We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Not sure I can add much more to all the glowing reviews here, other than to say they're all right! From the moment you arrive--when they know your names as you step out of the car--they treat you right. Cold bottled water in the car's cup holder's every time valets bring it up for you. Quick check in with cold towels, beverages, leis. Excellent service on the beach, at all the pools, in all the restaurants. Yes, there are quite a lot of families--and children--at the resort, but kids seem to stay at the main, family pool, leaving the quieter--and in my opinion, nicer--other 2 pools for the grown-ups. Kids were not really an issue on the beach either. My one knock on the hotel would be that the swimming/snorkeling/water sports off the beach are rather limited; however, great snorkeling beaches are short drives away. The rooms themselves are excellent. We splurged on an oceanfront room, and were absolutely thrilled to be upgraded to an oceanfront suite, which was huge. However, I'm sure we would have been happy in any of the rooms on the resort. I love how it didn't at all feel like a large Hawaiian resort but rather like a small, luxury boutique hotel. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahytaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,976
    201
    76
    33
    16
See reviews for
640
1,107
34
182
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (729)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a great vacation. We are both wishing we were still there. Excellent service at the beach and pool. Beautiful property and no reason to leave the resort. Unfortunately, we had a few things that I think are unacceptable for the Four Seasons Resort. The bed in room 3404 was the worst bed we have ever tried to sleep in. We definitely should have complained about it and given the resort a chance to fix it, but we didn't. Our room was in a building that was next to the parking lot and probably the least desirable and it made us think that they just hadn't gotten around to replacing the beds in that building. Not so good when your paying $800.00 a night.
One night we had dinner at the beach grill and my boyfriend ordered the ribeye steak. It was pretty pathetic. We both were shocked. It was probably a 1/8 inch thick....if that!! Again, worst steak we have ever had! The last thing I will say is that we were not impressed with the breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CCS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

I am happy to hear that even with a few missteps on our part, you and your boyfriend had such a great vacation at our resort that you wish you were still here! I am so sorry to hear that the mattress in your guest room was not comfortable and that your boyfriend was disappointed with his steak dinner. On future visits, please, please let us know if there are any areas which need our attention, and we will quickly respond to correct the situation. It is always our intention to have our guests leave the resort with only positive experiences, and I apologize that we did not exceed all of your expectations.

We hope you will return soon to give us a chance to provide a flawless visit. We sincerely appreciate your feedback!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreline, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband and I were completely spoiled. Every need was catered to. All three onsite restaurants are excellent. Save your nickels and go here just once in your life! We participated in a Stargazing trip and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soccermom037
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We have stayed at Hualalai 3 times and we have never been disappointed. This last time we stayed in the Kou Suite. It is a fantastic 2500 sqft ocean front villa. I highly recommend this suite if you can get it. The resort feels like it is built into the lava fields and has a great feel to it. There is a pod of dolphins that swim by every afternoon and I was able to snorkel with them. Unreal experience. The staff is second to none and they treat you like family. Golfing is always great. The restaurants are fabulous but expensive. It's hard to have breakfast or lunch for under $100.00 for two people.

Room Tip: There is nothing like being right on the beach listening to the crashing waves at night. It's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

You will pay a small fortune for staying here, but this resort is just amazing. We've stayed at lots of fancy hotels over the years, and this might be the nicest one. The service is amazing--everyone is so friendly and warm. The location is unbelievable, and the hotel and grounds are just stunning. They were apparently at capacity during our visit, but you never would have known that--nothing felt crowded, ever. The restaurants (U'lu and the Beach Tree) are both great, as was the spa. At sunset, everyone stops what they are doing to gape at the sky, and a man runs through the property with a torch to light all the tiki torches--my children were entranced. There are sea turtles swimming right in the ocean with you (and sleeping on the beach!) Management here has thought of EVERYTHING and then some.

Room Tip: Nearly all of the rooms on the first floor have outdoor lava showers. These are AWESOME, and actual...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eliz12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I got married here in June 2013. If you are considering getting married in Hawaii, I can't think of anywhere else that would provide a better location or better service. Jenna the wedding coordinator was fantastic and helped us create the most memorable weekend of our lives.

The hotel itself is amazing. Very unassuming from the outside, the real charm of this resort is in the details. Checking in was an experience. When you enter the property at the gate, they relay your name to they front desk and there is a staff member waiting with juice, towels and leis to sit down with you and check you in to your room in the beautiful lobby. Then, a bellman takes you to your room in a golf cart and gives you a tour of the facilities, including the amazing pools.

The rooms are great. We stayed in the Milo suite, which is out of this world luxurious. The best beds, comfortable seating areas and huge bathrooms. We especially enjoyed using the steam shower.

Restaurants here are amazing as well. We dined at Ulu twice, and the food blew us away. The beach tree restaurant also was the scene of a couple memorable lunches overlooking the beach.

I could write a book about how great this hotel is, but you should really just book a trip there and see for yourself. I can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Get a suite. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andrewc310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's been our third time there and again it's turned out to be a wonderful experience. The attention to detail in terms of service is second to none. The vibe and staff are always friendly and concern to help. We love the bungalow feel of the property. The beach tree restaurant food and service was great. The breakfast food and service as well. The luao should have been a bit more organize with added wait staff to service the tables below. the crowd filled the front stage so couldn't take the pictures I wanted. a little control of the audience would help. I miss the surf and turf on the Beach, please bring it back. Again it's our third trip and its still a memorable , amazing place to spend our vacation.

Room Tip: If you want a bit more quietness seek a room near Kings Pond
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grandtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing