agent gave us...we ended up booking our whole trip on our own rather than through using the agent...room was still the same price but we saved over $700 on other things! The Outrigger exceeded our expectations-we only wished we stayed here the whole week rather than 3 nights...we moved up to Volcano to a VRBO (which was also very good) and we would have stayed the whole 2 weeks on this island rather than island hop if we had only known how great it was going to be!

I can not believe how quiet it was....there was no noise from any other rooms, the pool was almost deserted and the waves crashing on the lava rock was so amazing. Our beds were comfortable and the condo was clean. I enjoyed having laundary facilities as well as a safe-free of charge. We traveled with children and it was kid-friendly. My kids swam in the two pools for children (we did not see the adult only pool) and they played ping pong at the pool by the office. The grounds were neatly kept and beautiful.

We did not have any issues whatsoever and if I ever return to the Big Island I will request this room again. When I travel again, I will see if there is an Outrigger where we are headed...I will be a customer for life! Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: Pay the extra for an ocean view!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookings, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Kanaloa at Kona is a beautiful complex. The design is such that the ocean views are private and spectular. Their are three pool with one designated as an adult pool. When we visited there was a youth baseball tournament and the youth were allowed to take over the adult pool in the evening and the oceanside pool the next day. I feel the property should have contained them to the main pool as I seriously doubt they cared they were oceanside to play Marco Polo. Overall very clean, secure and beautiful. I would recommend it to a fellow traveler.

Room Tip: I would definitely recommend expanding your travel budget to include an ocean front room. It is so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments, I appologize about that incident regarding the pools. The main pool was closed due to an emergency treatment and the two other pools were open to everyone. Thank you again, and we are hopeful to see you on a return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We came for our honeymoon and were wowed by the condo. Marble counter tops, rainfall shower, elegant island decor, a kitchen stocked with all appliances and gadgets, even snorkels, coolers, sunscreen, bug spray and binoculars for watching the dolphins and outrigger races. I would wager that 3104 is better than all the hotels on the strip in Kailua-Kona. The grounds are lush and immaculately maintained. They must have 20 gardeners, maintenance people and security guards on staff to keep it so lovely. The owners of the unit left a binder full of information that really helped us orient ourselves to the island, including nearby public beaches and restaurants. And truthfully the guidebook and maps they left on the coffee table made the trip. Much better than the Fodor's we brought with us. Once we opened the fridge and saw a complimentary six pack of local beer waiting for us after 18 hours of traveling we became lifelong fans. I can't imagine staying anywhere else on the Big Island after that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessicaP189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

My friend and I booked a condo here for a three night stay in May . The checkin was easy and the condo was lovely. We had a golf course view with a partial ocean view. I loved sitting on our lanai and having coffee in the morning listening to the birds and looking upon all the lush landscaping.
The unit was very clean and well maintained , quite spacious and well stocked with all you need.
The twin beds were very hard and not comfortable but the king bed in the master was fine.
The only bad thing I can say is we had to pay 26.00 per day for the key to run the a/c. And the A/c unit was inside the living room in a closet which made it very noisy if you were watching tv, which we did for about 15 minutes a day so it was not a big deal to us.
The pools are well kept though surprisingly small for a big complex , yet they were not crowded at all. Close to town , shopping and beaches so it was very convenient.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to choose a golf course view its so tranquil and you can walk down to the ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soarinval12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Sincerely appreciate the comments. Each unit in the complex is individually owned, and not all of them are equipped with air conditioning. The fee for the use of air conditioning is paid directly back to the owner to off set their unit’s electricity costs. At this time Kona has one of the World’s highest costs for electricity.
You are right that our location is convenient, yet off of any main roads. All types of shopping, variety of restaurants, and even movie theaters are 5 minutes away. We also have the best neighbors, Pacific Ocean, and a golf course. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
31.2 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
59.8 mi away
Grand Naniloa Hotel Hilo - a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#9 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
2,860 reviews
27.6 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Property: Kanaloa at Kona
Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 36 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing