We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing family vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a great resort for families or couples!! Food is great and service is amazing! The turtles and the Kings Pond snorkeling was enjoyed everyday by our 10 and12 year old kids. We recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mitch W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,030)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,747 - 1,753 of 3,030 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

This place is a truly amazing. Been here is like being in heaven. Everyone is so friendly that u can't expect more out of it. It's one of the best places to be in the world. Place rocks and is out of everything one can expect. Highly recommended. And 5/5 to the team.

Room Tip: Book any room all are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gerogelanden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

The ultimate Hawaiian experience...some how they make it feel like going home. Not your typical resort, no hallways to walk down and even though the resort may be fully booked you feel like your the only one on the property. The service was amazing and the food is fresh and from local vendors. We were married at the resort 10 years ago and went back for our 10 year anniversary, they made it feel very special.

Room Tip: If you have the means, go all out and get the Makalu Villa with your own private pool/spa (the Conci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KishaGiven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We were on our honeymoon, and were complimentary upgraded to villa right on the beach for one night. The room was fabulous, best night of sleep in a long time. Absolute luxury, however you pay for what you get. It digs in pretty deep to the pocket books.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eric L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a truly beautiful hotel! They really think of every detail, leaving guests to simply enjoy. The island is small enough that anything you want to see or go to is a close drive. We did have problems with noise one night, due to a party, and the staff was barely apologetic, which was very disappointing. Unfortunately, for that reason, I'm not sure I'd return, although this was likely an isolated incident.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tuliplands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Greetings from Hualalai!

I am so happy to hear that you discovered the beauty of the Big Island as well as our lovely resort. I am extremely disappointed that the noise from an event disturbed the peace and quiet for you. As you discovered, Hualalai is such a tranquil spot where guests return again and again to restore body and soul. I hope this incident does not deter you from visiting many times in the months and years to come. We value your patronage and most sincerely apologize for the inconvenience you were caused.

Please do not hesitate to contact me or our Resort Manager, Florian Riedel, when you are ready to make a reservation. We will be happy to assist. Thank you for your feedback.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is our second year joining our family at the Four Seasons Hualalai & it was better than before. Our families enjoyed the beach, pools, kings pond, spa, golf course & so much more. This is a First Class & Casual Resort. This is truly a place where you feel pampered & relaxed with 5 STAR service. Breakfast feast is delicious & it was good to see some familiar faces including Egg Man. The Beach Tree restaurant is one of the favorites for dinner thank you Chefs & for room service. This property is taken care of in the best possible way from the rooms to the landscape, we truly appreciate when service is above & beyond. Mahalo!

Room Tip: Suite is very comfortable with first floor room for outdoor shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bella P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Aloha from Hualalai!

I am so happy to hear that you and your families chose our resort once again as your vacation destination. There are quite a few of us who have worked here for several years and the resort would not be the same without "Dan the Omelette Man," a favorite of everyone who has breakfast at 'Ulu.

We hope you will continue to gather with your family here at Hualalai. Please let me know if there is every anything I can do for you.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

What can you say about this place?

From the moment we arrived we received nothing but outstanding service. I asked a gardener how many landscape people the hotel employed, he guessed at 300/400. It shows - just stunning everywhere you go. We were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. We'd stayed at the Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel for ten nights, for the beach and for a cheaper base to explore the island. The difference between the two was unsurprisingly immediate to spot and lasted throughout. You can see where the extra money goes - this is by far the most lavish hotel we've stayed at, but hey...it was our honeymoon.

We're pretty well-travelled and used to lugging our own bags so it was kinda nice to have a guy literally run towards us and take our bags off us when he saw us coming from the self park. As you may expect you're charged for nothing here - no parking, wifi, snorkel hire charges etc. We never felt out of place either (we're used to, and happy with, much more modest tastes) - there was no snobbery.

Our room wasn't quite ready but we were taken care of at the Beach Tree - we ate and drank for an hour or so before being shown our room. As we'd taken just twenty or so minutes to get there and were well rested, this was a positive rather than an inconvenience. The room was tremendous. You always hear 'you get what you pay for' and you certainly do here.

The food on offer was surprisingly competitively priced - paid $17 for a steak burger (delicious; not usually in the business of paying so much for a burger, but you're on holiday...) at our previous hotel and the food here was in line with that really, perhaps a bit more. Same goes for dinner.

Everything we ate or drank was of the highest quality. We did the barbecue on Wednesday evening - $125 all you can eat/drink. I'm not the sort to pig out like this usually but if you add up all we had it worked out well. It did look a little dead when we walked past for the earlier seating but luckily we met a nice couple and got chatting...it's billed as a family barbecue. Don't know as I would do this again but as a one off, delicious.

Every single member of staff greets you with a smile/aloha - rare service indeed. A dude remembered our name from the day before and we'd only spoken briefly, setting up a beach bed. Staff come and offer cold towels, bring you ice water without you asking. They'll go off and go to extra effort to get a cocktail recipe from another bar...you get the picture.

It's billed as a resort and they do have a lot going on. There's a few different pools, hot tub areas, a small shop, a beautiful looking location for luau, basketball, gym and more...again, all pristine.

The beach isn't fantastic but there were sea turtles on it. Was very nice to swim with them when they went in for a dip. Quite a rocky beach though with sharper sand so not a place for beach sports. For novice snorkelers and kids they have their own pond with an eagle ray and lots of fish - this was nice.

In a word, outstanding. Already looking at which Four Seasons we will treat ourselves to next. Mahalo for making our honeymoon so memorable!

Room Tip: 410 was excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank metalliam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
13 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $935 - $1,829 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing