We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, I Can't Wait To Return”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wow, I Can't Wait To Return”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Absolutely and unbelievable experience. A step above every other resort in Hawaii, no touch is missed. From checkin to checkout, the staff is unmatched, and the activities were spectacular. Just a wonderful visit, with memories galore. This is a must do trip, and now I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha!!

And we can't wait for you to return! Thank you (mahalo) for your high praise. We will do our best to make every vacation here at Hualalai just as memorable.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,371
    235
    89
    48
    22
See reviews for
784
1,331
40
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

There is not one thing about this resort they should change; it is absolutely perfect. Expensive yes but worth every $1k! Really it's is my favorite hotel in the world!!

I have been there twice in the past 3 years! It is beyond perfect!

Go!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatherineHermosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Aloha from Hualalai!

We are delighted to hear that Hualalai is your favorite hotel in the world, and we loved your parting message to TripAdvisor followers ... "Go!" What a lovely compliment. Mahalo!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Amazing to say the least! We have stayed in many island resorts and Hualalai is above and beyond. My husband and I stayed in the Hawaii Loa Presidential Villa. A perfect view of the Pacific Ocean from our luxurious lanai. 5000+ square feet of Beauty and Peace! The staff was so attentive but not obtrusive. We were alone unless we needed anything! We treated ourselves to the complimentary massages in our own villa and enjoyed the beach and pool. Played golf and tennis. Had lovely meals at all 3 of the Restaurants located on the grounds. At the end of each beautiful day, watched the sunset from the lanai and made our way to the bedroom that was gorgeous, comfortable and romantic.
We found ourselves not wanting to leave. Work permitted that we must. But we will return next year! Thank you to the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Depending on what you are looking for. We wanted to get away and be alone. So we chose the Villa. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MaryAnn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you, for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai during your recent visit to Hawaii.

We all truly enjoyed having you with us and look forward to your return.

Hopefully work will permit you to visit us more often.

A hui ho,

Chris White
Director of Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

This last trip to the four seasons Hualalai was my fifth visit in four years, so to say that I love this place is an understatement.

I'm going to point out a few negative things my Wife and I noticed this trip, this is the first time I've ever been disappointed with my trip to this resort. However, when you pay well over 2k per night, I think that gives you the right to express your concerns.

Again, since we frequent the hotel quite a bit, we're pretty up on things in regards to this resort. The one thing we noticed right away was the lack of experience at the sea shell swimming pool.

1.It's plainly obvious that most of the pool attendants are fairly new because the incredible pool service we've been accustomed to was greatly lacking. There was def a lack of leadership out there, too many new people without direction. This is not acceptable!

2. The rugs in our room had a lot of stains on it, and the outdoor shower was looking weathered.

3. I noticed more litter on the property than I have ever seen. Again, very disappointing.

Some positives

1. Food has gotten a lot better (the beach tree especially).

2. Housekeeping was great.

3. As always, the staff is extremely polite.

4. Still the best hotel that I've ever been to.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Makeithappen26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

The resort is amazing, he food exceptional and the service top notch! The turtles lounging on the ocean's edge is a special treat! We love the views, the easy airport access and the Hawaiian charm of Hulalai.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, Washington, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We've stayed at many five star hotels in Hawaii and elsewhere. We really love smaller, more catered boutique style hotels. We came to the Four Seasons Hualalai with very high expectations and we were not disappointed! This resort sets the standards by which we're going to measure every other. The location, the service, the rooms, it was all just amazing. Everything is so well thought out that we didn't have to worry about anything. Relaxation per minute was amazing.

We did have a minor issue at the spa, but the hotel handled that very well and the treatments were fantastic.

We'll be going back as soon as I can take more time off from work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We have stayed on all islands in many resorts & Hualalai sets a new standard for resorts. Unmatched by any in Hawaii....it is the BEST resort in the Islands

Uli is great restaurant - staff is attentive - rooms are great!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueBridge92118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, TravelUp, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing