We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Times a Charm and it wont be the last”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
shelton, ct
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Second Times a Charm and it wont be the last”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

This was my second time at Hualalai and it somehow was better than the first. Everything was perfect, from the reception, to the cleanliness of the room, to the friendly staff and the food. When you stay at a place like this is makes you want to change all your touring plans and just sit and enjoy this magnificent resort. I had a ocean view room on the first floor which allowed me quick access (literally steps) to the adult pool, which has an amazing view of the ocean. I left my sliding doors open at night and could hear the crashing waves, nothing more peaceful. I dont know where they find their people, or how they train them, but everyone I encountered from the turn down service person to the bartenders at Beach Tree, they are uniformly friendly and helpful. In fact, when I first got there I decided I wanted to try an find my room on my own and initially refused the golf cart to the room. I hate to admit it but I got a little lost and the person delivering room service stopped his cart and offered to take me to my room (which I agreed to). This was the first time I used their spa services and they were top notch. This resort is also perfectly situated for watching the sunset, whether on the beach or at their beachfront restaurants, the view is simply amazing. If you are staying there, check the sunset time and plan at least one day to view this, you wont regret it.

It is also important to note how clean the room was, as well as every other part of the resort. This is my number one priority when traveling and this place is so clean it seems almost brand new. Also, they have the most comfortable beds Ive every slept on at any resort.

Hualalai was so tremendous we are already planning another trip back.

The only downside to this property, which others have mentioned, but it bares repeating, is that although it is very beautiful and close, the beach is simply just not swim friendly, especially if you have kids. The resort makes up for this with an abundance of beautiful pools so this should not be a huge problem but thought I'd throw this out there to confirm what others have said.

Room Tip: Bottom floor offers outdoor shower, second floor has better views but outdoor shower is better optio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kellyeleven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,397
    237
    91
    48
    22
See reviews for
796
1,343
41
231
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (821)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brasilia, DF
1 review
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Definitely i Love Hawaai, it is a paridise on Earth.
If you want to fly away and forget about the world, go to Hawaai.
Incredible beachs, incredible people, incredible experience.
This is one of my favorite beachs.
The hotel was marvilous, anyway, no words to describe.every should one day come to Four Seasons to experience the best service in the world!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AleZac2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Great hotel. The service was impeccable. Dinner at sunset feels like you are sitting on the beach. The salt water snorkeling pools is great you can swim with the rays. The golf course views are amazing but you can forget it if you hit out of bounds nothing but lava rock. One of my all time favorite resorts.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank jpclk500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseland, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
755 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place with excellent staff and service. One drawback if you love the beach is this is a predominately "pool" place as in four different quads around the pools with one fairly small ocean bathing area carved out of the lava. You pretty much need surf sandals/shoes to avoid the coral strewn bottom. Some sandy areas, but you have to pick your way. The lower floor rooms with outdoor showers are great. The staff is uniformly friendly and accomodating. We were at a conference which was nicely conducted with the facilities and on premises events with the exception of the luau which had "anything-but-Hawaiian-traditional" mundane food. Diet night. We stayed at the King's Pond area with a nice private lanai despite the first floor room. Highly recommend that area. The adult pool at Palm Grove was the nicest, followed by adult Beach Tree. The Seashell pool was loaded with the usual packed with kids hot tub area and the usual noise level. King's Pond is really for snorkeling only. The Golf Course was excellent and fun to play. There was a nice place for morning coffee/espresso/light bakery etc at Hualai Coffee shop. Ulu Grill was good upscale, Beach Tree bar was nice, with the usual beach selection type good, not great menu. We liked the Residence Bar and Grill the best. Quiet, right on the beach, nice beach bar, and solid traditional menu, limited but good. Compliments again to the always affable staff. PS buy your suntan lotion elsewhere-$26 a bottle for spray lotion at the beach services place is in outer space somewhere. (As in $10 at Walgreens). That footnote aside, in sum this is a very nice deluxe resort.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Conseiller99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Although very expensive, this resort is worth every penny. I wish we could have stayed three times as long as we actually did. Service is first rate, facilities are superb, food was the best I have had in recent memory anywhere. Special attention for my children was much appreciated. My daughters made several new "best" friends during our stay - and we will be back this summer!

Room Tip: No bad choices
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BKB03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, CO
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We have stayed at many Four Seasons over the years. This one is one of the BEST! The service at all of the restaurants, bars, and pool area was prefect. All of the staff were helpful and accommodating. The rooms were clean and well appointed. There is so much to see and do at this resort that you won't want to leave and explore the surrounding area, but you are encouraged to do just that-explore. There are 5-6 pools and several beach access areas. There is also an adult pool to get away from all the kids for a while. The best pool was the Kings Pool! It is a natural spring/ocean feed pool with a large variety of tropical fish and an Eagle Ray. You can borrow a snorkle and fins and snorkle in this pool. This is a great experience for young children, older adults, and anyone who is either afraid of the open ocean or get sea sick bobbing up and down while snorkling. Also, take your snorkle and fins out to the ocean swim area. In this small areas we saw many different tropical fish and turtles. The Spa and fitness areas lacked the Four Seasons touch. I was a bit dissapointing in the fiteness area but I think that the spa is run by a different company. Best kept secret at this resort is the Residental beachside restaurant. It is open to anyone if there are open tables. The kids can play on the beach while you wait for the food or have a drink. Plus, the food at the Residental restaurant is the most authentic and tasty at this resort.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the golf course. It was quiet and away from the pools and resturants. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_American_Couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

It was a relief to find such green, lush amazing grounds after driving through the black moonscape of lava from the airport. The hotel has it all - lots of space, different pools for all types (serenity, kids, everybody/swim-up bar) and a lagoon for snorkelling . The food was great at all the restaurants - casual and smiling servers , all super handsome or extra pretty. The room we got was directly facing the ocean and lagoon. We loved it ! It was an upstairs one and had a great view! Pay a bit more - it seemed like other rooms were far back from the water and might have no view at all - kind of cottage / camp zone.

Room Tip: Book water view - totally worth it. Book upstairs (there are 2 floors only)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yodiehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Greetings from Hualalai!

Our beautiful resort is like an oasis in the middle of a lava field and the layout in four half-moon crescents affords every room a nice view of the ocean. I am so happy to hear that you had a lovely vacation and we hope you will return many times in the months and years to come. Mahalo for your wonderful feedback.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing