We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key elegance”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 2, 2010

Beautiful hotel and plenty to do including several shops. Try to get a room with the outdoor shower. On Friday nights, there is a wonderful reception with island music for guests. The Stars and Sand barbecue is a real treat, especially the lobster. We wanted a quiet room and the location by the King's pond was perfect. Spending time in a cabana is the height of luxury -- cold washcloths, water with lemon and poolside lunch make you feel special. Don't miss the cultural center where you can take a ukaleli lesson or make a shell bracelet and learn more about Hawaii from the staff. A little known pot of coffee can be found from 5 to 7 AM next to registration. You can take advantage of opportunities offered at the resort to feed the Ray and tour the ponds and gardens. There is a part of the Ancient Hawaiian Trail that crosses the property. This is a very special place with good weather on the Kona Coast. Shops had vry helpful staff. Self parking is free if you don't mind the walk to your car.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oceanside-Mary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,441 - 2,447 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2010

This is the top of the line resort. Best service of any lodging facility you will ever experience. Wife and I celebrated 20th anniversary and it was fantastic experience. Ask for any guest service and they respond in minutes. Pool and beach side staff are clearly screened for their customer service skills. Grounds are clean, bug free and a true paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OKCtripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2010

I am NOT easy to please, I can find problems anywhere...Let me tell you... If you have the cash this is the best hotel you will ever stay. I absolutely LOVED IT, it is the best beach hotel anywhere. You're going to spend an arm and a leg but it'll be the best money you ever spent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yipcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2010

After staying at the Four Seasons in Punta Mita Mexico twice in the last year, I was interested to see how Hualalai stacked up, they are reasonably similar places, but with plusses and small minuses or differences. After a long flight Hualalai is an easy 10-15 minute ride from the airport. Nice! Pleasant check in, rooms etc. have been fully and accurately discussed in other reviews. We had a ground floor room in the Seashell (family pool) area with a bit of a view. The outdoor shower was a treat, but probably for a couple another less family-oriented/busy crecent would be better. The resort is of relatively compact size,it might take 10 minutes to walk from end to end. Several corporate events, including a group of at least 100 took over some public spaces in the evening, and changed the atmosphere, not for the better since it feels odd to continually walking past a party to which you're not invited and the outdoor music might have been too much for the early to bed crowd. The gym and spa areas were outstanding, with spa service really hospitable, I no sooner peeked into the spa area than someone brought me a tray of fruits and nuts and a drink, even though I admitted that I was only nosing around. Really nice lap pool, gym/spa locker room and gender-specific private relaxation area, including outdoor showers and plunge pool/Jacuzzi. There were a number of fitness/yoga/Pilates classes a day which we didn't use, but I think the additional cost was minimal. This could be a nice alternative to a stay at a real spa for the fitness-oriented. The gym, lap pool, tennis facility and fitness area seemed largely used by residents. Tennis was quite good with daily drills, multiple good pros, and round robins 2X/week - a very friendly atmosphere at the tennis center which seemed resident-oriented. Prices for tennis were reasonable too, for $30 you get a drill, unlimited court time (there are lighted courts) and equipment, including shoes if needed. The beach is nice to walk along on the path, spectacular houses and small beaches in one direction and the retro Kona Village hotel in the other direction. Snorkeling was average, we did much better in other parts of the island. The restaurants were about what you would expect, the moon and stars (or something like that) buffet looked good - only Saturday night. Many guests seemed to eat on their terraces, as did we. If I came here with 3 or more people I'd probably check into renting a villa from one of the owners - the prices seem competitive with hotel rooms. Back to Hualalai Vs Punta Mita; kid areas at Punta Mita, especially the game room for older children are better. Distances between the room and pool and other facilities are better at Hualalai. Beach is a wash -- no real beach at Hualalai and the surf at Punta Mita is frequently so strong that it isn't reasonable for many. For tennis, advantage Hualalai; food quality/price is about the same. Rooms, very nice for both. Spa/gym physical facility, I'd stack Hualalai against anywhere, I didn't use any services. On resort activities - Punta Mita; off resort Hualalai for certain. As for "feel" it may just have been the presence of groups and outside functions, but I found Punta Mita warmer both on the guest-guest and management/staff-guest level.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kirbypwang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2010

What a fantastic hotel! There doesn't appear to be much action on The Big Island compared to other resort areas I've been to, but you really have no need to leave this resort. There is a lot to do!
There are several pools at the hotel, but we were mostly at the "quiet" pool. The service was fantastic. The pool attendants come by throughout the day with fun little surprises like cool towels, popsicles, aloe vera, evian spritz, samples of yummy cocktails and my personal favorite... cleaning your sunglasses.
What I loved the most about service at this hotel was that it was wonderful, but unpretentious. Very laid back atmosphere even though you're at a five star hotel.
I only went to the gym once while on vacation (bad!), but I have never seen better gym facilities at a hotel. The gym, which is made up of several small buildings with a lap pool in the center, has so much modern equipment it's crazy. You will never have to wait in line for a machine. I even saw a pilates room which appeared to have real pilates equipment.
Unfortunately, I did not make it to the cultural center but I heard great things about it.
We had some excellent meals at the restaurants. My husband's absolute favorite thing to eat was the ahi tuna sashimi. I kid you not, he ordered it 3 times in the first 24 hours!
I wouldn't necessarily pick The Big Island again if I go back to Hawaii, but I would most defintely pick the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MerrimackMrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2010

A fantastic place with a perfect location. Staff treated you like the Royal Family everywhere on the premises. Had the Saturday night beach BBQ at Pahu I'a and the food and service were phenomenal. Dinner four nights later was even better as you can hear and see the surf which was about 25 feet away from our tables. Rooms were very nice; however, you could hear your neighbors chairs being moved around on the tiled floors. Only draw back was that there were many "mini" conventions at the resort and some had the "college springbreak" mentality. I wish Four seasons would cut down on these conventions, but I'm sure it is a way for them to generate more revenue.

This is a not a place to go if you want a bargin or if you're on a budget. It is the Four Seasons and they will charge you top $ for everything. That being said, just go and have the time of your life! We plan to return there soon.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelAllOver123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2010

This Four Seasons is one of the best. It is very expensive but I was lucky enough to be there for work. The rooms are the star here, all set in bungalow type structures with fantastic private outdoor showers. I am not as big of fan of the Big Island as other parts of Hawaii but when you stay at this resort it makes it worth it. You can swim at the beach here which you are unable to do at other resorts on the island. The service was great as usual. All in all it was a great stay and got me hooked on the Four Seasons experience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank xcameronx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
13 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
11.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $830 - $2,029 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Otel, TravelUp, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing