We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Waterfront Condo” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kanaloa at Kona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kanaloa at Kona
Certificate of Excellence
Glendale, CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Waterfront Condo”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

We had a wonderful vacation in Kanaloa 3104. The condo was spacious and well appointed. There were all of the usual amenities (cookware, dishes, linens) and many others that were an appreciated bonus, like beach gear, snorkel gear, picnic coolers, etc. (we added a couple of swim noodles to the beach locker! ;o).

The kids loved eating breakfast on the lanai overlooking the ocean every morning and I enjoyed watching sunsets with a cocktail from there as well!

Location was great, close to Keauhou shopping center for groceries and restaurants (highly recommend Kenichi Pacific) and also just a couple minutes from Kahalu'u Bay, the beast beginner snorkeling on the island. It was the kids first time snorkeling and this was the perfect place for them to get their feet wet :o).

We are all looking forward to coming back next year!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank draudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    240
    56
    38
    22
See reviews for
305
245
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at two of the condos at Halii Kai in April 2012 - one ocean view and one fairway view - and loved our time there despite some elements that would deter some.
The views from the ocean view were incredible - you could sit on the lanai for hours and watch the ocean and its inhabitants (and kayakers/ paddleboarders). The fairway view wasnt spectatcular but was still a great outlook.
The grounds are beautiful - well maintained, established gardens that epitomise the feel of the tropics, and right on the ocean.
There are also great (core) facilities - pools, tennis courts etc. However, if you want a hotel with bars and restaurants etc you will be disappointed.
The interiors vary - according to owners,so as many of these reviews suggest, it is helpful to request a particular room. The two we stayed in were both roomy (say 1400sq ft) and comfortable with Hawaiian style furniture. But as mentioned elsewhere, theacoustics of the building were poor, and the kitchens can be dated.
So, it depends what you want. If you want an escape where you are happy to cook, and stay/ relax in a serene environment, close to water and not too far from town, then Kanaloa is perfect. If you want 6 star, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BWestlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed in a ground floor 1 bedroom unit with ocean view. We were right behind the ocean-side pool. The unit was very spacious & comfortable and the ocean view deck was raised above the level of the walkways and screened by foliage. We ended up having drinks on our deck rather than going out! The one criticism is that since the bedroom is on the back of the unit it was noisier from cars driving into the resort (parking is all on the back of condos) and the headlights were annoying at night. Overall though it was a great place to stay: away from the real tourist area of Kailua but just a few minutes drive to get there if needed. The Keahou shops are within walking distance (so long as you don't have a lot to carry back!), and have a very adequate grocery and a Longs Drug. We stocked up at Costco which is about 10 mins drive north. There is an ocean side walk (lava rock) leading to the adjacent golf course. We walked about a mile north along the path/edge of the golf course and in front of neighboring resorts. Rugged in places but nice to be by the ocean.
Our best experience was swimming in Kealakekua Bay (Captain Cook monument bay) where we
had spinner dolphins all around us. Good snorkeling near the monument.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2502.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank stevelynda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, ID
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed in Condo #1804 for 4 nights and it was a wonderful experience. The condo is located right on a rocky beach and we had wonderful waves and beautiful sunsets. Loved watching the boats go by. The condo has everything you need for a great stay and even furnishes beach equipment and towels. The owner, Kathy, was very accomodating and did eveything she could to make our stay wonderful. The condo is located close to a small shopping center with a grocery store and restaurants. We would definitely stay here again! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMurphy211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is a beautiful oceanfront resort with three lovely swimming pools and tennis courts. Surrounded by swaying palm trees and perfectly maintained tropical gardens. Condos are fully equipped with everything you need. The spacious lanais are ideal for family dinning, watching dolphins and enjoying the sunsets. This is our second visit - and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We have stayed in two different condos here and each had a wonderful private oceanfront location. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kmsinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Outrigger Kanaloa at Kona located in the Keauhou Bay ...we wre greeted warmly by Aleta at the front desk and Sandy assured has everything is great when we called two days prior to arrival.......one does not need an ocean front room if you're staying at Unit# 2106 . the ocean view is fantastic .super clean...each area of the condo has ceiling fan....the fee to have an AC is a bit expensive...both bdrm has comfortable beds &TV and own lanai...main lanai has wet bar..there is a safe .decor & color scheme in great taste...kitchen applicances in good condition and modern...everything you need to cook in is handy...you will find a coffee maker-grinder...snorkeling gear...ice chest.. beach towel...beach umbrealla... games...filled book shelf...CD palyer and many many more amenties...main lanai great to have breakfast and listen to bird chirps...also great to have dinner to watch beautiful sunset... location is about 1mile to Keauhou Bay for snorkeling/swimming and see tropical fish & turtles...also condo is short distance drive to downtown Kailua and to Keauhou Shopping where the restaurant like Sam Choy and "Mi" in Captain Cook area serves a great meal...recommend to shop at Walmart or Costco to buy souvenirs..make sure to visit Hilo Farmers Marketon Sat or Wed (big mkt day) about 1 1/2hr drive with a stop in Kamuela for breakfast...visit Punaluu Bake shop and Kau visitor center on your way to the volcano... a must go is to Hawi for yummylicious food at Bamboo Restaurant & Gallery a favorite of singer Neil Young....try their Lilikoi Margarita...see more turtles at Kaloko-Honakau Historic Beach Park via Honokohau Boat Harbor...trail is tricky to spot...learn about Kamehameha I conquered the entire Hawaii Island at Puukohola Heaiu Natironal Historic Site...help prepare sweet bread that will be baked in stone oven at Kona Historical Society then buy the hot bread when ready around 12:30PM on Thursday only...but don't stop at the H.N. Greenwell Museum...you can learn about him on the internet...call Lehuula Coffee Farm to order your freshly roasted coffee to be shipped to you...

Room Tip: select unit# 2106...you will not be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We loved this hotel!! Stayed here in 2007 for our honeymoon. The room had a jetted tub, AC, 2 bathrooms and a full kitchen. The views from the balconies were the most beautiful I had ever seen! I had to put a differen date in because the website doesn't go back to 2007 but I really wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pnowling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kailua-Kona hotels
5.6 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
0.5 mi away
Sheraton Kona Resort & Spa at Keauhou Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Royal Kona Resort
Royal Kona Resort
#8 of 14 in Kailua-Kona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kona Coast Resort
Kona Coast Resort
#1 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
3.6 mi away
Aston Kona by the Sea
Aston Kona by the Sea
#3 of 35 in Kailua-Kona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kanaloa at Kona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kanaloa at Kona

Property: Kanaloa at Kona
Address: 78-261 Manukai St, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-2538
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kanaloa at Kona 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Kanaloa at Kona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Kanaloa At Kona Hotel Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kailua-Kona
Outrigger Kona
Kailua-Kona Outrigger
Kanaloa At Kona Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing