We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location and stunning units” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Wednesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great Location and stunning units”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Myself and 6 members of my family stayed here in Aug 2012 and had the use of 2 units during our stay. The standard of both units were out of this world, extermely comfortable, every amenity you could wish for and masses of space to relax after a long day exploring. Both of our units overlooked the golf course, which was a very nice view.

We did use one of the pools while we were there and we found these to be of a very good standard.

This resort is in a great location and is only a short drive from great shopping and restaurant locations.

I really could not recommend this place more highly.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time here at Kanaloa at Kona. We hope you will visit with us on a return trip???
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    240
    56
    38
    22
See reviews for
305
245
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed two years in unit 2002 and one year in 1901 and enjoyed both units. Unit 2002 is right on the water and we saw whales everyday as well as dolphins and great sunsets. This property has a great location in that you can walk to the beach, shopping, movies and restaurants yet you are really out of the way. It is very quiet and well kept. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and it has been a joy to stay there. The unit is bright, clean and well furnished. It is well stocked with beach equipment, kitchenware etc. all making our stay very easy and fun.

Room Tip: check out the pictures on the website. Some are designated ocean view and some ocean front. The oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chicubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

My family and I stayed at Kanaloa Condo 3702 in January of 2013. I would not recommend anybody stay at this condo in its current condition.
First the positives. The unit is a very large condo located on a rocky shoreline with a wonderful view of a small bay on the west side of the big island. The view from the lanai is wonderful. If all you expect is a great lanai to sit on and watch the waves, this is the condo for you. If you have a little higher expectation read on.
The negatives were cleanliness, maintenance and bugs. When we first took occupancy, the place was full of little ants and roaches. They were everywhere, on the kitchen and bath counters, in our beds, soon in our clothes and bags, everywhere. My wife just about moved out. I relayed this situation to the manager on Saturday who promised to have the place sprayed on Monday, well, we couldn’t wait that long. I had to spray 2 cans of Raid Ant Killer around the place to control the population of ants. Cleanliness was also poor. There was black mold all over the ceiling of the master bath shower, there were mystery stains behind the toilet and on the wall, it looked like a better cleaning service was needed. Lastly, there was a bunch of deferred maintenance on the place. The master tub was broken, with a sign on it saying don’t use, repairs in progress. It was a pretty old dog eared sign, I don’t think the tub will be fixed any time soon. It isn’t that I take a bath every day, I am a shower guy, but for the money we paid to rent the unit, I expect more than a sign saying that the tub was broken. The microwave was broken, I could go on and on. There were lots of little things that were broken, holes in drywall, etc. This unit was a once glorious unit that has fallen on hard times. The current owner obviously doesn’t want to put a dime into maintenance. If you have low expectations and don’t expect much more than a great view from the lanai, this is the place for you. If your wife freaks out at ants in her bed, consider another place to rent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GreginAlask
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Each unit is individually owned and the owner has a choice with whom they use to rent, maintain, and manage their unit. Unfortunately this unit is not in the Outrigger rental program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

Very clean well maintained resort. Highly recommended for a comfortable, home away from home vacation. Ideal for familiies. Our favorites - tennis court and ping pong tables, the 3 very clean and relaxing pools and the BarBQ areas which we used nightly

Room Tip: Ocean front condo's have amazing views. Look for one without carpeting if possible - we had cera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed the property. We look forward to a return visit in the near future. Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

If it weren't for the view, I'm not sure I would have enjoyed this location very much. Our unit was rather tired and the carpets were in desperate need of replacement. It was, however, enormous and the view was stunning. The grounds are clean and the ocean pool is a wonderful location to relax. I walked along the rock shoreline for a bit to take pictures of the surfers. The units around the ocean pool seemed to be in much better condition than was ours. No AC in our unit and it got very, very warm. Our daughter could barely sleep in the loft, it was so warm up there, even with 2 fans going. I highly recommend renting their AC units (though am not sure of their cost or availability). Also recommend ocean front. Not sure what other view there are!

Room Tip: Ocean front is the best, but the noise of the surf may keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aig63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Yes, the view is pretty nice there. We have forwarded your comment to the owner and changes have been done. I am sure if you make a return trip, you will be pleasantly surprised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rupert, Idaho
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Beautiful, clean property. Great location near town without being in the middle of too much activity. We had golf fairway views, but the ocean was nearby, with beautiful views. A beach would have been terrific, but it was still wonderful. We rented two two-bedroom condos for a three generation family vacation and loved it all. Each condo had its special perks, including beach chairs, a small cooler, a boogie board, etc available for use. My only complaint would be lack of wi-fi service at our condo (although the other one had it) and a fee to print from the computer in the lobby (seemed a little unnecessary since we had already paid over $3,000 for the rooms). It would have also been nice to know exactly what size beds were in each condo, since each one was different and due to the number of families sharing the facilities it would have helped us decide in advance who would stay in each one. I would not hesitate to stay here again. It was great!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chuck o, General Manager at Kanaloa at Kona, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Aloha and thank you for your comments, we have since upgraded our wi-fi service and provide high speed "roadrunner" internet service FREE. Also all units have a wireless router for interior use. We also installed wireless service at all 3 swimming pool areas. We are glad that you had a good time during your vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon Saskatchewan
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

We stayed for the first week in December of 2012 in the ocean front, loft suite (amazing!) Can't say 1 negative thing about it! The suite was so much fun! Loved the lanai with the wet bar and the pools. The staff was friendly and helpful. The grounds were absolutely beautiful...lush and manicured. The kitchen was fully equipped and we opted to get the air conditioning ( for $15 a day) which was a good idea. The bedrooms were in the back of the suite...just far away from the roaring ocean to hear it enough to sooth you to sleep.
Really liked having the option of daily maid service or just have them bring you new towels.
Brilliant! Close to everything.
Our stay on the Big Island was extra special because of staying here.
Will rent condo # 2204 the next time we go back...sooner rather than later...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank al0ha6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.6 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,631 reviews
3.0 mi away
Castle Kona Bali Kai
Castle Kona Bali Kai
#15 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Property: Kanaloa at Kona
Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing