We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Place To Get Married” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best Place To Get Married”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

We got married at the Four Seasons Hualalai on the 4th of July. Brittany Arndt, the wedding coordinator at the hotel was outstanding. She assisted us arranging our wedding there from when we got engaged (February 2012) until we left the island on July 8th. We also would like to acknowledge, Tabitha (Brittany's assistant) for making sure the wedding party was on time and in the right place during the wedding. Heidi, the hotel's florist, did a wonderful job with all the floral arrangements for our wedding ceremony and reception. Thank you, Timothy (the night manager) who checked us in and also sent us strawberries with a chocolate dipping sauce for a wedding gift. We also would like to thank Rachel, the pastry chef, for sending us a chocolate assortment for our wedding. The hotel staff really do go out of their way for the hotel guests. There is a reason Trip Advisor ranked this hotel #1 in the World. We can't wait to return! Mahalo!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WindyCityTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai, the "Best Place to Get Married"!

I shared your lovely compliments with your Wedding Team, Tabitha, Brittany, Timothy, Heidi, and Rachel, and they sent their very best regards to you! Thank you for letting us know that we helped build a beautiful memory of your wedding day and we look forward to welcoming you back, perhaps for every anniversary!

With warmest aloha,


Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,009
    204
    76
    37
    16
See reviews for
658
1,124
35
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (745)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We loved everything about this trip and resort. The staff personalized the trip for us and made efforts at every turn to ensure a memorable stay. When we arrived early, our room wasn't ready so the manager treated us to complimentary drinks and appetizers at Beachtree. When we commented about the iced tea and how wonderful it was, we had two free bags of tea in our room the next day with a handwritten note from the waiter. We stayed at a St. Regis on Kauai a few days before arriving at the Four Seasons Hualalai. There is no comparison. I can see why there were repeat visitors here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the quiet pool or the adults-only pool. Fast access to the pool and Beachtree re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bevoxiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Four Seasons Hualalai several times, and each time it keeps getting better. The service, the facilities and the entire ambience is beyond compare.
I have stayed at many wonderful hotels over my lifetime, but this is truly the best resort experience I have ever had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Baylorgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha from Hualalai!

We are delighted to hear that you had another great vacation here at our resort. It is a delicate balance to keep things the same for people, like you, who have visited several times and to change things up a bit to make the Hualalai experience fresh and new each time. Thank you for sharing that you feel this resort is "beyond compare." What a lovely compliment! Please continue to visit with us to keep building happy memories.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This was the 2nd stop on our 3 week family vacation to the Hawaiian Islands. The first was 8 nights in Maui at the Wailea Beach Villas. The second, 7 nights in a villa at Hualalai.

Hualalai is a country club resort - I believe owned by Michael Dell. Part of the resort is The Four Seasons -- it is just mixed into the master plan of this beautiful community that is designed around lava fields. It is located on the Kona side of "The Big Island." It is just about 6 miles from the Kona International Airport.

Our children are 10 year old twins and a 6 year old. We enjoy staying in homes so that we can cook and not bother every day with breakfasts/lunches/dinner every day on long vacations and get a lot more space/bedrooms. But, we love resorts and so many times villas are the answer that are associated with resorts.

We rented a villa through "Villas of Distinction" with our AMEX Platinum travel agent. It is located in Hualalai and for an additional $50/day per person above 14 years of age - you get all access to The Four Seasons and Hualalai country club (just like Four Seasons guests). Plus you get a golf cart with a witty name to use. There is a wonderful gym, tennis, golf, and then, of course, all of the Four Seasons Pools.

Our stay was starting a peak travel period but since the pools have specific targets -- it never really feels that full. Plus, adults have an area away from the families which I'm sure they appreciate! Of course there is the kid's club and that's when parents can have alone time to do as they please.

We spent most of the time in King's Pond, the pool in the ocean (very creative), and the huge family infinity pool. The Four Seasons makes it very safe for children to snorkel and make it as authentic as possible.

I must say -- for 7 nights -- we could not imagine just staying at the resort. All of the Hawaiian islands offer so much we enjoy exploring, but, resort time is important, and we give ourselves enough days to do both.

For example -- my children will never forget going to Volcanoes National Park and seeing lava glow at night. Or my older son will not forget catching 150 pounds of Mahi Mahi with my husband off the Kona coast. The Hilo side of the island is just beautiful and quite different from where the resort is located. We also enjoyed a family session at Dolphin Quest.

We did make reservations for dinner one night at sunset at The Four Season's Ulu Grill. We really enjoyed our meal and we had a perfect table to enjoy the sunset.

So, if you want The Four Seasons, but, you want more room, a gourmet kitchen, etc. I highly recommend renting a villa at Hualalai. You can still get private catering, daily maid service, etc. if you want it -- it will just cost more. We would have paid the same or a bit less at The Four Seasons but we got so much more space and value, in our opinion, than staying at the hotel.

As usual, the staff at The Four Seasons is wonderful and most of the time would come up to ask for pool service. A few times we had to ask - especially at the family pool. Note: during peak travel times there is a clear pecking order to getting prime chairs: 1. Four Seasons guests 2. Hualalai villa owners 3. Renters of Hualalai villas (us). Only one time did that mean chairs a bit away from the prime area. Really not a big deal since we rarely sat in our chairs anyway and 'away' is just a few feet further. Again, this happened only once.

Just wanted to let everyone know that you have other options than staying at the actual Four Seasons -- you get more room, etc.

As on all the major islands -- there is Costco -- go there and stock up -- prices are about the same as mainland and it also carries local items.

Enjoy this resort!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lewistexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

What a beautiful picture you painted of your family's recent Hawaiian vacation! I am so happy to hear that the villa you rented was ideal for your needs and that you thoroughly enjoyed all of the Four Seasons amenities. There is something for everyone here at Hualalai, families with children, honeymooners, single travelers, retired people and we are delighted that you found your niche! We hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come. Thank you for your positive feedback!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Absolutely and unbelievable experience. A step above every other resort in Hawaii, no touch is missed. From checkin to checkout, the staff is unmatched, and the activities were spectacular. Just a wonderful visit, with memories galore. This is a must do trip, and now I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha!!

And we can't wait for you to return! Thank you (mahalo) for your high praise. We will do our best to make every vacation here at Hualalai just as memorable.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

There is not one thing about this resort they should change; it is absolutely perfect. Expensive yes but worth every $1k! Really it's is my favorite hotel in the world!!

I have been there twice in the past 3 years! It is beyond perfect!

Go!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatherineHermosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha from Hualalai!

We are delighted to hear that Hualalai is your favorite hotel in the world, and we loved your parting message to TripAdvisor followers ... "Go!" What a lovely compliment. Mahalo!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Amazing to say the least! We have stayed in many island resorts and Hualalai is above and beyond. My husband and I stayed in the Hawaii Loa Presidential Villa. A perfect view of the Pacific Ocean from our luxurious lanai. 5000+ square feet of Beauty and Peace! The staff was so attentive but not obtrusive. We were alone unless we needed anything! We treated ourselves to the complimentary massages in our own villa and enjoyed the beach and pool. Played golf and tennis. Had lovely meals at all 3 of the Restaurants located on the grounds. At the end of each beautiful day, watched the sunset from the lanai and made our way to the bedroom that was gorgeous, comfortable and romantic.
We found ourselves not wanting to leave. Work permitted that we must. But we will return next year! Thank you to the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Depending on what you are looking for. We wanted to get away and be alone. So we chose the Villa. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you, for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai during your recent visit to Hawaii.

We all truly enjoyed having you with us and look forward to your return.

Hopefully work will permit you to visit us more often.

A hui ho,

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
13.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.0 mi away
Courtyard King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled along the legendary Kona-Kohala Coast of Hawaii Island, Hualalai is a Hawaiian destination unlike any other. Blessed with 863 acres of lush oceanfront beauty, authentic Hawaiian artistry and the highly customized services of the award-winning Four Seasons, Hualalai is a holistic, sustainable and globally renowned community that continues to set the standard by which all other resorts are measured. Hualalai inspires and enriches every experience, forever transforming and connecting the lives of all who come here. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing