We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A must stay place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kanaloa at Kona to your Saves list
Kanaloa at Kona
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Certificate of Excellence
Kamloops, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must stay place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

An absolute jewel! Well groomed and clean resort, conveniently located right on the surf, and far off the main road enough to cut out all noise, yet close enough to all the activities and fun. Plenty of fun to be had on site too, the great pools, tennis court, ping pong table; a concierge to help out organize activities and tours (and they do have fabulous companies that they deal with: our night snorkeling/kayaking with manta rays company was not just the cheapest but they were absolutely awesome, and just down the road!); loads of flowering bushes and trees, birds of all kind come sing you awake in the morning and geckos warming themselves on your deck! Spacious condos, well appointed and taken care of, a small paradise on the big paradise that is the Big Island. Great for all kinds of vacation, families, couples, groups, etc..

Room Tip: room service should read not applicable as we had rented a personal condo, not a room in the resort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    415
    236
    55
    34
    19
See reviews for
294
238
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Stayed here for one week late November 2012. This was our third stay at an Outrigger Condo Resort (previously stayed at Outrigger Napili Shores the week before as well as October 2011). Despite the fact Napili Shores and Kanoloa are both managed by Outrigger, they are managed differently. For example, Napili Shores guests receive housekeeping services every 3 days but Kanaloa housekeeping services are strictly on demand basis. If you want your sheets changed, you have to ask; if you want clean towels, you have to ask, etc.

Pros:
• recently renovated spacious condo unit with new kitchen appliances was a steal at $115 per night.
• laundry appliances in the unit were a big plus.
• condo management was quick to respond to any issues we had although they never did repair a sticky shower faucet problem.
• good location, quick access to highways and close to Kona but away from madness of Alii Drive.
• great snorkelling in the bay at Pu’uhonua o Honaunau (30 min drive from condo).

Cons
• kitchenware items were generally cheap quality. Some were grungy and should have been replaced l-o-n-g ago.
• although the condo had the capacity to sleep four people (one bedroom and a living room hide-a-bed), the condo was furnished for only two people (tiny dining table only seated two people and there were only two high seat bar chairs). We registered as three adults and should have had a unit that was furnished for more than two.
• sleeping was frequently interrupted because of people allowing doors to the adjoining condo units and the gates to the nearby pool to slam shut. It seems this condo complex never heard of rubber/sponge button pads that stick on door stops to dampen the noise when doors are slammed.
• the condo didn't seem ready for us because the unit wasn't supplied with a dust pan or enough toilet paper, tissue and towels for a week's stay by three guests.
• shower faucets didn't work properly (washers/o-rings needed lubrication thus hard to turn) and water wasn't hot (just very warm).
• and, get this…upon checking out the front desk would NOT print our airline boarding passes! We've never had a hotel, condo, whatever, refuse to print boarding passes for exiting guests. The previous week, Napili Shores (also an Outrigger Resort) was more than happy to print our boarding passes when we checked out.

Because the unit was modern, very spacious, clean and had a great view we overlooked the several little annoyances that should have been addressed before we checked in. Unfortunately, the refusal to print our airline boarding passes left a bad impression with us.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank westyfree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation in Kanaloa 3104. The condo was spacious and well appointed. There were all of the usual amenities (cookware, dishes, linens) and many others that were an appreciated bonus, like beach gear, snorkel gear, picnic coolers, etc. (we added a couple of swim noodles to the beach locker! ;o).

The kids loved eating breakfast on the lanai overlooking the ocean every morning and I enjoyed watching sunsets with a cocktail from there as well!

Location was great, close to Keauhou shopping center for groceries and restaurants (highly recommend Kenichi Pacific) and also just a couple minutes from Kahalu'u Bay, the beast beginner snorkeling on the island. It was the kids first time snorkeling and this was the perfect place for them to get their feet wet :o).

We are all looking forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at two of the condos at Halii Kai in April 2012 - one ocean view and one fairway view - and loved our time there despite some elements that would deter some.
The views from the ocean view were incredible - you could sit on the lanai for hours and watch the ocean and its inhabitants (and kayakers/ paddleboarders). The fairway view wasnt spectatcular but was still a great outlook.
The grounds are beautiful - well maintained, established gardens that epitomise the feel of the tropics, and right on the ocean.
There are also great (core) facilities - pools, tennis courts etc. However, if you want a hotel with bars and restaurants etc you will be disappointed.
The interiors vary - according to owners,so as many of these reviews suggest, it is helpful to request a particular room. The two we stayed in were both roomy (say 1400sq ft) and comfortable with Hawaiian style furniture. But as mentioned elsewhere, theacoustics of the building were poor, and the kitchens can be dated.
So, it depends what you want. If you want an escape where you are happy to cook, and stay/ relax in a serene environment, close to water and not too far from town, then Kanaloa is perfect. If you want 6 star, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in a ground floor 1 bedroom unit with ocean view. We were right behind the ocean-side pool. The unit was very spacious & comfortable and the ocean view deck was raised above the level of the walkways and screened by foliage. We ended up having drinks on our deck rather than going out! The one criticism is that since the bedroom is on the back of the unit it was noisier from cars driving into the resort (parking is all on the back of condos) and the headlights were annoying at night. Overall though it was a great place to stay: away from the real tourist area of Kailua but just a few minutes drive to get there if needed. The Keahou shops are within walking distance (so long as you don't have a lot to carry back!), and have a very adequate grocery and a Longs Drug. We stocked up at Costco which is about 10 mins drive north. There is an ocean side walk (lava rock) leading to the adjacent golf course. We walked about a mile north along the path/edge of the golf course and in front of neighboring resorts. Rugged in places but nice to be by the ocean.
Our best experience was swimming in Kealakekua Bay (Captain Cook monument bay) where we
had spinner dolphins all around us. Good snorkeling near the monument.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2502.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stevelynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in Condo #1804 for 4 nights and it was a wonderful experience. The condo is located right on a rocky beach and we had wonderful waves and beautiful sunsets. Loved watching the boats go by. The condo has everything you need for a great stay and even furnishes beach equipment and towels. The owner, Kathy, was very accomodating and did eveything she could to make our stay wonderful. The condo is located close to a small shopping center with a grocery store and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMurphy211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a beautiful oceanfront resort with three lovely swimming pools and tennis courts. Surrounded by swaying palm trees and perfectly maintained tropical gardens. Condos are fully equipped with everything you need. The spacious lanais are ideal for family dinning, watching dolphins and enjoying the sunsets. This is our second visit - and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different condos here and each had a wonderful private oceanfront location. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
5.6 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,412 reviews
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 stars 2,490 reviews
4.7 mi away
Kona Reef Resort
Kona Reef Resort
#6 of 33 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 stars 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Property: Kanaloa at Kona
Address: 78-261 Manukai Street, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotwire, Otel, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing