We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Number 1 hotel for good reason!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Kailua-Kona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 1, 2013

Went to the four season's hualalai for my parent's 40th wedding anniversary. They did a great job from trying to call us by our name the moment we stepped out of our rental car, to being given a mai tai, cool towels and fruits while checking in. Everything was so personable. I have a 2.5 year old and 8 month old so I cannot attest to all the other reviews which poo poo on too many kids at the resort. I can say that there is an adult pool with a swim up bar that I would have loved to go to but the other pools were just fine and if pools aren't your thing then you either snorkel the King's pond (rather frigid!) or swim in the lagoon!

Epitome of a resort, worth every dime. Had a ground floor room, ocean facing and enjoyed the outdoor shower in the back almost every day. My wife said the only drawback was the lack of "authenticness" and as she was wishing she saw more Hawaiian workers or had more of the Hawaii feel someone came by blowing a conch and the tiki torches lit up. I'm sad I'm back home.....

Room Tip: We had an adjoining room 602-603 that they carded with the same code so we could get into either roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Aloha from Hualalai!

We were so happy to hear that your family had a lovely time at our resort celebrating your parents' 40th wedding anniversary. Congratulations to them once again! As you discovered, there is a spot for everyone here at Hualalai, including Sea Shell pool which our keiki enjoy, King's Pond for snorkeling, Beach Tree and adults-only Palm Grove. I hope you discovered the Cultural Center where families can learn hula, ukelele, lei making and many other Hawaiian crafts. The Cultural Center staff is so personable and so filled with Hawaiian lore.

We hope you will visit many times in the months and years to come, perhaps to celebrate many other special occasions.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,954)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,806 - 1,812 of 2,954 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2013

I first got the chance to stay at the Four Seasons Hualalai a few years (had to choose a travel date for the posting and I can't choose a date older than June 2012, so the date is off) back when my wife's company had a function there. The resort is a bit off central, then again, most nice, beautiful hotels/resorts are off the busy downtown. Once you are in the Four Seasons Hualalai, you will not want to go anywhere else but stay in the resort property. The property is surrounded by ancient volcanic lava rocks and the pacific ocean. There are many activities available for you to enjoy.

You could explore the volcanic rocks on one part of the property or explore the fish pond (great family fun) that's conveniently located on property or take a dive in the open air swimming pool that over look the beach or just relax and enjoy the sun or have a round of golf or take a daily walk along the private beach (don't be surprise to find large Hawaiian green turtles resting on the beach). And how about a Hawaiian massage in private open air setting. Did I mention breakfast by the sea? And yes, the food is great, so is the service.

The weekend that we were there was totally not enough. We didn't want to leave. Luckily, we got another chance to visit Hualalai a year later and the feeling is still the same. We love it. This is one of those places that once you checked in you just want to stay forever. No doubt in my mind we will visit it again someday.

Room Tip: When checking in, ask for a open air shower. It's a shower on the outside of your bathroom, in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JZ_HI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

No other hotel can match the level of personal service achieved at Hualalai. The staff remembers and notes your preferences so that if you ever make a request, no matter how simple (example, you like a bran muffin with your morning coffee), on your next visit a year later, the bran muffins will appear without your even asking. The resort never seems crowded, even when fully occupied.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rheba C, Executive Office at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Mahalo for your kind review! Our staff prides themselves in providing extra personal service which we feel sets us apart from many other beautiful resorts around the world. I am pleased to hear that you were the happy recipient of their/our aloha. The widespread layout of Hualalai ensures enough "elbow room" for everyone and with five swimming pools, enough variety to fill all needs.

We hope you will continue to make our resort your vacation destination and we promise to help you build another great memory.

With warmest aloha,

Rheba Crane
Executive Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here April 14-21, we booked a Superior Suite Oceanfront which was huge (1000 SF) and decorated well. We arrived at 2pm and our room was ready. We liked having a separate living room as hubby had to do some work a few mornings before we went to the pool/beach. We had 2 baths, one fabulous bath with huge separate shower, oversized tub, walk in closet and one bath that just had a shower but great for getting ready at the same time for dinner. We experienced all the pools but loved the adult pool which was quieter and the food and drink service was excellent. There were always plenty of chairs for us to choose from in our area of choice each day, we arrived around 9:30am, which at some resorts you can't find anything but "off to the side" if you arrive later than 7am... We ate lunch at the pool everyday and found plenty of choices on the menu, from healthy to not so healthy, but all yummy. Dinners at Ulu, Beach House and the Grill were top notch in setting, service and food quality/ quantity. We had a couples massage which was expensive but great. It was convenient to where we went scuba diving (10 minute car ride). We loved the lobby at night after dinner to people watch and relax with a final glass of wine. The shop has cute swimsuits and active wear. We golfed 1 afternoon, we are not "golfers" so we thought the course was beautiful and way hard but I'm sure better golfers have better comments. Our room was always cleaned by 12n and we like extra bath towels and requested them at check in, they always gave us extra towels each day without forgetting our preference. Yes, this resort is expensive but soooo,worth it. The pampering they provide is unmatched.

The only negative (for us) was there were ALOT of kids. We thought by mid April, spring break would be done but obviously not...next time we will wait until the beginning of May. It wasn't really that there were alot of kids as much as the parents that did not keep an eye on their kids or let
their kids act up/out big time. Not the resorts fault... We would highly recommend this Four Seasons and will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank elf.dml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

This is simply the best run property in hawaii. Others have charm (kahala resort), others are beautiful (grand hyatt kauai), and others are well run and special (four seasons maui and lanai), but there is none better than Hualalai. Except for the crazy times when during kid-themed holidays, this is an elegant retreat, reminicient of old hawaii. The staff is professional and courteous, with "no" not in their vocabulary. For small kids (to 8 or so), the kids club is fantastic, and for older kids (to 15) the ocean program in exceptional. Could i say more, sure, but its just a great place...if you can afford it!

Room Tip: near the seashell or beachtree pools...but all nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jadesdae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2013

I have had the pleasure of staying at many top notch resorts around the world, including several other Four Season's properties and this is without a doubt, the best place that I have ever been. Our room was spacious with a great patio overlooking a garden and down to the sea and the outdoor shower was really cool. We spent 5 days and felt like we barely scratched the surface of the resort--each of the 5? 6 ? pools were beautiful and had a completely different character, the beach stretched the entire length of the property and every sight line from every chair and every chaise provided stunning views of the sea and nature. The whales breaching and sea turtles coming ashore became almost commonplace! We loved the spa and the gym. Our meals were tremendous. Service is where the 4S really sets themselves apart and the team recovered from a bit of service glitch very well and earned a return trip from us. Now we just have to figure out when we can get back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyJim247
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I have sat down several times to write this review but honestly could not find the words to describe our experience at the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai. We arrived on Friday, March 1, after spending a few days in San Francisco. The flight was good but after flying 5 ½ hours and the time change, we were ready to relax. Driving into the resort compound, gave us a sense of the lavish vacation we were about to experience. When we arrived at the resort, we were respectfully greeted by two of the concierge staff. As we sat in the lobby area going over our accommodations’, we were given refreshments and a cold towel to “freshen up” after our flight. We then were whisked away to a beautiful pool view suite that was beyond our expectations. The room was bright and beautiful decorated. It was very clean and you could tell that it was always well serviced. During our stay, housekeeping was always there to help us in any way that would add to our comfort.
The amenities at the resort were amazing. My husband was so excited to find out that the Four Seasons had their own snorkeling pond. I was equally happy to know that each bungalow had an area close by with its own washer and dryer along with complementary laundry detergent. Soaking up some sun and fun at the pool areas were wonderful. We spent time at the adult pool enjoying peaceful afternoons after some morning site seeing. The pool area was always kept clean and the staff was very friendly and always eager to please.
The food was excellent! The breakfast buffet was one of the largest that I have ever seen with a wide variety of food. We ate at both the Beach Tree and 'ULU Ocean Grill for dinner. Both restaurants had excellent food with ocean views and atmosphere that were unsurpassed. While there, we made up our minds that there would be no reason for us to leave the resort for dinner, as the Four Seasons satisfied our every need.
We did not have time to use the spa or golf facilities, but we will remedy that on our next visit. I forgot to mention, that this was our first visit to Hawaii. We had planned this trip to celebrate our 32nd wedding anniversary. This was going to be our “trip of a lifetime” as we would probably never return to Hawaii. However, after staying at the Four Season in Hualalai we are committed to returning to this island paradise that embraces the true aloha spirit.
My only advice to those of you who are reading this review, is not to wait but to take the opportunity now to enjoy!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sherry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris W, Director of Sales at Four Seasons Resort Hualalai, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Aloha,

Thank you very much, for taking the time to share your experience and for choosing Four Seasons Resort Hualalai for your first visit to Hawai`i.

We were so happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and were able to relax, experience King's Pond and our amazing dining options at the resort.

Terrific to hear that you will be back.

We looking forward to welcoming again to Hualalai.

With warmest aloha,

Chris White
Director of Marketing

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kailua-Kona
16.3 mi away
Mauna Kea Beach Hotel, Autograph Collection
12.9 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott King Kamehameha's Kona Beach Hotel
13 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Kailua-Kona
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Fairmont Orchid, Hawaii
9.5 mi away
Hilton Waikoloa Village
11.4 mi away
Mauna Lani Bay Hotel & Bungalows
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort Hualalai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Hualalai

Address: 72-100 Ka'upulehu Drive, Kailua-Kona, Island of Hawaii, HI 96740-5610
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Island of Hawaii > Kailua-Kona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Family Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kailua-Kona
#1 Green Hotel in Kailua-Kona
Price Range: $830 - $2,030 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Hualalai 5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Resting on the picturesque Kona-Kohala coast of Hawaii Island, the Four Seasons Resort Hualalai combines the warm aloha of the Islands with the impeccable signature service recognized by Four Seasons guests worldwide. With 243 guest rooms, an award-winning golf course, and seven pools, Four Seasons Resort Hualalai is the only Forbes Five Star and AAA Five Diamond Rated Resort in Hawaii. The Resort offers five dining options, including 'ULU Ocean Grill + Sushi Lounge, the only Forbes star-rated restaurant on the Island. Chefs in each dining outlet work with ingredients from over 160 local farms, and 75% of the food served is from Hawaii Island. The comfortable and spacious accommodations at the Resort are housed in intimate two-story bungalows arranged in small crescents along the beachfront and golf course. Additional features include an Ocean Adventures team, seven tennis courts, a spa with 14 treatment rooms and salon services, and a Cultural Center with classes and activities highlighting Hawaiian culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Prestigia, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Hualalai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu Hotel Kailua-Kona
4 Seasons Resort Hualalai At Historic Ka`Upulehu
Four Seasons Kailua-Kona
Kailua-Kona Four Seasons
Four Seasons Hawaii
Four Seasons Hualalai
Four Seasons Resort Hualalai Hawaii/Kailua-Kona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing