We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
135 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Location is very good. Close to the airport but very quite place. No rain is almost guaranteed at this place regardless what is happening on the other side of the island.

Excellent service (as usual with Four Seasons). Everyone tries really hard in here to make your stay comfortable. When they make a mistake (not very usual) they try to fix it themselves.

Family friendly hotel. Rooms are close to pools. A broad choice of activities for kids.

Fish pond makes snorkling fun and easy. In fact, it is fantastic!

Four Seasons is never cheap. Unlike other FS resorts they charge for quite a lot of activities they would normally be for free.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jajalumaca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Aloha from Hualalai,

I am delighted to hear that you and your family had a lovely vacation and were the happy recipients of our staff's aloha. We hope you will choose our resort as your vacation destination many times in the years to come.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,282
    222
    85
    46
    20
See reviews for
743
1,282
40
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We honeymooned 43 years ago at Kona Village and have wanted to return all these years. When we realized a few years ago that it probably was not going to reopen, we decided to come to Kona for our anniversary and chose the Four Seasons since we knew from previous stays at other Four Seasons, that we would not be disappointed. And we were not! From the moment we arrived, and they informed us that they had upgraded our room, to the next few days, when were constantly made to feel so special, we knew we had chosen the perfect place to celebrate our anniversary. We were treated so great by pool staff, waitresses, room attendants, and golf course helpers. They all have a great way of communicating and it is obvious they are comfortable with talking with hotel guests. They seem like very self assured individuals.

We were made to feel very special by any number of employees. We were given champagne in our room to celebrate our anniversary and were invited to a reception given by the hotel manager. Everyone we talked to, was impressive in their enthusiasm for this resort. Everything we have experienced here has exceeded our expectations, and we are already talking about returning here for our 45th anniversary

We couldn't have chosen a better place to spend our time in Hawaii celebrating our anniversary. Can't wait to come back to this beautiful resort!

Room Tip: Any room is probably great here, but ocean view is sure nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaSandy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai,

Congratulations on 43 years of marriage! We are thrilled to hear that you chose our resort to celebrate such a special occasion and we are doubly thrilled to hear that you had a wonderful time. As you discovered, we are fortunate to have a truly dedicated, personable staff who thoroughly enjoy working here and meeting our guests.

We hope you will return many times in the months and years to come and look forward to welcoming you back for your 45th anniversary!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Aministrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rancho Palos Verdes, California, USA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I stay at 5-star properties around the world, and this resort is right up there with the very best. The Kings Pond was particularly memorable, which is a giant artificial salt-water lagoon stocked with thousands of fish for the viewing pleasure of hotel snorkel enthusiasts. Every part of the hotel operation is beyond superb except for one--their billing dept. This is the second year that our 16 person So Calif group has organized a visit, and both times the hotel messed up the billing. Our group leader told them many times to bill him for all costs, yet the hotel still charged our personal credit card over $700 by mistake. So if you're going as an individual you have little to worry about, and will have the time of your life. If you're going as a group, you'll also have the time of your life-- just make sure they get the billing straight.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Welcomkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

I am so happy to hear that you, your wife and your group had a lovely time here at our resort, however, I most sincerely apologize that we made an error (for the 2nd year) and charged your personal credit card for items that should have been billed to your group leader. I shared your comments with our accounting people who will be more diligent in the future about charging the correct accounts. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

We look forward to welcoming you back many times in the months and years to come. Please do not hesitate to contact me if there is ever anything I can do for you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I are wrapping up our 2d stay here (1st in 2004) and this one only served to enhance our memories and confirm our desire to return to our favorite place, the Big Island. As the many reviews attest, everything here is top notch, but what will continue to bring us back is the beauty & tranquility of the expansive property as well as the genuine & gracious service by the entire staff. Mahalo FS Hualalai for a 60th birthday celebration that I will remember for the rest of life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devildad12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Stayed here with my family last month. Not much to add that hasn't already been said. It is a wonderful property in one of the most beautiful and special places on Earth. And the service is impeccable.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel1452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

It never ceased to amaze us how many small ways the staff could find to "go the extra step" in trying to make us feel special and like a trusted friend - literally the best hotel experience we've ever had.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bobbi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

We are most grateful for the positive feedback you offered in your review, and we are thrilled that you had "the best hotel experience." Please plan a return trip to allow us to build another happy memory for you!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this resort last week and we loved it! Her brother got married on the property (beautiful) and we stayed 3 nights. If you want to experience about as close to perfection in a beach resort look no further. The room, pools, beaches, food, drinks, service, etc. was top notch. You know the old saying "you get what you pay for"? If you think the Four Seasons is pricey, then you've never stayed at a Four Seasons and experienced true high-end value. We hope to get back to Hawaii some day and, if so, we will definitely stay at this Four Seasons resort.

P.S. - I loved my pillow so much that I purchased one through a most helpful Concierge.

Room Tip: If you can swing it, go Ocean Front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai,

I am so happy a family wedding brought you to the Big Island and to our resort. Thank you for your kind words. I like to tell people that I am already living in heaven and from your comments, you too felt the Hualalai magic.

As you rest your head on your new Four Seasons pillow, dream of returning to visit with us again soon!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing