We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Baker City, Oregon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

This is the second year we have stayed at the Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona. The staff are amazing and always so helpful and friendly. Everything about the resort is wonderful - we stayed in unit 2703 this year and the ocean front view is perfect. Every day we were able to watch whales from the Lanai This unit fit all our needs for 6 people and we were very comfortable. Our only concern is that the unit desperately needs painted and new carpet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BakerCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments, we have forwarded it to the owner. We use comments to assist us to better service our guests. We hope to see you again in a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

771 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    238
    56
    36
    20
See reviews for
299
243
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Our stay at this resort was perfect and amazing!!

Upon our arrival, although no one had been to the front desk, doorman gave us the keys with basic instructions. After coming to our condo we were surprised by this beauty. As the overall look and spectacular views from Lanai.

We would definitely like to return in the future!!!!

Room Tip: Condo 2301 is close to Ocean Pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomasJanik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. It is nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay and may be returning again. We will look forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We have just returned from our second stay at Kanaloa at Kona Unit 2904. This one bedroom unit has a wonderful ocean front view. Sleeping at night is never a problem as the site is quiet, secure with someone always on the gate at night. Waking every morning to the sound of tropical birds can't be beat! The grounds are immaculately kept.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen-Van-Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Nice to hear that you enjoyed the property, we hope you will be able to make a return visit in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Myself and 6 members of my family stayed here in Aug 2012 and had the use of 2 units during our stay. The standard of both units were out of this world, extermely comfortable, every amenity you could wish for and masses of space to relax after a long day exploring. Both of our units overlooked the golf course, which was a very nice view.

We did use one of the pools while we were there and we found these to be of a very good standard.

This resort is in a great location and is only a short drive from great shopping and restaurant locations.

I really could not recommend this place more highly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Kanaloa at Kona. We hope you will visit with us on a return trip???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed two years in unit 2002 and one year in 1901 and enjoyed both units. Unit 2002 is right on the water and we saw whales everyday as well as dolphins and great sunsets. This property has a great location in that you can walk to the beach, shopping, movies and restaurants yet you are really out of the way. It is very quiet and well kept. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and it has been a joy to stay there. The unit is bright, clean and well furnished. It is well stocked with beach equipment, kitchenware etc. all making our stay very easy and fun.

Room Tip: check out the pictures on the website. Some are designated ocean view and some ocean front. The oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family and I stayed at Kanaloa Condo 3702 in January of 2013. I would not recommend anybody stay at this condo in its current condition.
First the positives. The unit is a very large condo located on a rocky shoreline with a wonderful view of a small bay on the west side of the big island. The view from the lanai is wonderful. If all you expect is a great lanai to sit on and watch the waves, this is the condo for you. If you have a little higher expectation read on.
The negatives were cleanliness, maintenance and bugs. When we first took occupancy, the place was full of little ants and roaches. They were everywhere, on the kitchen and bath counters, in our beds, soon in our clothes and bags, everywhere. My wife just about moved out. I relayed this situation to the manager on Saturday who promised to have the place sprayed on Monday, well, we couldn’t wait that long. I had to spray 2 cans of Raid Ant Killer around the place to control the population of ants. Cleanliness was also poor. There was black mold all over the ceiling of the master bath shower, there were mystery stains behind the toilet and on the wall, it looked like a better cleaning service was needed. Lastly, there was a bunch of deferred maintenance on the place. The master tub was broken, with a sign on it saying don’t use, repairs in progress. It was a pretty old dog eared sign, I don’t think the tub will be fixed any time soon. It isn’t that I take a bath every day, I am a shower guy, but for the money we paid to rent the unit, I expect more than a sign saying that the tub was broken. The microwave was broken, I could go on and on. There were lots of little things that were broken, holes in drywall, etc. This unit was a once glorious unit that has fallen on hard times. The current owner obviously doesn’t want to put a dime into maintenance. If you have low expectations and don’t expect much more than a great view from the lanai, this is the place for you. If your wife freaks out at ants in her bed, consider another place to rent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GreginAlask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Each unit is individually owned and the owner has a choice with whom they use to rent, maintain, and manage their unit. Unfortunately this unit is not in the Outrigger rental program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very clean well maintained resort. Highly recommended for a comfortable, home away from home vacation. Ideal for familiies. Our favorites - tennis court and ping pong tables, the 3 very clean and relaxing pools and the BarBQ areas which we used nightly

Room Tip: Ocean front condo's have amazing views. Look for one without carpeting if possible - we had cera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed the property. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.6 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Kona Seaside Hotel
Kona Seaside Hotel
#5 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
0.4 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,448 reviews
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Property: Kanaloa at Kona
Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Vacatia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing