We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Mana” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Hualalai to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
USD 1000 Resort Credit
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
GreenLeadersGold level
2 reviews
“Great Mana”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014 via mobile

This has to be one of the premier Four Seasons I have ever been to. An amazing mix of elegance, comfort, service and culture.

The Magic Big Island is very special and I highly recommend you stay here.

If you have time to explore Hawaii, do it. But if your on a quick holiday discover this property. It really brings all the Island to you.

Mahalo to the entire staff from chefs to housekeeping. WELL DONE!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Geoffry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,134 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
USA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Had an incredible stay here in June 2014. We have stayed in a handful of Four Seasons previously, but this resort ranks right at the top. There is a "feel" here that we did not experience on any of the other islands, but it hits you immediately when you arrive. I really like how the resort is situated so close to the beach. Sitting at the Beach Tree or Ulu and being able to watch and listen to the waves never did get old. One morning we saw a pod of dolphins jumping and spinning.

We had connecting rooms in building #2. We had a great view of the water and sunset. It was so nice we that we had room service for dinner every night after some exhausting days. The rooms feel more like you are in a house than a hotel - except for the outdoor shower which you don't find in many homes. My only wish with Four Seasons is that they would provide more complimentary items in the rooms like snacks, drinks, etc.

The kids loved the snorkel pond and didn't seem to mind how cold the water was. There was an eagle ray and many different types of tropical fish. I was surprised at how big and deep it was. There was a second pond, but it was knocked out of commission in the tsunami of 2011.

If the beach was a little more swimmer-friendly I would have probably stayed here forever. The coast is pretty rocky, but there is a small swimming beach. Also the sand is pretty narrow all the way down. But the service - food, chairs, towels, and drinks - was what you expect from Four Seasons. At no point did the resort seem crowded.

We saw a lot of sea turtles, both on the beach and in the water. You have to hunt for them on other islands, but here they seem to be everywhere, especially at low tide. It was one of the highlights of our stay.

We used the concierge to arrange a couple of different trips that were spot on. One required a taxi cab down to the marina, but they arranged it all and it went really smooth.

My only "lesson learned" results from an exchange that happened prior to our arrival, when trying to schedule a private dinner under the stars. The availability of these dinners goes quickly, so if you are interested in scheduling, I recommend calling. Relying on an email thread to reserve what was previously available didn't work out.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rollie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Four Seasons Hualalai exceeded every expectation we had. The staff - so friendly and helpful. The room - spacious and clean and every amenity we could need. The spa - like no other experience I've ever had. The food - Ulu breakfast was fantastic (the french press Kona coffee... heavenly). Dinner at Ulu was also excellent, dinner at the grill was wonderful. The beaches and pools - always met with a smiling staff member to cover chairs, provide fresh towels and offer water. In short, no request was turned down and we've never felt so well taken care of. Just wish we were still there!

Room Tip: Upstairs for privacy, downstairs for outdoor shower.
See more room tips
Green Features: Recyclable cups at the pool, refillable pump bottles for all shampoo/sunscreen/soap etc.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank amybbky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Wonderful first time experience at this resort. We had our 2 year-old daughter with us, and she loved the resort. Great service, beautiful setting, delicious food. Worked out everyday and used the beautiful spa. Expensive splurge but very much worth it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank HawaiiBoyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

There really is no place like this on the Big Island. If you want a memorable vacation that stands out from all the rest, just come here. The staff is wonderful, the rooms are comfortable, the amenities are terrific and the grounds are utterly gorgeous.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goblue1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office
Level Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for his 50th birthday. In advance of our arrival, I planned a surprise vow renewal. Everyone at the hotel did an amazing job planning, executing and keeping the renewal a secret! The views, pools, spa, and restaurants were great. You don't have o leave the property to experience a memorable time. Of everywhere we have stayed, we would definitely come back to this property.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MLDorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

We are so happy that you chose Four Seasons Resort Hualalai as the destination for not only a special birthday celebration, but a vow renewal as well. Thank you for your positive feedback and promise to return. We look forward to welcoming you back to our resort.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We were there for a week and still left wanting more. Breakfasts at Ulu are fabulous! The gym was great. I worked out at 2pm and I had it all to myself. I went at 8am and it was jammed. If you are traveling without kids the adult pool is the place to be.

Room Tip: If you don't want a long walk to your room make sure to ask to be near the main pool not overloo...
See more room tips
Green Features: Love it! More hotels should join this truly important cause.
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaLeander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
13.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
12.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing