We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ticks all the boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Ticks all the boxes”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Having stayed at a few Four Seasons Resorts this would have to be my pick. Yes, it has all the usual amazing service around the hotel and poolside that you grow to love from Four Seasons, but here they cater for families on a whole new level. The resort is spread out so although you know it's full it never feels overcrowded. The only time was at breakfast where most days we waited for about 5 minutes for a table to be ready.

I have to say the buffet breakfast is one of the best we have ever enjoyed with great variety and the freshest foods on offer. The restaurants were all very good and varied, with the only minor comment being that the kids menu was fairly basic and bland, without any variation. Our kids ended up ordering from the adult menu.

Even though we spent a week at this amazing resort there were so many things our children didn't get to enjoy as the choices are endless. The favorites were walking along the coast in the mornings and seeing turtles resting on the rocks, snorkeling in the Kings Pond with the fish and rays, Luau, arts and craft activities, sports activities, spa and yoga sessions. The activities offered to the children was well catered for their ages of 10 & 11 years which is unusual as most hotels seem to focus on the younger children only. Yes there are lots of kids but due to the layout there is always somewhere to find a quiet spot if needed, including adult pools and isolated bays a few minutes walk away.

Ive noticed that other reviews have mentioned the extra cost with everything and yes this is true- but you get what you pay for and you do not have to choose the extra activities. Thank you to all the staff for making our trip amazing - we are looking forward to another stay.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the Kings Pond was central to everything and very quiet. Even though it was ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Review_Meisteress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai,

I am so happy to hear that you and your family had wonderfully memorable visit to our resort and that Hualalai is now your "pick." Mahalo for the high praise you heaped on our staff and facilities. I agree that sometimes the "tweens" feel there are not enough activities planned for their age group, but you are correct when you state that Hualalai offeres more than enough adventures for the entire family.

We hope you will continue to make Hualalai your vacation destination. Thank you again for your positive feedback!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,371
    235
    89
    48
    22
See reviews for
784
1,331
40
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (818)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

In a word, the Four Seasons at Hualalai was amazing. I am glad I was there on business, because the cost is steep, but the location was unbeatable. Amazing views of the Pacific Ocean and many pools from which to choose.

The food was okay. They tried to dress up the sushi too much. In my opinion, sushi should be in its most natural state and it was a bit to fancy, but good overall.

I would stay again at this location and hope that someone else is picking up the tab :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nettles545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha from Hualalai!

I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this beautiful resort and hopefully next time you can visit for pleasure rather than business. I shared your comments regarding the sushi being a bit too fancy with our director of food & beverage and with our Executive Chef and they join me in thanking you for your feedback.

Hurry back to our little slice of paradise!

Rheba Crane
Executive Administrative Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I just returned home from a wonderful stay at Four Seasons Hualalai. I have been to 4 seasons all over the world and while many of their resorts have way to many kids (this one does too), they have done a great job of trying to separate the resort so that the kids are on one side and adults are on the other. I also had a unique situation and one email to the GM, Robert, and the potentially "bad" day was taken care - four seasons to the rescue! Cory makes the BEST drinks at the adult pool and the staff at all of the restaurants were outstanding!!! The hotel manager (Adam) and the restaurant manager (Stephen - I think) had everything running perfectly. The "tuna melt" at the owners beach club was hands down the best I have ever eaten (L.J. another fantastic bartender). The next time I find myself on the Big Island, I will stay at this fantastic property. The rooms are great with views of the ocean from many, one draw back was the need to close blinds when changing or not wanting to feel "on view" as the rooms are in front of pools or playing green areas. The shops are very good for a resort with many one-of-a-kind items.

Room Tip: rooms away from the kids pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank georgiahoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Greetings from Hualalai!

I had such fun reading your review! I too am from Charlotte, NC originally, but have enjoyed 15 years here at Hualalai and on the Big Island. Glowing praise from our well-traveled guests, such as you, is truly complimentary since you have a basis for comparison. I shared your lovely compliments with the people you specifically mentioned and they send their best regards to you. We will hold you to your promise to return to our resort when your travels bring you our way again.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very very very very expensive as per the lady in house's requested, i paid with a heavy hearted swipe off my credit card. thank goodiness the days were worthwhile. Beachtree and Ulu restaurants were superb. well abit of maintenance shall be done. else all is extremely well.

i burnt a hole in my pocket feeling satisfied

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cratfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 6 Contributor
372 reviews
151 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is our second time at Hualalai and it exceeded our previous high expectations. This has to be one of the most romantic and perfect destinations in the world. Since our last visit the restaurants have improved and the dining is even better. No complaints other than we are not there now.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VoxVolpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Aloha!

We are delighted to hear from you, and to hear that you had another great Hualalai experience. It is always our goal to keep things the same for our repeat guests, yet we constantly try to offer "new and improved" each visit. I am happy we met this goal for you! Please come visit with us us again soon!

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This hotel is phenomenal; our third trip back was better than the others. Yes there were some kinks and even the mattresses now need to be updated, but they hotel works to solve any problem as it occurs. Some help could use common sense; for example when offering a free dessert for my birthday, they should understand that if my wife isn't there, the offer should be held until next time (next day) rather than insist it had to be NOW!
Still our favorite place to escape!

Room Tip: Anything with ANY view of the water is fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AegisFlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Four Seasons on the island of Hawaii is one of the nicest resorts I have ever stayed in. It is not cheap but caters for everything you need much better than a lot of other 5 star resorts which promise but do not deliver. It is a great place to take kids. The kids pool is great for the 4 and unders and bigger kids pool caters well for the 4+ yo kids. There is also a great snorkeling pool full of large tropical fish and very safe. The service is excellent, all of the restaurants overlook the beach, the food is good and the tennis and golf facilities second to none (albeit a little pricey). The beaches have live turtles sunning themselves and the gardens and overall setting truly beautiful. It is really difficult to fault the resort in any respect. Got to give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: If you have kids ask to be near the kids pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_AustraliaJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.4 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
16.0 mi away
Hapuna Beach Prince Hotel
13.0 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Kings' Land by Hilton Grand Vacations
12.0 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
11.5 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Property: Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing