We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Resort Bar None” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Graham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Resort Bar None”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was by far the most welcoming and comfortable resort we have ever stayed at. They even went so far as to decorate the bathtub with pictures and our children's names as well as leaving gifts and cold milk for them in the refrigerator. The food was delicious and the service was the most friendly I have ever encountered.

Room Tip: only 1st floor rooms have the outside shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha from Hualalai!

Thank you (mahalo!) for such a lovely review. As you discovered, our young guests are quite special here at Hualalai and we are happy to hear that they enjoyed their welcome treats. Our resort is such a great place for families and we hope you and yours will return many times in the months and years to come.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,190
    217
    79
    40
    19
See reviews for
716
1,228
39
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (803)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

I can't recommend this hotel enough. From check-in to check-out, the Four Seasons made our honeymoon feel incredibly special, especially compared to our previous hotel (which wasn't bad, but didn't feel like a special occasion). After the unique check-in process, we were upgraded from a golf view room to a pool view and enjoyed a golf cart tour of the property.

From the minute we stepped into our room, we were impressed. The shower, bedding, and decor were amazing. Our room's location was very nice - it was by the Beach Tree, and each night I could open the sliding doors and listen to the restaurant's live music and watch the sun set. The view is better on the second floor, but we had a lava rock shower on the first.

Like other reviewers, we had plans to leave but found it so relaxing and enjoyable that we didn't make it off the property. The hotel also sent complimentary champagne and a strawberry/cheese dessert to our room.

We booked six months in advance and found a great rate on the FS website. The rate was lower than other times of the year because it was late August (and hot), but that also meant less people (i.e., kids). Because it wasn't packed, there were always chairs available at the beach and the pools - where I appreciated that cabanas were first-come, first-serve.

Thank you, Four Seasons, for making our trip so memorable!

Green Features: We loved the Four Seasons' reusable shampoo and conditioner bottles (the hair products were the best I've encountered at a hotel) and ceramic water jars. The air conditioning that turns off when you open your sliding doors is very convenient.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mvctma85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Aloha from Hualalai!

I agree with your assessment that this resort is a perfect location for honeymooners, and I am delighted that you chose our resort as your honeymoon destination. You thanked us for making your trip so memorable, and we thank you for your glowing review!

We hope you will return to visit many times, perhaps to celebrate every wedding anniversary. We promise to do everything we can to build many more happy memories for you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

We got 2 nights at Four Seasons to begin our honeymoon and they upgraded us to a suite when they found out it was our honeymoon! The suite has 3 showers including a outdoor and a steam shower and a bathtub. The view was heavenly. We walked along the beach and enjoyed the sunset. The restaurants were awesome. Definitely will be back for our anniversary!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

The resort is so beautifull I can't really describe it in a fair way. We are here the wole family 6 adulte and 2 small kids. Everyone is enjoying it. The water in the pools is nice and there is a great kids pool. The only thing thats is not good is the food for the kids. It is not healthy food you should give kids and ours did not like it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camel, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a stunning resort with great staff and food. The lagoon is worth the price of admission alone. The walk along the path shared with Hawaiian tribal leaders for thousands of years and the sunsets...oh the sunsets. You many have never seen anything like the sun setting off Kona

Room Tip: Either on the lagoon or on the pool. Taking the time to pre select your room is critical at any res...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RBBrooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granville, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hualalai offers the perfect venue to experience polynesia at it's finest. It offers first class health spa and fitness facilities and a Nicklaus designed golf course. The addition of the "Adults Only" pool is a real plus. We have returned to this property multiple times. The staff will go out of their way to meet most special requests. The breakfast buffet is outstanding. If you are concerned about the cost, my suggestion is to stay elsewhere. The rooms are always perfect. We have stayed at multiple resorts on Oahu, Maui & Lanai. The Four Season Resort Hulalai is at the top of the list.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money for a ocean view room. Then ask for a room with an outside shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wakemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

This was our 3rd visit over the past decade and our favorite hotel in North America by a long ways. Everything looks spectacular and the staff extremely friendly and knowledgable. Rooms are great as is the food with the possible exception of Ulu which is hit and miss (stick with Beach Tree and the Hualalai Grill for better food) but I'm probably being too picky.

Unfortunately, this time, we did run into an issue with a fishing charter (Tropical Sun) which we booked through Four Seasons. Tropical Sun clearly isn't up to Four Seasons standards (and I've been on many charters). The Captain (Dennis) was extremely moody and disrespectful despite my family being courteous throughout and this was my kids' first fishing trip as well. Other 4 Seasons guest reviews I've read on Tripadvisor indicate both great and poor experiences with Tropcial Sun - but Four Seasons guests should not have to play Russian Roulette. For anyone interested in more details on our fishing trip - see link to review below:

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60872-d2060414-r175833675-Tropical_Sun_Sportfishing-Kailua_Kona_Island_of_Hawaii_Hawaii.html#CHECK_RATES_CONT

To their credit, Four Seasons was incredibily apologetic and they were as stunned as we were about what happened. We don't hold the hotel responsible for the charter's inexplicable actions but this certainly shouldn't be a recommended charter. We're looking forward to another return visit soon to 4 Seasons (and a fishing trip with one of the many other fine charters in Kona).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cardsany1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
12.1 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing