We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you don't love where you stayed than you over paid...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was said to us by one of the bartenders at the FS. True, True, True!!! You'll likely learn nothing new from my review. Whenever possible I prefer to gaurentee my experience. This four seasons is a lock! We upgraded to a large suite with a huge patio, lanai, and breathtaking ocean views. Money well spent. We played tennis, golf, ping pong, we drank, we ate we had cigars on the beach with new friends. Flawless and timeless elegance executed to perfection. The place is a trap, nearly impossible to leave. Why would anyone want to....ever. Please, do yourself a favor and stay here and go big when you do.

Room Tip: 1104 or any suite with an outside shower is a MUST!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jbdmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Greetings from Hualalai,

Vacations are all about building great memories and after reading your comments, I think you took home a lovely memory of your visit to our resort. You paid us the nicest compliment I've heard in a long time when you said "Flawless and timeless elegance executed to perfection." Mahalo!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,865)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,479 - 1,485 of 2,865 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2013

Just returned from a week at the Four Seasons with my wife, our two year old and a 5 week old. While it wasn't our first choice to travel with a newborn, our company was holding a retreat and we didn't have much flexibility on the timing and were very hesistant about going.

No regrets now. First a shout out to Taylor or Tyler at the front desk - when we arrived they had us in a great room, but far from the kiddie pool area. I asked when I checked in if we could get a room change and they said they would look into it but never heard back. The next morning I spoke with Taylor and he made it a priority. By 11 AM, he had two options for us and made arrangements for us to be moved - even though his shift had already ended - he stuck around a bit to make sure we didn't transferred to someone else at the desk and have to start the process over. Our new room was perfect! it had a larger foyer which worked great for the strollers and changing table and we were very close to the pool and ocean.

The 'baby proofing' option was amazing. We had a crib, night stand, diaper genie, swim diapers, baby shampoo, stuffed animal (seal puppy) and even embroidered bibs for our little girls. We felt that not only did they accomodate children at the resort - they were genuinely welcomed - if not celebrated! One night, they had a hulu dancer who did a wonderful show during dinner at the Beach Tree. When she was nearly finished, she came over and talked to our two year old who was fascinated. Before we finished talking she left our two year old with a beautiful crown of flowers she had made and been wearing. Our daughter saw her a few days later during breakfast service and was really happy to see her 'friend'. The pool cabana had everything we needed to have fun in the ocean and pool for a two year old. The service at the beach was great. My wife was able to stay outside at the beach in complete shade, relative privacy entire afternoons - while being taken care of by very kind and attentive staff. Everytime an employee passed us, they gave us a warm "aloha". Our two year old was so pleased with all the warm greetings, that she immediately began tellinging everyone she saw at the resort "hello-ha" thinking that was how everyone said hello - and that you must say hello to everyone you saw.

Meals were good - we really enjoyed the breakfast buffet at Ulu and the hamburgers and onion rings at the Grill were the best we've ever had. We ate at all the restaurants and while prices were high, quality and portions were very adequate. My wife and I have stayed at several luxury resorts on the Hawaiian islands and this is a new favorite. We thought the St. Regis was great in Princeville, but the layout of the resort was better as was the service at the Four Seasons. We will be back!

Room Tip: second floor room have better views......
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glbltrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Hello-ha from Hualalai!!

Your review was so refreshing and fun to read! You are absolutely correct when you say that our young guests are top priority. There is nothing sweeter to watch than children splashing in the Sea Shell pool, dancing on the Beach Tree lawn to Hawaiian music or playing at Kids for All Seasons. I am happy to hear that your two-year-old made friends with the hula dancer.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our resort many times in the months and years to come. We love watching the little ones grow up!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We loved our stay here (we have stayed at Maui Four Seasons). The Hualalai resort is much more relaxed (no competition for beach chairs for instance!) and much more tranquil. That said, the beach in Wailea is much better. The beach at Hualalai is a small area that is essentially walled in by a (man-made?) reef-- although there are still lots of coral and rocks on the bottom and I cut my feet a few times. The pools are nice though, and comparable to Maui. The service may actually have been better here-- everyone was very friendly and attentive.

We also got an upgrade from a partial ocean front view behind the kids area to a full ocean front view behind the tranquility pool-- which was fantastic. The room was spacious, clean, with large hot tub, indoor and out door shower, high ceilings, and a veiw out to the ocean from our room. The food options weren't great, and I'd give the food 3 stars, and also it was very expensive. There was a good beach side smoothie place though.

Overall, great place, but for the beach and food giving 4 stars.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pc_seattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Aloha!

I am happy to hear that we were able to provide an upgraded accommodation for you and that you found our staff to be friendly and attentive. I too wish we had a lovely white sand beach here at the resort, but the island is so new (relatively speaking!) and there are few swimmable beaches on the Big Island. We here at Hualalai compensate with several swimming pools, including King's Pond, our snorkeling pool.

We hope that the positives far outweigh the negative of no great beach, and that you will visit many times in the months and years to come. Thank you for your feedback!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

This place is so nice I could sell my beachfront condo on Siesta Key and move here. If you are going to stay here you will be amazed. All the detail to attention is amazing. It was so nice to be somewhere in which the staff are very attentive. I see some say the staff is rude. I did not experience that at all. The Four Seasons is not inexpensive. You know that ahead of time. Do not expect the $3.00 grilled cheese. The rooms are amazing. The pool staff was just awesome. Treat yourself to a daybed. We ended up reserving a day bed for the rest of our stay. It was great to be able to take a break from the sun. The little extras were spot on.
Enjoy and spoil yourself while you are here. Cannot wait to return.
Thank you to all of you who made our vacation one of the best we ever have had.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oscar42o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Aloha!

Your opening comment really caught my eye. We sold our home in South Florida 17 years ago and moved to the Big Island, so I can relate to people who are contemplating moving to Hawaii! Thank you for taking the time to let everyone know you had a wonderful Hualalai visit and that you found our staff to be attentive and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our little slice of paradise!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

We stayed at the Four Seasons Hualalai for a work incentive trip awarded to my husband. We didn't know what to expect but were very pleased with the kind, attentive service. The staff was very informative regarding the resort's amenities yet we also felt free to enjoy privacy. I have never encountered a cleaner room! The housekeeping staff gave us a choice of timeframe for cleaning and we chose a time that we normally were out of the room so never encountered them but enjoyed the fresh results each day. You can't find a more beautiful resort that maintains a natural setting on the big island.

Room Tip: We had a partial ocean view and it was beautiful, looking over the saltwater pool to the ocean. No n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Oh my, where to start. We visited this phenomenal resort for the first time earlier this year as surprise birthday trip for my husband. Coming up on a big anniversary we decided to return. I have to admit, I was a little anxious as our first trip was beyond fantastic. Could the Four Seasons deliver the same quality again? Would the consistency be there in all categories? I'm happy to say it was!!!

The concierge did an excellent job of helping me secure a floral arrangement and cake for our anniversary night, as well as keeping track of our many (changing) dinner reservations and incoming packages. These ladies are on the ball!

I had a fantastic swimming lesson with Rita at the fitness center.

It was especially nice being remembered by staff like Grant at the Palm Grove pool and Chris at the water sports desk.

Being take care of by the pool attendants on a daily basis - Eric, Shawn, Cat and Katie - really made our vacation. I feel my husband finally mastered the art of relaxing and these people deserve much of the credit.

The food did not disappoint. All that ocean air just keeps you hungry and the resort delivers. Breakfasts at Ulu, lunches by the pool and dinners at Beach Tree - yes, we ate there 5 out of our 6 nights - we were happy and well fed. Teddy does a great job of managing that restaurant.

The shopping on property is to die for. I took a morning and browsed around - great offerings and wonderful staff.

I didn't get the chance to take a yoga class or climb the rock wall. Those will be on my "to do" list for our next visit. Also we didn't get into King's Pond this time around, but will definitely do next time.

And trust me...there will be many next times!

P.S. A final word about weather. The Four Seasons really knew what they were doing when they built this incredible property on this exact piece of land. You basically have 2 volcanoes shielding you from oncoming inclement weather. At one time during our stay, all the islands were being pounded with rain, but our little slice of paradise only had a light smattering during the evening. This particular piece of land gets the BEST weather in all the islands. 82-88 degrees year round, and if it does rain, it's only for a bit while the sun is still shining.

Also, I was saddened to read previous reviewers complaining about the newer rain showers (they are MAGNIFICENT!) and body products. I think these products are even better than the previous name brand ones.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2013

Greetings from Hualalai!

I first read your comments you you completed our electronic survey and now the Trip Advisor review - mahalo for the lovely compliments you heaped on our resort and staff! One of the easiest jobs here on the Kona side of the island is being a weatherman since our weather is so predictable - sunny all day with possible late afternoon or evening showers. I like to tell people it's always beautiful at Hualalai.

As you have discovered, we are fortunate to have a wonderful staff who are so willing to extend their aloha. I shared your "pats on the back" with the people you mentioned and we all send our best regards to you.

We will hold you to your promise to return many times in the years to come. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do to assist you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Every moment from arrival to departure was perfect. Rooms are spacious and well appointed, resort is stunning, restaurants excellent. Range of activities on offer is enough to keep you busy if thats what you want, but just walking along the beach is breathtaking. Can only hope that I will get to stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 74pj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
15.9 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
9.4 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $877 - $1,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing